He's likely going to bounce a bit, especially until his pancreas and liver get used to remaining in lower numbers. It's annoying, but it happens. If you look at Jude's spreadsheet, you'll see he bounced quite a bit last year when he came out of remission (in October) and he continued bouncing earlier this year. (I think he bounced longer than he should have, though, because I probably should have started him back at a higher dose of insulin.) Once I got him up to 3 units, things leveled out for him (and then he came back down the dosing ladder!!). The good news about increasing and decreasing in .25 unit doses is that these smaller adjustments can minimize bouncing. So right now, you are easing him up until you get him into better numbers (nadirs in the 50-80 range with no numbers above 120 = regulated).
While we keep our eyes on the dosing guidelines (yours is SLGS), we also keep our eyes on the nadirs, and that's where the curves come in handy. The curve is designed to let you know how he's doing through an entire cycle--to identify where he's nadiring, to make sure it's not too low, etc. Bouncing can occur when a kitty goes too low in a cycle, and sometimes we miss that data without doing a curve. We adjust doses based on the nadirs--if they are running too low, you probably don't have room for an increase; too high, you might want to consider an increase (based on the dosing guidelines, of course, which show us how long to hold decreases/increases). The curves are also designed to gather data, so that you can continue building information on how Salem responds, in general, to the insulin.
My Alpha Trak is in the hall closet

. As frequently as I found I was testing Jude, I couldn't afford the test strips, so I went with the ReliOn, and it's been perfectly fine and much cheaper.
I can't offer dosing advice, but feel free to put up your question mark on the title when you're ready, and one of the more experienced folks will weigh in.