10/31 Phoenix Need an Answer Fast

Scdal

Member Since 2020
I don't know what to do. I have 2 grocery curb pickups and a feed store pickup scheduled for an hour from now.

As usual, Phoenix stays high until I have errands to run. Yesterday, he dropped from a BG of 151 to 58 in 2 hours. I live in the country and to run these errands will take me a minimum of 3 hours.

Do you think it would be possible to feed him a whole can of fancy feast hc and wait 30 minutes and check his BG before I leave? Also, how long will it take for the carbs to wear off? In the past, the effects of the fancy feast only seemed to last an hour.

His BG was 98 at +4 and is now 91 at +6. He also ate after the 98 reading and still his BG dropped.
 
98 and 91 are basically the same number. He's staying flat (he did the big drop from 213 to 98 but that's not to say he won't continue to drop gracefully for the next hour or so).
You could fill him up now and leave more food out. LC if you are confident he will stay in the 80s and 90s. HC if you are very nervous. He'll likely rocket to the moon.
 
I don't believe in taking chances. Leave m/c or h/c. It is better to be safe if you are not going to be around. You can always get him back down again.

By the way, put a "?" in front of your title if you have an emergency.
 
98 and 91 are basically the same number. He's staying flat (he did the big drop from 213 to 98 but that's not to say he won't continue to drop gracefully for the next hour or so).
You could fill him up now and leave more food out. LC if you are confident he will stay in the 80s and 90s. HC if you are very nervous. He'll likely rocket to the moon.
I see what you mean about already having his big drop. You are right. I have still decided to give him some hc and test him again in 30 minutes. Thank you for responding.
 
I don't believe in taking chances. Leave m/c or h/c. It is better to be safe if you are not going to be around. You can always get him back down again.

By the way, put a "?" in front of your title if you have an emergency.
Hi Summer, I do agree with you. I would rather be safe than sorry. I just fed Phoenix a boiled egg and half a can of fancy feast hc. I am going to wait another 30 minutes and check his BG again. Right now, his BG has dropped to 81.
If he has climbed to at least 100, I will give him another half can of fancy feast hc and run my errands.

I will be a nervous wreck the whole time I am away from home. I can see him on the security cameras but that doesn't tell me if his BG is low.
 
I don't believe in taking chances. Leave m/c or h/c. It is better to be safe if you are not going to be around. You can always get him back down again.

By the way, put a "?" in front of your title if you have an emergency.
I don't believe this ! After eating a whole boiled egg and half a can of fancy feast, his BG has now dropped to 70 !!
 
Why didn't you reduce after that 46 yesterday? Please, be careful with your Phoenix. It is better to be higher than hypoglycemic.
He isn't supposed to reduce until he drop down to 50 three times.

His last reading was 89. I fed him another half can of f.f hc and ran out of the house. I am at the feed store waiting for my order. They are usually fast but not today. I have been waiting 10 minutes
 
Looks like Phoenix only had a short bounce from the 46 yesterday, and is breaking the bounce this cycle. He is flattening out with that 70, hope the HC keeps him surfing. Sorry he picked a bad time to hit the lagoon :rolleyes:
 
He isn't supposed to reduce until he drop down to 50 three times.

His last reading was 89. I fed him another half can of f.f hc and ran out of the house. I am at the feed store waiting for my order. They are usually fast but not today. I have been waiting 10 minutes
Let us know how dear Phoenix does today.
 
Susan, I see you reduced Phoenix tonight. I think that was a smart thing to do. Although Phoenix is technically a long term diabetic, he also has a larger dose than most of the kitties here. Which also means a larger depot, which can really make it tricky to keep his numbers above 50. More so than for a cat on a smaller dose. Even though Neko was a long term diabetic, I always reduced when she went under 50. She was one of those kitties that periodically had higher doses, but more important, she also held her reductions. You know Phoenix best, so you'll have to decide whether he needs to go under 50 three times or not.

@Summer and Susie (GA) I know you are trying to be helpful to Susan, but sometimes it's best to let others help with dosing. Susan has 9 months more experience than you, plus her kitty is on a significantly higher dose than Susie ever was. That larger dose comes means special handling and fewer people with relevant experience to help.
 
