10/4 Gandalf 1 week in, AMPS 19.2, advice needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

Helena and Gandalf

Member Since 2016
We are now 1 week in to our Lantus switch. It has been going well, he almost immediately became more happy and playful. Yesterday however he seemed so down, he also started to drink more water again. He pooped a smelly poop during the night. That usually only happens when somethings not right, and then there's the increasing BG values since yesterday. It is the first time since the switch he has been this high. I don't know if thats because he's not feeling well or something else.

We were planning to increase the dose to 1.75U tonight, but should we wait a few cycles to see if he start feeling better? We wouldn't want to increase on numbers that might be influenced by him being unwell just to see him take a nose dive when he start to feel better. :(
 
I'm so sorry to hear Gandalf isn't feeling well! Looking at the numbers, he still has plenty of room to move down safely, so I would go ahead with the increase.

Are you giving him a probiotic at all? I've found that to be very helpful at avoiding stomach/litterbox problems.
 
Thank you! He has become a bit more like him self during the day. Then we will go ahead with the dose increase know. PMPS was 15.0 mmol/l, glad he came down from that high AMPS!

We used to give him Fortiflora when he had quite long periods of loose poop. I can't find any in the cabinet so I guess we used it all. It is good to have some at home so I think I will pick some up tomorrow.
 
You might consider trying s. boulardii. It seems to work better than Fortiflora....although nothing tastes better than ff! Probiotics work best if given daily. It takes a few weeks to build up in their digestive tract. For more immediate relief, Slippery Elm Bark works really well for my civie.
 
Hello Helena,

What a handsome devil your Gandalf is!

Have you decided which method you will be following? SLGS or Tight Regulation Protocol?

since Gandalf completed 14 cycles at 1.5u with no evidence of green increasing to 1.75u was appropriate.
Thank you!
We decided to go with the SLGS to begin with. He is still a bit unwell, his tummy is a bit upset and he is not as happy as usual. He also started drinking water again a few days ago. At least he still has his apetite, so shooting is no problem. Tonight we are starting him on pro-/prebiotics.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top