carfurby (GA)
Member Since 2012
Yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=82181
AMPS=377
No internet at home this morning. No internet at work. Finally internet back up at home.
Furball was happy & purry this morning. See update below for the reason she's pink this morning. Yesterday my power went back out at 1:30 PM. It came back on this morning at 6:00 AM.
Last night was quite an experience with Furball. When I tested her at PMPS I got a 120. Since I didn't know if the power would come back on, I lowered her dose from 1.5 units to 1.0 units hoping this would keep her from going too low. I know usually a dose decrease doesn't help much until the following cycle, but I still hoped. I meant to test her before +2.5 but got sidetracked talking to my brother. Her +2.5 was 48. Of course that had to happen with no power and no help from the board. My first reaction was she needs food. Feed her quickly. I grabbed the high carb food I know raises her BG and gave her some. I had to stop myself from giving her a whole bunch. I remembered to only give 1 teaspoon at a time. She was not happy. She kept begging for more food. I tested again in 20 minutes and got 98. I gave her another teaspoon of the high carb food. At this point I just wanted to get her numbers up and keep them up since she was very difficult to test by candlelight/flashlight. With her dark ear it is hard enough to see the blood drop in normal light some days. I tested again in another 20 minutes and got 107. At this point I was getting really sleepy and not sure I could stay awake. I gave her the rest of the can of high carb food and set my alarm to get a mid cycle test. I didn't really sleep because I was worried about Furball and woke up completely 1 hour and 45 minutes later. I got up and tested her and she was at 222. I figured she would be fine the rest of the night and there was still some of the high carb food left. I knew she would be high for her AMPS, but left it out just in case.
If the power had not been out, I would have probably done things a little different, but I wanted to make sure Furball was safe and I couldn't see well enough for a lot more tests. I would like to say thank you to everyone who has given advice to those who have gotten these lower numbers. Thanks to reading your advice to others, I knew what I needed to do. I would have rather been able to post on the board and get real-time advice, but it didn't work out that way. Thankfully Furball was okay and pretty good about testing under the circumstances.
I wish I could have gotten advice on what dose to give this morning, but I had to guess. I still wasn't sure I would be able to go to work (if the power was still out at work I would stay home), so I gave 1.0 units this morning. I didn't want to give her a higher dose and then she cleared the bounce and dived during the day and me not be there. With the dose reduction she earned last night, she would be at 1.25 units. Should I go back to the 1.25 units?
AMPS=377
No internet at home this morning. No internet at work. Finally internet back up at home.
Furball was happy & purry this morning. See update below for the reason she's pink this morning. Yesterday my power went back out at 1:30 PM. It came back on this morning at 6:00 AM.
Last night was quite an experience with Furball. When I tested her at PMPS I got a 120. Since I didn't know if the power would come back on, I lowered her dose from 1.5 units to 1.0 units hoping this would keep her from going too low. I know usually a dose decrease doesn't help much until the following cycle, but I still hoped. I meant to test her before +2.5 but got sidetracked talking to my brother. Her +2.5 was 48. Of course that had to happen with no power and no help from the board. My first reaction was she needs food. Feed her quickly. I grabbed the high carb food I know raises her BG and gave her some. I had to stop myself from giving her a whole bunch. I remembered to only give 1 teaspoon at a time. She was not happy. She kept begging for more food. I tested again in 20 minutes and got 98. I gave her another teaspoon of the high carb food. At this point I just wanted to get her numbers up and keep them up since she was very difficult to test by candlelight/flashlight. With her dark ear it is hard enough to see the blood drop in normal light some days. I tested again in another 20 minutes and got 107. At this point I was getting really sleepy and not sure I could stay awake. I gave her the rest of the can of high carb food and set my alarm to get a mid cycle test. I didn't really sleep because I was worried about Furball and woke up completely 1 hour and 45 minutes later. I got up and tested her and she was at 222. I figured she would be fine the rest of the night and there was still some of the high carb food left. I knew she would be high for her AMPS, but left it out just in case.
If the power had not been out, I would have probably done things a little different, but I wanted to make sure Furball was safe and I couldn't see well enough for a lot more tests. I would like to say thank you to everyone who has given advice to those who have gotten these lower numbers. Thanks to reading your advice to others, I knew what I needed to do. I would have rather been able to post on the board and get real-time advice, but it didn't work out that way. Thankfully Furball was okay and pretty good about testing under the circumstances.
I wish I could have gotten advice on what dose to give this morning, but I had to guess. I still wasn't sure I would be able to go to work (if the power was still out at work I would stay home), so I gave 1.0 units this morning. I didn't want to give her a higher dose and then she cleared the bounce and dived during the day and me not be there. With the dose reduction she earned last night, she would be at 1.25 units. Should I go back to the 1.25 units?