Okay, Susan. You are considered a "long termer" so I guess that is why they say Phoenix shouldn't reduce until he has dropped three times under 50. Are you really comfortable with that? I'm sorry. My cat, Susie, is dead but there has always been some questionable advice I have seen on this site. I do not believe in pushing a kitty so low that you have to be so concerned. I know I will be criticized for my opinion but I don't care anymore. It always bothered me that we were expected to get them into such low numbers. If that is what you want, then I wish you the best. If I still had my girl, I would have tried to maintain her in safe blues and high greens and I would have done that for the rest of her life. Good luck.
No, I am not happy with these low numbers. I will talk to Bhooma about it. Phoenix just dropped low yesterday. We have tried to keep him in the 100 - 200 range. However, Phoenix bounces a lot. Three days ago, he was bok
98 and 91 are basically the same number. He's staying flat (he did the big drop from 213 to 98 but that's not to say he won't continue to drop gracefully for the next hour or so).
You could fill him up now and leave more food out. LC if you are confident he will stay in the 80s and 90s. HC if you are very nervous. He'll likely rocket to the moon.
Thank you, your observations about Phoenix already having his big drop for the day was extremely helpful.
 
Susan, I see you reduced Phoenix tonight. I think that was a smart thing to do. Although Phoenix is technically a long term diabetic, he also has a larger dose than most of the kitties here. Which also means a larger depot, which can really make it tricky to keep his numbers above 50. More so than for a cat on a smaller dose. Even though Neko was a long term diabetic, I always reduced when she went under 50. She was one of those kitties that periodically had higher doses, but more important, she also held her reductions. You know Phoenix best, so you'll have to decide whether he needs to go under 50 three times or not.

@Summer and Susie (GA) I know you are trying to be helpful to Susan, but sometimes it's best to let others help with dosing. Susan has 9 months more experience than you, plus her kitty is on a significantly higher dose than Susie ever was. That larger dose comes means special handling and fewer people with relevant experience to help.
Yes, I did reduce even though Phoenix wasn't due a reduction. The 63 PMPS yesterday kind of concerned me. I have shot at lower numbers before but I had a hard time keeping his BG up all day yesterday.

I would have been really pleased with his BG numbers yesterday if not for me having errands to run. I do all my grocery and feed store orders just once a month. Since I live in a rural area, it is more convenient. I had scheduled curb pickups for yesterday and as you can expect, I had huge orders.

Red and Rover had pointed out that Phoenix had already had his big drop for the day. This was extremely helpful with my decision to go ahead and run my essential errands.

I am sorry for not replying to anyone yesterday. By the time I got home, I ran in to check Phoenix's BG. Then, I had to put away all my groceries and fix dinner for Phoenix and me.

Phoenix is doing the exact same thing again this morning. I am not concerned since I am home to monitor him. I am going to hold the dose at 11 units for now. I really am glad that I am retired. I can't imagine trying to handle situations like this and go to work. I really feel for the people who work and have diabetic kitties. The stress must be terrible.

Thank you for your response. I really appreciate your help. I love Phoenix a lot and am trying my best to take good care of him.
 
Susan, I see you reduced Phoenix tonight. I think that was a smart thing to do. Although Phoenix is technically a long term diabetic, he also has a larger dose than most of the kitties here. Which also means a larger depot, which can really make it tricky to keep his numbers above 50. More so than for a cat on a smaller dose. Even though Neko was a long term diabetic, I always reduced when she went under 50. She was one of those kitties that periodically had higher doses, but more important, she also held her reductions. You know Phoenix best, so you'll have to decide whether he needs to go under 50 three times or not.

@Summer and Susie (GA) I know you are trying to be helpful to Susan, but sometimes it's best to let others help with dosing. Susan has 9 months more experience than you, plus her kitty is on a significantly higher dose than Susie ever was. That larger dose comes means special handling and fewer people with relevant experience to help.


I'm glad you reduced!
 
Back
Top