10/31 AMPS 236, 1 Unit | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

10/31 AMPS 236, 1 Unit

xiaotangmao

Member since 2025
Hi Everyone!

It has been a very stressful morning.

Bee had his siblings were up and I tried to not feed them before I could get a testing done but Bee was not having it.

I mixed in some of their old wet food and LC wet food I tried a new one this morning and I think I made a mistake, I saw him go to the washroom I checked and he seemed to be peeing fine not a huge amount and he although he was sleeping a little he was still playful. I started to noticed a smell though and went to check and he had a soft stool mixed with diarrhea.
 
Last edited:
You should be able to transition him to low carb over about a period of 7-10 days total.

What I am most concerned about with the transition is that when the HC food is eliminated, his BG is going to be lower… possibly much lower. You must be able to monitor his cycles. What kind of nadirs are you seeing? If he is at 158 at only 2.5 hours after the shot then he could go quite a bit lower. ProZinc begins to lower BG at approximately +2.
 
It has been about 7-10 days now, and I'm not sure if I should now just complete do the new LC wet food as I was doing about 50/50 to > 40/60 > 30/70 kind of eye balling it
 
Last edited:
And you are currently shooting 1 unit of ProZinc? I am very concerned if he’s getting these numbers you have mentioned while still eating HC food in the mix. Please test carefully. I will be glad when the food transition is finished and we can know what his BG will be.
 
And you are currently shooting 1 unit of ProZinc? I am very concerned if he’s getting these numbers you have mentioned while still eating HC food in the mix. Please test carefully. I will be glad when the food transition is finished and we can know what his BG will be.
Yes my vet recommended 1U
 
Last edited:
This morning we spent 6 minutes trying to get a read. He was VERY upset and kept growling and crying at one point I was able to do get one poke but not enough blood for a reading....decided to not do it this morning as he was very distressed and I didn't want him to associate the stress with the testing.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top