10/31 Autumn amps-463

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 10/29 Autumn amps-453 Bounce

phlika29 said:
I don't actually know what a bolus is.

A healthy pancreas will produce a steady trickle of insulin between meals. When food is ingested, the pancreas releases pulses of stored insulin in response. These effects are emulated by different types of insulin. A basal insulin emulates the steady trickle and a bolus insulin emulates the pulses. A human diabetic may use both. For example they may inject a basal insulin once a day, and then inject a bolus insulin at mealtimes to handle the upsurge in blood glucose after ingestion of food.
 
Re: 10/29 Autumn amps-453, +6-279, pmps-191

thanks for that explanation. that makes it very clear
thanks Àine
 
Re: 10/30 Autumn amps-413

Well there is at least no mystery to why she is so high this morning.. Last night she started dropping quickly again before she should have even hit onset for the insulin and went from 191 at pmps to 66 by +3 when she got her before bed snack. So I set my phone alarm to wake me back up at 1 a.m. (+6) but it didn't for some reason go off, so it wasn't until 3 a.m. that I woke up. Only to notice that she wasn't sleeping curled up next to me. I can see her in the moonlight from the our bedroom window curled up on the floor next to the dresser so leap out of bed and test, heart failure she's at 47! Was she lower than that earlier when the alarm should have awoken me? I have no clue but I'm betting she probably was as fast as she was dropping earlier. So once again this morning she got her normal .5 of Lev and her drop of the bolus to bring her back down where she is suppose to be again and hopefully by tonight she will be low enough at preshot that I can give her the reduction that she more than likely earned last night.

I'm so ready to pitch this phone out a high building's window, every now and then it does something very stupid for a smart phone, like last night where it suddenly forgets to tell the correct time, and thus my alarms on it don't work correctly. It also has a nasty habit of turning itself on and off for reasons only known to itself. :roll: Normally it's no big deal because I know it's quirks but last night if I hadn't just awoken on my own it could have been a very BIG deal. Guess I'm going to have to get a regular alarm clock for our bedroom that I can set just for getting up to test Autumn when she is running low. We have one in there but it is set to wake us up for when Jon needs to get up to get to work and I can't set multiple alarms on it. :YMSIGH: Thankfully my baby girl is fine this morning although sky high again, but it could have been so much worse if my spidey senses hadn't kicked in last night to wake me up on my own. After losing my first sugarcat Muse to a hypo overnight that is one of my biggest fears now. Hypos themselves no longer scare me, but one overnight when I'm not conscious to walk her through scares me to death.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 10/30 Autumn amps-413

MommaOfMuse said:
After losing my first sugarcat Muse to a hypo overnight that is one of my biggest fears now. Hypos themselves no longer scare me, but one overnight when I'm not conscious to walk her through scares me to death.

Mel ... my heart aches for you. ... :cry:

I can understand your fear so well. That's why I can't stick with the BID dosing for Saoirse, and why I skip doses when I'm forced out of the house for medical appointments. Doesn't matter how much data I have, every time I give her insulin I metaphorically hold my breath until I'm sure she's far enough in the cycle not to hypo.
 
Re: 10/30 Autumn amps-413, +3-297, +7-140

Well I'm officially scum, not only did I leave without feed The Overlords their second breakfast. I came home took the dog for a walk and returned with of all things a KITTEN!! I'm blaming it all on the dog lol

While we were on our walk he heard the wee tike crying and literally drug me to the porch where the little babe was trying to crawl out of a cardboard box. He was way too tiny to be away from mom and blind because his eye were so crusted shut. Me being me scooped him up and knocked on the door, inquired if he was theirs. Nope they had found him under their porch and had no clue what to do with a kitten that young and sick. So home the 3 of us came. Waited for daddy to come home with our vehicle for lunch and tried to clean him up some and get food in him. Once I got the gook out of his eyes I could see a puncture in one. Okay more wrong than I'm equipped to handle so off to beg him a bed at our no kill shelter. No dice there, so threw a lawn dart and took him to my new vet. Not only did he get seen by a vet, tonight he will be snuggled in all nice and warm and very loved by his new mommy and daddy. The vet tech that saw Autumn adopted him on the spot!! Whoopie!!!

Its been a long but good day already.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 10/30 Autumn amps-413, +3-297, +7-140

wow. that was a lucky day for baby kitten and lucky for you Mel that the number did not rise to ***** 17 *******
because you KNOW u would have kept it. :o :shock: LOL
party_cat
 
Re: 10/30 Autumn amps-413, +3-297, +7-140

tibbs5 said:
wow. that was a lucky day for baby kitten and lucky for you Mel that the number did not rise to ***** 17 *******
because you KNOW u would have kept it. :o :shock: LOL
party_cat

That was my first thought, too. :lol: :lol:

I was digging around today looking for something (I can't even remember what anymore) and stumbled across this page by Janet & Binky on Supplemental Techniques to use when SLGS doesn't seem to work and immediately thought of you and Autumn. It's fairly old so I'm sure you've seen it before, but I thought it might give you a few more ideas just in case (or at least re-affirm that you're right with everything you've been doing). It's also worth keeping in mind for all the kitties that don't seem to follow the rule book around here. ohmygod_smile :lol:
 
Re: 10/30 Autumn amps-413, +3-297, +7-140

I'm glad you posted that link, Kay. Assuming that one has sufficient data and can monitor closely, I am wondering whether it would be feasible to give a SID dose that one tweaks slightly on an 'as needed' basis to improve tightness of a well-regulated cat prior to attempting an OTJ trial? Such an approach could help a lot with Saoirse.
 
This morning's number is completely my fault. :oops:

I found her shot sitting on the counter this morning from last night still fully loaded so apparently in all the rushing around last night to get everything caught back up on the day after the Kitten adventure me brain was out to lunch when I fed everyone and should have shot her. Now I feel like a bad mommy.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top