10/4 Kitty Cat AMPS 357 +6 272

Christina & Kitty Cat

Member Since 2020
I noticed a huge increase in shedding the past few days and today he threw up a hairball. There was some food and orange gunk mixed in but it was mostly hair. Should I be worried about his nausea coming back or is it normal since it was more hair than food/bile? I haven't give him the extra ondansetron since his appetite has been fine. He ate right after the hairball.

He got a 0.25u increase today and +6 is yellow so that's nice.

Last night I didn't close the autofeeder properly so when I woke up, the cover was completely off. I'm assuming he ate everything in it all at once. I'm limiting him to 4 cans a day so he can still gain weight but more gradually and not get used to eating too much.

10/3 thread History:
  • 9/11-9/13 vomiting, constipation, ketones small
  • 9/14 vet/hospital, started ondansetron + famotidine, "not DKA yet"
  • 9/15 first low number event, HC & honey
  • 9/16 reduced from 1u to 0.5u for 2 cycles
  • 9/17 increased from 0.5u to 0.75u for 2 cycles, vomit
  • 9/18 first day of greens & blues, reduced from 0.75u to 0.5u for 6 cycles, last day ondansetron
  • 9/21 increased from 0.5u to 0.75u for 8 cycles
  • 9/25 increased from 0.75u to 1u for 6 cycles
  • 9/28 increased from 1u to 1.25u for 6 cycles
  • 10/1 increased from 1.25u to 1.5u for 6 cycles
  • 10/4 increased from 1.5u to 1.75u
 
I bet it was the fur. I brush one of mine often but it seems it just loosen more fur. She doesn’t shed when I pet her but every so often there’s a hairball, often after she has just eaten. Hoping that’s what it is but just watch for signs of nausea. If it was the fur she should not have any now that she got rid of it.
 
As cats get towards a better insulin dose, you'll often see shedding as a new coat comes in. If he's feeling better, he might also be grooming more. Longer term, frequent hairballs can be an indicator of a GI issue.

I wonder if he'll show his pattern of before, of showing response to the increase on the second cycle.
 
Back
Top