10/4 DJ AMPS 353 +3 309 +6 130 PMPS 344 +2 361 +4 354 +6 318

Cat DJ

Member Since 2021
It sometimes bounces above 300. Is it bounce?

Should I reduce the amount of insulin? I'm going to discuss it with vet tomorrow.(Vet instructs me to lose 0.25units if his number falls below 50)

On days like bounce, the number drops very slowly, just like insulin doesn't work.
 
Last edited:
Yes, he looks like he is bouncing from the 66 he saw last night.

You could have stopped testing at +4 when it was clear that he was going to be flat and high. Similarly you could have stopped +8 the night before that.
More data is always welcome, but staying up testing can be exhausting. :-)
 
More data is always welcome, but staying up testing can be exhausting. :)

Because I'm used to Libre, I'm a little anxious about not being able to check his number.

I can't understand the number that suddenly reached more than 300 after +6 130 like this morning. I regret whether I should have checked further after +6.

His numbers are too high this afternoon and he's a little exhausted.
 
I can't understand the number that suddenly reached more than 300 after +6 130 like this morning. I regret whether I should have checked further after +6.
During a bounce, numbers can be wonky. They are usually flat and high like you saw tonight. But sometimes they can go down and then right back up. I am sure he will get back on track soon.

His numbers are too high this afternoon and he's a little exhausted.
Yes, once they get used to lower/normal numbers, they feel uncomforable in high numbers. Might also pee and drink more.
 
Should I reduce the amount of insulin? I'm going to discuss it with vet tomorrow.(Vet instructs me to lose 0.25units if his number falls below 50)
I just realized you are using a pet meter for the last 3 days.

The reduction point on a pet meter (even for an aggressive protocol like TR) is 68. DJ has earned a reduction by dropping to 66 last night.
The reduction point of 50 is for a human meter/Libre.

Please reduce his dose to 1.25U going forward. Congrats on the reduction! :-)
 
The reduction point of 50 is for a humanPlease reduce his dose to 1.25U going forward. Congrats on the reduction! :)

Oh my gosh!!!!!!
I was actually very worried that he would always stay in 1.5 units!

Since the number is high today, I'm going to give 1.5units and reduce it to 1.25 units from tomorrow afternoon. What do you think?
 
Since the number is high today, I'm going to give 1.5units and reduce it to 1.25 units from tomorrow afternoon. What do you think?
Reduce right away. He has already had 2 extra cycles on 1.5U.

Lantus gosing is based on nadirs and not preshots or bumbers when bouncing.
 
His number is still high, does insulin remain depot?
Did not understand your question. Lantus is a depot insulin and the depot takes 1 week to build when you first start on Lantus and can take as much as 4-6 days to adjust to changes.
 
Did not understand your question. Lantus is a depot insulin and the depot takes 1 week to build when you first start on Lantus and can take as much as 4-6 days to adjust to changes.
If insulin remained in his body, I thought his number wouldn't be this high yet, so I wondered if there was any insulin left.
 
If insulin remained in his body, I thought his number wouldn't be this high yet, so I wondered if there was any insulin left.
There is always the Lantus depot at play when you shoot twice a day. In bounce cycles, numbers are flat and high despite that.
 
Back
Top