10/31-11/4 Hadley AMPS, +6, PMPS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Laura and Harley (GA)

Member Since 2011
Sorry this will have to be quick and to the point as I'm at work. Major mayhem at my casa this AM> Hadley was so hungry at AMPS that he bolted out the door of his room, met 3 cats, turned tail, ran under my bed, and then when I went to get him he ran back into his room and came face to face with Harley. Not the introduction I was hoping for. Hissing and spitting ensued. I grabbed Harley, put him in the hallway, closed the door of Hadley's room. He was a blue-grey blur, moving around, wriggling and not wanting to get his ear pricked. He wanted food in the worst way. I finally got a 137 and immediately retested and got 238. I figured of the two numbers the 238 was more realistic but then his behavior suggested that 137 was more in line. So I shot 0.5u. At lunch he was equally frantic and wouldn't sit still for his poke. I had to put him on the floor and hold him between my knees to get a reading 147 for his +6.

If' he's pink or yellow at PMPS, I'll still shoot 0.5u. But what if he's still blue? Reduce dose? or gird up my loins and shoot the 0.5u? I'm just worried if he's this frantic, I may not be able to get a lot of tests out of him. Poor kid, what a welcome home...

Thanks!
 
Re: 10/31 Hadley AMPS 137?/238? +6=147 - Need Advice for PMP

Thank goodness, work closed early for Halloween and let us out early. Came home and +9 is 178. Very nice numbers!! I just wish he weren't so frantic, poor guy. He doesn't understand I'm trying to hep him.

Thinking I'll just shot the 0.5u and keep watch...don't want to mess with success...
 
Re: 10/31 Hadley AMPS 137?/238? +6=147 +9=178 PMPS

Wow, what a way to start the day Hadley! cat(2)_steam Your poor Mom!

He is really settling in and hanging nice and even on the Levemir and at only a half unit! :)
 
Re: 10/31 Hadley AMPS 137?/238? +6=147 +9=178 PMPS

pamela and tigger said:
He is really settling in and hanging nice and even on the Levemir and at only a half unit! :)

Pamela this is one of the things I love about Hadley - his response to Lev is looking textbook - unlike my other challenging boy. This guy has a shot at remission or at least regulation.

flip_cat
 
Re: 10/31 Hadley AMPS 137?/238? +6=147 +9=178 PMPS=292

You know if you break this one too you'll have to get an unbroken replacement...lol

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 10/31 Hadley AMPS 137?/238? +6=147 +9=178 PMPS=292

MommaOfMuse said:
You know if you break this one too you'll have to get an unbroken replacement...lol

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang

HaHa, just give me that problem, please! :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 10/31 Hadley AMPS 137?/238? +6=147 +9=178 PMPS=292

He may need less insulin. If he is low-mid 100s again tomorrow I would reduce the dose to about .3u - I say this because you are not there during the day to test and monitor him, have no data (because he just started lev) on him to say how he is responding to doses, and he is getting a fast response to lev. I have seen this before and I think it means they need less insulin. Beau did this to me - very fast response to lev when the norm was to wait several days for any response as the shed built. By the third shot he was in the 30s (and no one believed the number). I only lowered for a few cycles and then raised him back up and rebound set in.

My feeling is that it is better to come in below the optimal dose and slowly raise to it. You don't want to get a rebound response set in and have him develop insulin resistance (IR) to lev. He may have gotten some IR with the other insulins and huge doses he got on them. You have a new insulin his body doesn't recognize so it isn't resistant yet - hence the big response.

And the lows could be causing the frantic-ness and certainly the hunger. Jeddie rejects testing when he is low or has (probably) been low during the cycle. It's kind of a "Hey, the last time you did this it made me feel crappy!"
 
Re: 10/31 Hadley AMPS 137?/238? +6=147 +9=178 PMPS=292

Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
He may need less insulin. If he is low-mid 100s again tomorrow I would reduce the dose to about .3u - I say this because you are not there during the day to test and monitor him, have no data (because he just started lev) on him to say how he is responding to doses, and he is getting a fast response to lev. I have seen this before and I think it means they need less insulin. Beau did this to me - very fast response to lev when the norm was to wait several days for any response as the shed built. By the third shot he was in the 30s (and no one believed the number). I only lowered for a few cycles and then raised him back up and rebound set in.

My feeling is that it is better to come in below the optimal dose and slowly raise to it. You don't want to get a rebound response set in and have him develop insulin resistance (IR) to lev. He may have gotten some IR with the other insulins and huge doses he got on them. You have a new insulin his body doesn't recognize so it isn't resistant yet - hence the big response.

And the lows could be causing the frantic-ness and certainly the hunger. Jeddie rejects testing when he is low or has (probably) been low during the cycle. It's kind of a "Hey, the last time you did this it made me feel crappy!"

