Christine & KR
Member Since 2012
Hi, all! Last night Kitty Rabbit got her first shot of Lantus from me (she'd had one Humulin N shot from the vet a week and a half earlier). I did not test at all after the first shot figuring I needed to give the insulin some time to work before I started poking Miss Grumpy in the ear more than I normally do.
This morning her AMPS is 193. I've read in numerous places NOT to shoot (at least as a newbie) below 200. I'm waiting 15 minutes to test again and see what's happening. If she's over 200 in 15 minutes (or at least climbing in that direction) do I shoot a reduced dose? I was directed to do 1u BID. If her number's over 200 should I go with .5u?
Thanks,
Christine
(Edited to correct subject line to correctly reflect shot)
(Edited again to add +4.5. Any help will be appreciated!)
(Edited again to update bg history for the day and add the date)
This morning her AMPS is 193. I've read in numerous places NOT to shoot (at least as a newbie) below 200. I'm waiting 15 minutes to test again and see what's happening. If she's over 200 in 15 minutes (or at least climbing in that direction) do I shoot a reduced dose? I was directed to do 1u BID. If her number's over 200 should I go with .5u?
Thanks,
Christine
(Edited to correct subject line to correctly reflect shot)
(Edited again to add +4.5. Any help will be appreciated!)
(Edited again to update bg history for the day and add the date)