Re: 10/4 PurrFace AMPS288 +2/185
John,
Hi. You would not want to reduce the dose based on Blue numbers. For a cat diagnosed less than 1 year ago, you reduce the dose if you see a number below 50. You may, however, not want to give a shot if the PMPS number is too low.
As far as whether you give the shot, you have been doing a great job of gathering the data! I suggest that you test the cat at +11 (or +10 if that's easier for you), post that number and put in your headline "Need help at PMPS." In the body of your post state that in two hours, or one hour, or 45 minutes -- whatever it is -- you will need help deciding whether to shoot. Then, post at PMPS your BG reading. If you get a number below 150, do not feed the cat; just post your number and wait until you get an answer from someone. If no one is around to help you, skip the shot. Hopefully, someone who is good at interpreting spreadsheets will give you some advice.
If you see a number above 150, you should (in most cases) be able to give the 1.25u. If you are afraid to do it, feel free to delay feeding and post for advice. If you have plenty of strips and you can stay up with the cat, it is most likely safe to give the cat the shot with a PMPS of 150.
This will be your sixth shot at the 1.25u dose. Can you test the cat at +2 tonight as well as +4? It can take up to 6 cycles for a particular dose to "settle," and you may get some great information about this dose by taking a +2 reading tonight. It would be good to see how far this dose drops the BG from the PMPS number at the time that the onset of the insulin would usually begin for a "typical cat."
Good luck.