Sheila I believe you are right and the 100s yesterday were the reason for his panic - he hasn't seen 100s in over a month and his body was going - "heeeeyyy something's different here, too low, too low." Even though we know it really wasn't too low. Fortunately/unfortunately Harley had the same problem so I've learned to recognize it.

So his overnight numbers may mean he's clearing a bounce:

PMPS=292
+4=281
+8=303
AMPS=259

He was much better at AMPS today because I fed him his last can of food overnight in 2 meals when I tested. He greeted me at the door with rubs and mews, jumped up on the chair and let me test him with a small amount of wriggling and twisting. Then I fed and after eating he jumped back on the chair for his shot! Smart kid. He'll cooperate so long as he's not feeling crappy.

I shot 0.5u again this AM before reading your post. Drat. Shooting the high dose into the bounce is fine, I've done it a lot with Harley but since Hadley was coming down and I shot the 0.5u into the 259 this morning, if we are right, I should be seeing blues at +6 and maybe PMPS again. Should I reduce dose no matter what number he throws me for PMPS? Sorry for all the questions but you're right, I have no data and I don't want to perpetuate this rebound cycle he's been on since diagnosis.

Thanks for all your help!
 
Re: 10/31 & 11/1 Hadley AMPS, +6, PMPS

Shooting down the bounce is ok, you just want to put the breaks on another swing. I found that usually there is a 24-36 hour cycle of low PS to rebound to low PS again. If you can catch the lowest point in there, it can sometimes be the key as to if an dhow much to reduce the dose.

Will you get a +6 test? You could reduce the dose, or not, depending on that. i.e., if he is below 100, I'd reduce the dose, if he isn't maybe not, but look for a low cycle overnight tonight just in case (get a before bed test or one at +6 if you can).
 
Re: 10/31 & 11/1 Hadley AMPS, +6, PMPS

Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
Shooting down the bounce is ok, you just want to put the breaks on another swing. I found that usually there is a 24-36 hour cycle of low PS to rebound to low PS again. If you can catch the lowest point in there, it can sometimes be the key as to if an dhow much to reduce the dose.

Will you get a +6 test? You could reduce the dose, or not, depending on that. i.e., if he is below 100, I'd reduce the dose, if he isn't maybe not, but look for a low cycle overnight tonight just in case (get a before bed test or one at +6 if you can).

+6=218

But there may be some stress in that number. Last night I opened Hadley's door when I left him at +8 because everyone was sleeping and I figured he could explore on own in private. It was quiet overnight, no catfights, that I heard. So this morning I left his door open and everyone was free to come and go, meet, sniff, etc. Some hissing all around and a little growling if someone was cornered or up against a wall but OK. I came home for lunch @ +6, tested Harley and fed him, Princess & Molly. I forgot to close the door on Harley (he eats in my room) and Hadley tried to get Harley's food while I was preparing Hadley's food. (God, these boy names are getting confusing even for me!) A tussle ensued and Hadley came running back to his room and me. Then he wouldn't sit still for his poke, did the twist and wriggle thing. I'm wondering if the number was actually lower...

I'm right with you on stopping the swinging and considering reducing tonight anyway even if he's still yellow. Does a skinny 0.5u sound good, or just go down to 0.3u? I can always raise if it doesn't work out.

I will monitor tonight when I feed his last can of food, just haven't decided if it'll be in 2 feedings (+4, +8) or just 1 (+6 or +7).
 
Re: 10/31 & 11/1 Hadley AMPS, +6, PMPS

PMPS=284, shooting a skinny 0.5u, if it's too much we'll know in a few days. If it's too little we'll know that as well. And I haven't backed too far down to go back up again.
 
Re: 10/31 & 11/1 Hadley AMPS, +6, PMPS

I think in a few days you can get a curve, right? Over the weekend? That will tell you more. For now, lets see if there is any difference with the skinny .5u.
 
Re: 10/31 & 11/1 Hadley AMPS, +6, PMPS

Yes, I'll curve him this weekend.

11/2 and the funky numbers continue...

PMPS=284
+3=262 (fed 1/2 can FF)
+5=294
+7=287 (fed second 1/2 can FF)
AMPS=276
Shot the skinny 0.5u again.
+6=257
PMPS=318
Raised to 0.5u - after 2 cycles, dose reduction wasn't looking good. :?

Hadley has free range of the house now but mostly prefers his room when I'm in it and on the computer. He's met everyone and is dong very well. Hisses and some growls being traded all around but that's to be expected. I was worried about him and Harley but they are OK - Hadley just sits down when Harley comes close to him as if to say "OK you're in charge here, I'm not going to make any false moves." Then Harley sits down too and they just look at each other for awhile. Princess is pissed I brought another one into the house. She hisses equal opportunity at all 3 of the other cats right now, she's stressed. Molly doesn't quite know what to make of Hadley. She isn't friendly nor is she hostile just mostly confused and lightly hissing. But he's only been home a few days so this is all par for the course.

