10/31 Cole AMPS 621 / +2 436 / +4 202 / +6 112 / +7 103 / +8 117 / +9 148 / PMPS 376 /+2 396

Colio

Member Since 2020
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...140-fur-shot-2-274-8-601.237847/#post-2670330

Happy to say I actually got a proper shot in last night and this morning :p. Cole got up on the counter again today to help speed up getting breakfast which was also lovely, and let me comb his ruff for a bit with some nice head bumps to boot. So a good start to the day.

He has started missing the litter box when he pees - for a while it was just a bit, where his butt was hanging over. I got some pet pads to put under the edges of the litter box to keep things cleaner and now it's like that's the invitation to just use the pet pad... :confused: sigh... it's a journey. I'm hoping that when he is urinating less, this will stop happening. If anyone has seen this before or has a suggestion - all ears!

thanks so much and happy Halloween :woot:
 
Hope Cole works the juice today :bighug: As for the LB, do you have a high sided one? Jax likes to pee against the side but everything stays in with the high sides. One thing I learned about pee pads...at least the amazon ones...they have a "built-in attractant" for dogs (and I assume it may be enticing to kitties too). Hope you all have a wonderful day!
 
Whoa, Cole....slow down, please! Keep your eyes peeled, Elizabeth, he is clearly breaking his bounce in dramatic fashion from the looks of things. I recommend you get a +5 just to be sure. :D

ETA: I'd also offer Cole a bit of LC. Not too much, in case he continues to slide down you want to keep him hungry. Maybe a teaspoon or two.
 
Last edited:
Whoa, Cole....slow down, please! Keep your eyes peeled, Elizabeth, he is clearly breaking his bounce in dramatic fashion from the looks of things. I recommend you get a +5 just to be sure. :D

ETA: I'd also offer Cole a bit of LC. Not too much, in case he continues to slide down you want to keep him hungry. Maybe a teaspoon or two.

Thanks Lyla - He has come down super fast - missed +5 but just did +6 and then fed him which he gobbled down - some FF Seafood. What does LC stand for? :bookworm:
 
Hope Cole works the juice today :bighug: As for the LB, do you have a high sided one? Jax likes to pee against the side but everything stays in with the high sides. One thing I learned about pee pads...at least the amazon ones...they have a "built-in attractant" for dogs (and I assume it may be enticing to kitties too). Hope you all have a wonderful day!

I wondered if that pad was too attractive but didn't know that the dog one actually has that built in. These are from Amazon - I may lift it completely and see if he goes back to the litter and just a slight miss. Sides are medium height but may think about a higher side version to help with this. Thanks!
 
Related to food: LC = low carb (10% or less), MC = middle carb (11-15%) and HC = high carb (over 15%).

Your boy is really on the move and likely headed to the lagoon, if not already there. You use a pet meter, right?

Keep track of what you are feeding him for future reference. If you've ever seen my SS, you may notice I like to test a lot when Butters is in greens. You may want to get a +6.5 to see whether the food is working to keep him up. If not, definitely a +7. Remember, with the Alphatrak we don't want him to get below 68.:) If he does, that's when we break out the MC/HC foods. And we don't yet know how carb sensitive Cole is.
 
I need to head out to pick up Butters' meds. I'll try to find someone to keep an eye out in case you need help. But don't hesitate to flag in your subject line or tag people in your thread by using the "@".
 
Related to food: LC = low carb (10% or less), MC = middle carb (11-15%) and HC = high carb (over 15%).

Your boy is really on the move and likely headed to the lagoon, if not already there. You use a pet meter, right?

Keep track of what you are feeding him for future reference. If you've ever seen my SS, you may notice I like to test a lot when Butters is in greens. You may want to get a +6.5 to see whether the food is working to keep him up. If not, definitely a +7. Remember, with the Alphatrak we don't want him to get below 68.:) If he does, that's when we break out the MC/HC foods. And we don't yet know how carb sensitive Cole is.

Thanks - will be monitoring closely. Yes using the AlphaTrak so will have the other food ready just in case.
 
Still coming down even with some food after the +6 - watching carefully ... :nailbiting:
You're doing great and so is Cole! Are you feeding a little bit every hour or so? I would be feeding a tsp or two of Low Carb (LC) to help him surf.
 
You're doing great and so is Cole! Are you feeding a little bit every hour or so? I would be feeding a tsp or two of Low Carb (LC) to help him surf.

