10/4 - Tip - AMPS-334 ... PMPS-316 +3-384 Dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cindy & Pets

Member Since 2012
10/3 condo

AMPS - 334
+2 - 385
+6 - 378
+11 - 352
PMPS - 316
+3 - 384

I believe part of the higher numbers are because I've been stressing all day about Christmas. I'm really hoping there's nothing wrong with her and she just needs a boost in calories. ): But I just can't help but worry about her. Thankfully the appt is in the morning, so hopefully that means that if any tests are needed that the results might be in a little sooner.

I'm also wondering if I should increase Tips dose tomorrow morning? If so, should I do it by .25U or .5U?

I'll also be talking to the vet about a quote on that acromegaly(sp?) test tomorrow so see how long I have to wait to get that done.
 
protocol says:

Increasing the dose:

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

I think you should let Sienne or someone else tell you for sure before taking any action.

Goodluck with vet tomorrow!
 
Yeah, just wasn't sure since she was getting a nadir in the 200's, now it seems like one in the 300's.

Thanks. I'm definitely still nervous because a million and one situations are running through my head. :? I'm really hoping she just nee a higher protein/higher calorie food to get her to gain weight. That, and less running around like a crazy cat.
 
It looks like you've been seeing more yellow (or lower) than pink nadirs. I'd raise by 0.25u. However, given the dose, it's fine if you want to increase by 0.5u. Once a cat is getting larger doses, the relative percentage of the usual 0.25u is less so increasing by 0.5u may make more sense.

If you are going to get tip tested, you want to test for both acromegaly (insulin-like growth factor or IGF-1) and insulin resistance (insulin autoantibodies). The tests are run at Michigan State. The costs are not bad -- $16 for IAA and $52 for acro. The shipping can be expensive. You'll want to make sure that the blood sample is sent directly to the lab. I believe the tests are run on Wednesdays. So you'll want to make sure that your timing is set so the sample gets there early in the week.
 
I think I'll see how she is at +6 tonight then and where she's at tomorrow morning(like, if she's miraculously at or below 200 tomorrow morning, I'd be more apt to only increase by .25U), if she's still high, I'll increase by .5U.

Okay....depending on how much Christmas's appt costs tomorrow, I may or may not be able to get Tip tested for both of those on monday. :) I figure that's early enough in the week, vet isn't open on Sunday afterall. That or tuesday.

Shoot, this all reminds me, I need to write down and bring Tip's latest curve with me to the vet tomorrow.
 
The only thought about the testing is that if you end up getting one of the tests and then decide at a later date that you want the second test run, you'll have to pay for shipping twice. It's the shipping that expensive.
 
Yeah, and it's probably more convenient for everyone if I just ask for both of them to be done at the same time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top