I'm ordering more Feliway diffuser refills today...
 
Re: 10/31-11/2 Hadley AMPS, +6, PMPS

Looks like Sir Hadley is gonna make you dust off your dancing shoes. :-D

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 10/31-11/2 Hadley AMPS, +6, PMPS

Its interesting that he seems to have stopped responding to the lev - or not responding as well. Makes me think either rebound or mild insulin resistance that needs to be "broken through". It's odd that he responded so well on the first shot after no insulin for 24 hrs (right?) and now is sort of flat. You may have to raise until he responds and then, hopefully, he will slowly decrease.

Will be interested to see the curve this weekend although it probably won't show much different than yesterday's numbers.
 
Re: 10/31-11/2 Hadley AMPS, +6, PMPS

If you recall Sheila, Harley had a pretty good first 3 cycles on Lev too and you even thought his dose might have needed reducing but then he went to the ER and stuff went wild. I read on LL once, I think from Sienne and Gabby that starting a new insulin can produce a great response in the first few cycles and then the response fades. I wonder if it could be the body getting used to the new insulin and building up resistance just like you said?

Things got interesting for part 2 of last night's curve. I've been using Molly's Relion Confirm meter for him while waiting for a free Freestyle Lite one to come from Abbot and frankly, I don't like the bouncy numbers I've been getting with the Relion. I stopped using it for Harley for that very reason. So when I did Hadley's overnight +7.5 (he was freaking again) I used Harley's FS meter just "to see"

+7.5=226
+8=235

11/3
AMPS=240 (shot 0.5u)
+6=172

OK, well I confess I like the numbers the FS is giving me and frankly he's acting like those numbers are pretty darn close to being accurate. Guess we'll see what PMPS and overnight are tonight.
 
Re: 10/31-11/2 Hadley AMPS, +6, PMPS

MommaOfMuse said:
Looks like Sir Hadley is gonna make you dust off your dancing shoes. :-D

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang

Yup, got my ruby red, strappy sandels with the stiletto heels and steel toes on and ready to go. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10/31-11/3 Hadley AMPS, +6, PMPS

Looks like he is settling just a tad now.

I know about funky meter readings. I got a new True Result meter a couple of years ago and it gave me numbers that were a lot lower than my old True Track and I just couldn't trust it. I ended up getting a Contour and have been happy with that. Best to stick with one meter or you drive yourself crazy.
 
Re: 10/31-11/3 Hadley AMPS, +6, PMPS

I'm sticking with the FS Lite as it's easy to use with the new style of sippy strips and it's rated pretty well in the Consumer Reports article in the thread on Health. I'm surprised that the Bayer Contour meter was not rated as well, it's very popular on the board and a good meter.

"Mr. Peter Hadley" got his FreeStyle Promise card in the mail yesterday so the free meter & 10 test strips are not far behind.

the rest of the overnight curve:
+5=218
+7=216

11/4
AMPS=218
Shot 0.5u

Hooray for settling. :-D
 
+6=219
PMPS=235
Shot 0.5u

If the FS Lite is reading wrong, it's reading consistently wrong. LOL

EDIT: I will curve him at this dose tomorrow during the AM cycle. For the PM cycle I'll be split-dosing both boys for the time change.
 
Sounds like a plan.

I just realized I am double scr*wed with the time change because I have to shoot Jeddie early tomorrow am (meeting my father for breakfast) and then I have to move him later for the time change. I can't even figure it out....

or just leave him early. I am still shooting at 11:30 a/p because of a late night on Tuesday.
 
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
Sounds like a plan.

I just realized I am double scr*wed with the time change because I have to shoot Jeddie early tomorrow am (meeting my father for breakfast) and then I have to move him later for the time change. I can't even figure it out....

or just leave him early. I am still shooting at 11:30 a/p because of a late night on Tuesday.

Oh man, Sheila, I can't figure that one out either and I've gooten to be decent at the split reduced dosing thing for Harley. Well whichever way you decide to go, I hope you have a really nice breakfast with your dad today. Is he coming in from out of town? I don't know if you are the same as me but food and ~O) sure are a great way to start the day!
 
He, and his wife and step daughter, are in town for only 3 days for a wedding. They live in Charlotte, NC. I haven't had the best relationship with him most of my life and didn't speak to him for 9 of the last 10 years.. He is 81, so I decided I could finally put my needs behind me and deal with him "as is" - he was/is never going to change. Anyway, breakfast was good - food (coffee!) and company both.

I reduced Jeddie's shots last night and this morning and I think I'll just keep him at what will be 8:30 a/p starting tomorrow. I'm going out of town for Thanksgiving, so that time is better for my sitter anyway, I think.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top