Thanks - this is the first big slide down I've had so it's all new! I'm feeding him a bit every hour and he is happy to eat :cat:
 
Thanks - this is the first big slide down I've had so it's all new! I'm feeding him a bit every hour and he is happy to eat :cat:
Yay, Jax loves food too. Makes these slides easier to manage :p

What other food do you have on hand? I saw Lyla mentioning Medium Carb and High Carb to you. Just curious if you have any on hand? Or syrup/honey? Not trying to alarm, I just like to know what's in the toolbox (and anyone else that stops by will want to know too :))
 
And when's your next test (one hour from your last one should be okay right now) ? I need to start some mummy hotdogs for halloween :) but I'll keep an eye on here too as long as I can
 
Yay, Jax loves food too. Makes these slides easier to manage :p

What other food do you have on hand? I saw Lyla mentioning Medium Carb and High Carb to you. Just curious if you have any on hand? Or syrup/honey? Not trying to alarm, I just like to know what's in the toolbox (and anyone else that stops by will want to know too :))

I have syrup and honey, and some prescription wet food from a while ago that has higher carbs (I can't remember if Cole liked this food - but he will usually try anything at least once) Will be going out tomorrow to buy some more MC and HC wet to have on hand.
 
And when's your next test (one hour from your last one should be okay right now) ? I need to start some mummy hotdogs for halloween :) but I'll keep an eye on here too as long as I can
Thanks - doing one an hour so in about 35 minutes. Appreciate you checking on me - enjoy the hotdogs ;)
 
I have syrup and honey, and some prescription wet food from a while ago that has higher carbs (I can't remember if Cole liked this food - but he will usually try anything at least once) Will be going out tomorrow to buy some more MC and HC wet to have on hand.
This is super - if you need more carbs today, you can add a drop of syrup or honey to you LC food - basically make your own MC...this would be if he's in the low 80s or 70s. More syrup to make the HC (if he drops <68 on your AT2). You'll learn eventually how he reacts to the carbs and what to give when.
 
He came up a bit - do you think I should do +9 to be sure? And if that was the nadir - and he is trending back up when it's time for his shot, is it ok to give him his full shot? (he's at 3u now)
 
He came up a bit - do you think I should do +9 to be sure? And if that was the nadir - and he is trending back up when it's time for his shot, is it ok to give him his full shot? (he's at 3u now)
I would get a +9 if you can. If he's rising you can then get a +11.5 (30 min before your shot time) to see where he is and if you need to post for help. He didn't earn a reduction (yet...anti jinx ;)). I haven't seen as many kitties as @Christie & Maverick but he'll likely bounce from his time in those blues.
 
Darn it, I missed the best part! Way to go, Team Cole! Nice surfing!:woot:

Since you'll be food shopping, has anyone mentioned Dr. Pierson's food chart, and the Canadian supplement. It tells you the approximate % carbs of many popular wet foods. Keep in mind it is over 3 years old so still may be worth checking on the manufacturer's website. The ones I have used from Dr. Pierson's lists I have found to still be accurate, though.
 
Darn it, I missed the best part! Way to go, Team Cole! Nice surfing!:woot:

Since you'll be food shopping, has anyone mentioned Dr. Pierson's food chart, and the Canadian supplement. It tells you the approximate % carbs of many popular wet foods. Keep in mind it is over 3 years old so still may be worth checking on the manufacturer's website. The ones I have used from Dr. Pierson's lists I have found to still be accurate, though.

Thanks for sharing - yes someone did send me a link when I first joined but I think I forgot! Almost all our wet food is PC - so this helps. The FF is a new addition once Cole was diagnosed and we got rid of all the dry (the other 2 boys are not over it yet... i have tried the Zero brand and Dr. Elsey to make sure Cole doesn't accidently splurge - but so far Teddy and Dax are not impressed with it - so they are all eating wet :p and seem to like FF more than PC.

Thanks to everyone for all the support this afternoon - it was just amazing @JaxBenji , @Christie & Maverick , @Butters & Lyla :bighug:
 
Nice work! :bighug:Cole may be heading to a bounce now. It'll be interesting to see where he is at for PMPS.

Notice how quick he cleared his last bounce: it is highly likely that he had an active cycle during the PM 10/29, judging by the big drop from PMPS to +2, and the blue AMPS on 10/30. Then he bounced for only two cycles: AM 10/30 and PM 10/30.

LOL, I'm pretty impressed you've been able to transition all three over to wet. Hopefully Teddy and Dax get with the program and don't feel too hard done by. :D Just a note for when you do need your MC or HC foods: the carbs are in the gravy, so make sure you give the gravy. :)
 
BG coming up and Cole got his evening shot of 3u. Tested, he ate some food, and gave his shot while he was eating. Will test again in +2 and see if we're heading for an active night.
 
Moving slowly upward tonight - feel like it was a good day and should be a good night :joyful:
 
It was a good day for Cole :), I wouldn't bother with any more tests tonight. Give the handsome boy a few extra scritches behind those huge ears for me!
 
Back
Top