10/31 Toby's PMS=195 +3=160 +6=74 +7=68 +8=81

Status
Not open for further replies.

Peg and Toby

Member Since 2014
Toby's AMS have been going down the last 5 days. This morning his bg was the same as it was when I tested at +9. Wonder If
he was higher yesterday because we are doing 15 minutes later for DST ? He is still doing good not so hungry the last couple of days. Been adding Pumpkin to his food maybe that is helping. Take care, Peg and Toby
 
Re: 10/31 Toby's PMS=195

Good to see Toby in the blue for PMS. Liking those numbers. Happy Halloween, Peg and Toby
 
Re: 10/31 Toby's PMS=195

WOOT! Love that PMPS. :cool: Maybe this is a Toby in Halloween disguise tonight? Seriously though, I love how his spreadsheet has started to change. :-D
 
Re: 10/31 Toby's PMS=195 +3=160 +6=74

Well we are seeing green again. Wondering if we hit 50 am I supposed to reduce his dose ? If so by how much? Peg and Toby
 
Re: 10/31 Toby's PMS=195 +3=160 +6=74

I'd test in 1/2 hour again to see if he's still dropping or starting to surf. One thing I like about Levemir is often you can get these really nice long surfs. If you haven't read the Handling Low Numbers sticky lately, you might want to reread it. Some people use medium carb or lower to bring their cats up, but the first time it's safer to stick to high carb gravy or karo, especially for higher dose cats. If he goes below 50, give him a tsp or two of gravy. You can pry the lid up and squeeze out the gravy. Sorry, but I can't stay up with you tonight. If you get worried, you can always put click the 911 button on your first post and ask for help handling low numbers. There's usually someone on the west coast up for a while yet.

As for reductions, normally you'd do a .5U reduction for kitty over 10U if you get below 50, at least to start. Some higher dose cats notice a .25U reduction, but that's all part of learning what works for Toby.
 
Re: 10/31 Toby's PMS=195 +3=160 +6=74

That there is one purdy cycle :mrgreen:

If he stopped right at +6/74 it would be awesome. . . the longer he hangs around the healing numbers (50-120) the better.
Peg and Toby said:
Wondering if we hit 50 am I supposed to reduce his dose ? If so by how much?
From the TR protocol:
Reducing the dose:

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
Since Toby is newly diagnosed (<1 yr) 50 is the signal.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top