10.31 Charlie AMPS 138 +3 63 +6 69 +10 71 PMPS 103 +2 120 +3 80

Sarah & Charlie-cat

Member Since 2022
I think we might be getting back to surfing the higher greens and the lower blues. I was anxious at 1 am and gave him a poke and he was 128. He was 138 this morning.

After his 5 am 1st breakfast, he came upstairs and crawled into my bed, and fell asleep next to my head with the Tiny Cat on the other side and my tuxie Pumpkin curled up at my knees. Hard to get up to give him his shot with all that cuddly catness.
 
He's been running down those doses. Even after that big drop last week.

I really don't want to take him with me to KS tomorrow. He cries in the car, it's going to be logistically challenging to lug him around in a crate since Harold's crate requires two hands (he's a big cat). I don't really want to be trying to feed and test in the car, especially since there's not really anywhere to stop between here and Manhattan. At least going to Kansas City, there is a Target in St. Joseph MO (and other stuff) should you need to give your cat fluids in the back of the car. And if past performance is any indication, he's gonna be too stressed to eat anyway in the car.

I can set him up in a room alone with the autofeeder. But I still worry about him doing a hypo while I'm gone.
 
Ug he just threw up about five minutes after eating. Not sure if it was because I gave him some Friskies shreds mixed with some I/D we had left from when he was first diagnosed or if he's gonna start a pancreatitis flare.

I just gave him his max dose of Cerenia and Zofran because he's gonna have to eat something for me today and tomorrow.

Whhhhyyy, Charlie, whhhhyyy???
 
A couple options for keeping him safe at home. A greatly reduced dose tonight and tomorrow morning, like 1 unit. Or a skip in the AM. If he's in a room by himself, does he need to have an autofeeder or will he eat it all at once?
 
Well now he's throwing up. So not sure I'm going to go at all. I gave him a Cerenia and a Zofran and he threw up maybe 10 minutes later. I didn't see the pills in his vomit but ug...gonna call his vet. At least see if I can get some injectable Cerenia.
 
Chewy came through with his food early, so I gave him some of that and he ate it, it stayed down, he's sleeping. I do have injectable Cerenia on hand now. Just in case. That sh*t is so expensive. But last time he was super sick it really helped.
 
I'm glad to hear the food showed up "early". It seems to really help him. The change in food might have upset his tummy.
 
Yes, I rather think it might have. I still can't put my finger on what exactly his tummy doesn't like. He had some of the Friskies gravy the other day when he was low and seemed fine. He had eaten the Hills before, when he was first diagnosed.

Here I was thinking 24 big cans would last more than 8 days. Whoops. Have to double my Chewy order
 
@Wendy&Neko, based on his numbers, his dose tonight would be 1.5. Is 1 enough of a reduction for tonight and tomorrow morning to prevent him from dropping so low tomorrow?

I think he would be inclined to eat more than he strictly needs to if he didn't have the autofeeder. Assuming he doesn't throw up again, I guess, the best thing is probably a reduced dose tonight and tomorrow and the auto feeder in a room by himself. Hopefully, getting back by his shot time won't be an issue, although a late shot won't be the end of the world, I can walk it back over the next few days, and the time change will help.

He just came down and asked me for more food and he ate it well. Fingers crossed.
 
@Wendy&Neko I don't usually get a +10 but yes, he seems quite low. I hope he comes back up at least into the 80s or 90s for shot time. I cannot be up all night and then drive to Kansas. That is a bad combination for an ADHD brain.
 
@Wendy&Neko his +2 was 120 from a PMPS from 103. Up a little bit but not as much as last night, which was PMPS 97 to +2 of 142.

Will get a +3 after I take a shower and get things together for tomorrow
 
Looks like the long stretch of greens and/or reduced dose is catching up with him. Hope that means you catch a break. :bighug: Good luck with the trip tomorrow.
 
@Wendy&Neko He was following me around while I was getting ready for bed, so I gave him another scoop and asked my husband to feed him again. But that's like asking a wall to do anything. He's up in the cat tree so I'm thinking he's probably gonna hang tight for a couple hours at least. He seemed to stay fairly flat today, even if he was lower than I would have liked, especially considering he threw up in the middle of the day.

Think he's gonna run for remission all of a very sudden like?
 
Back
Top