10/31/2010 Spitzer AMPS=356, +6=71

Status
Not open for further replies.

BJM

Member Since 2010
Yesterday

AMPS = 356
This is so not working.

New model proposed:
.5 U Lantus am only
ask vet for short(er) acting to use in pm to fill out day

Its the only way I think I can measure the insulin accurately, dose him consistently, and get him to reasonable numbers.
 
Re: 10/31/2010 Spitzer AMPS=356

I don't know that I would draw the same conclusion. Generally, a new Lantus dose needs 6 cycles to settle. The pink yesterday, may be the result of a bounce off of the blue AMPS. Not having any PM tests makes it very hard to interpret what's going on with Spitzer's numbers. Using a short acting insulin will require very aggressive testing at any time that you use a bolus insulin. If you can't test at night, using a bolus insulin is very dangerous.

ETA: Not only to you need to have an established Lantus curve to use a bolus insulin (you need to know where the Lantus nadir is) and it's duration, you also need to curve the bolus insulin. If you can't get tests now, I could not, in good conscience suggest using a bolus insulin.
 
Re: 10/31/2010 Spitzer AMPS=356

BJ, can you do a curve today? And start getting some PM data? Is there some reason that you don't get more than one spot check per day? You really need more data before you can draw any conclusions.

The pink AMPS doesn't mean that the 0.25u dose isn't working, it very well could be a bounce (probably is) but without more data, it's impossible to tell. You need to stick to consistent dosing and get more data. Dose hopping isn't going to help you, it will only confuse the picture more.

If you choose to go to an unproven protocol, I wish you luck.
 
Re: 10/31/2010 Spitzer AMPS=356

You wrote yesterday:

BJM said:
If I can get 4 doses in a row, plus a 5th do-able, as opposed to having his BG too low to shoot, I'll look at doing a curve.

First I want to establish that .25 (ish) works as a consistent dosing pattern.

What happened to your mindset and gritting your teeth BJ? My goodness....I wish I had some spare patience to ship to you but I am afraid that I need all that I have myself. But you said "consistent dosing pattern" and I was so happy to see that you were thinking along those lines. Because that is how Lantus works best. I think Spitzer might be bouncing from that blue...and that is totally normal and expected by everyone here. It just happens.

Why not give it a try again...with the consistent dosing---the way you were thinking yesterday. Of course, testing frequently will show where his numbers are instead of just guessing...so I will echo what others say about getting in those tests...
12/12 shooting the same dose will bring results using the Lantus. I hope you will reconsider and try it again....using only Lantus and some more tests... Maybe read through this protocol again and see if it makes sense, clicking on the links in this sticky too: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581
How is Spitzer feeling? All Ps in place?
 
have to agree here...consistent dosing works best with Lantus.
And nite time spot checks are a must, so that you have the complete picture and are able to keep your kitty safe.

safety first.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top