10/30 Salem AMPS 339, +3 265 +7 191 PMPS 364 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

10/30 Salem AMPS 339, +3 265 +7 191 PMPS 364

Salem & Angus

Member since 2025
10/28 POST HERE

339 this morning. First test read 359 but I felt that wasn't entirely accurate due to barely getting enough blood on test so I tested again.

This is after a 2+ hour fast so I'm really unsure why it feels like his numbers are HIGHER than before? Going to check in a few hours to see where we're trending but my head is just spinning. I'm gonna chalk it up to it's just maybe a high day.
 
Last edited:
Without knowing how low he went last night, he could be bouncing!

Background in case the term is unfamiliar: "Bouncing, as we use the term in the FDMB, is the increase in the BG due to a fast drop of the BG (this does not have to be a fast drop from high to low numbers) or a drop to a lower BG than the cat’s body is accustomed. This also does not have to be a drop to a hypoglycemic BG. Many cats will bounce, initially, when the BG drops, for example, from 300 to 150 over the course of a cycle. The cat’s body has become accustomed to higher BGs and the BG of 150, in this example, causes the liver to release counterregulatory hormones and glucagon to raise the BG back to what it deems a “safer” BG."
 
Without knowing how low he went last night, he could be bouncing!

Background in case the term is unfamiliar: "Bouncing, as we use the term in the FDMB, is the increase in the BG due to a fast drop of the BG (this does not have to be a fast drop from high to low numbers) or a drop to a lower BG than the cat’s body is accustomed. This also does not have to be a drop to a hypoglycemic BG. Many cats will bounce, initially, when the BG drops, for example, from 300 to 150 over the course of a cycle. The cat’s body has become accustomed to higher BGs and the BG of 150, in this example, causes the liver to release counterregulatory hormones and glucagon to raise the BG back to what it deems a “safer” BG."

I completely didn't even think about bouncing even though I'm vaguely familiar with it. This makes me feel a bit better. Going to be more vigilant about testing today. His ears have just been fighting me tooth and nail to give me enough blood lately and then of course once I do get enough, he'll get out and shake his head so I have to start over 😂

EDIT just to add: is bouncing something that can be regulated/stopped? Like will his body get accustomed to lower numbers to the point his BG stops doing this?
 
I'm gonna chalk it up to it's just maybe a high day.
Sorry to double post, but I thought of something else -- the other thing we have to remember (and tbh this was really hard for me) is that insulin is a hormone, not a drug. There are so many factors that contribute to the numbers each day! Even if you fed the same number of calories at the same time, and gave the same dose at the same time, the numbers will vary because Salem's body is also doing a bunch of stuff. So there will be variation.
 
EDIT just to add: is bouncing something that can be regulated/stopped? Like will his body get accustomed to lower numbers to the point his BG stops doing this?
As far as I know, there's not much we can do about it, we just stay the course with the dosing protocol and over time it may or may not slow down. Some cats stop bouncing, some cats bounce all the way to remission.

You can check my spreadsheet--in my (non-expert) opinion, Esse is a fairly good example of a cat who has gradually bounced less and less. Compare our numbers from June/July to how they are now.
 
Sorry to double post, but I thought of something else -- the other thing we have to remember (and tbh this was really hard for me) is that insulin is a hormone, not a drug. There are so many factors that contribute to the numbers each day! Even if you fed the same number of calories at the same time, and gave the same dose at the same time, the numbers will vary because Salem's body is also doing a bunch of stuff. So there will be variation.

Yeah, I know I'm still very new to this so I'm trying my best to rationalize everything haha. On the plus side, ever since he started insulin he's stopped peeing everywhere and his energy levels are MUCH better! The other day he climbed up into the window which he hasn't done in a while due to the neuropathy (which also seems to have resolved itself)

Pictured below: Salem and a bonus from his sleepy brother, Angus.

PXL_20251029_160631580.jpgPXL_20251025_161236181.jpgPXL_20251025_172948670.jpg
 
Aw, yay!! Yes, you have to take those wins where you can get 'em. Thankfully Esse never had outside-the-box issues but I think the amount of litter we go through in our house has been cut in half.

That sleepy eyes photo is cracking me up, so sweet. We should all aspire to find someone who looks at us like sleepy Angus looks at you.
 
Without knowing how low he went last night, he could be bouncing!

Background in case the term is unfamiliar: "Bouncing, as we use the term in the FDMB, is the increase in the BG due to a fast drop of the BG (this does not have to be a fast drop from high to low numbers) or a drop to a lower BG than the cat’s body is accustomed. This also does not have to be a drop to a hypoglycemic BG. Many cats will bounce, initially, when the BG drops, for example, from 300 to 150 over the course of a cycle. The cat’s body has become accustomed to higher BGs and the BG of 150, in this example, causes the liver to release counterregulatory hormones and glucagon to raise the BG back to what it deems a “safer” BG."
This is very good information, Lauren. Hope it helps you to understand what Salem is doing.

Are you warming Salem's ears with a pill bottle or rice sock to help it bleed easier?
It takes time to get the hang of everything and for things to fall into place in some fashion.

I have dried blood on the door next to where I mostly test Ivy! Looks a bit like a crime scene ;)

Hang in there, you're doing great, especially that you're already seeing improvement in the peeing!💖
 
Are you warming Salem's ears with a pill bottle or rice sock to help it bleed easier?
It takes time to get the hang of everything and for things to fall into place in some fashion.

Yes always! I use my hands mostly but honestly maybe I should try the rice sock instead. There was a point last week where his ears were doing great! And now his right ear just decided it no longer bleeds (except for when I DID poke him, tried to massage his ear a bit to get it flowing and it still didn't bleed until AFTER I had poked the other ear).

He's such a trooper and very patient but I can't say I don't feel bad constantly poking him sometimes.
 
Yes always! I use my hands mostly but honestly maybe I should try the rice sock instead. There was a point last week where his ears were doing great! And now his right ear just decided it no longer bleeds (except for when I DID poke him, tried to massage his ear a bit to get it flowing and it still didn't bleed until AFTER I had poked the other ear).

He's such a trooper and very patient but I can't say I don't feel bad constantly poking him sometimes.
You can try a little dab or organic coconut oil to help heal his ear if you want to try that.
 
Black eared kitties! For some reason, that's all I've had since Neko. I've tested the others too. A small smear of Vaseline to help the blood bead up saved me.

Many cats to lower at night. We dose based on how low the dose takes the cat. I strongly recommend trying to get a second test at night to see if he's going lower and bouncing during the day. If you could get a "before bed" test every night, if it's at least 2-3 hours after the shot, it would really help fill in the picture of what is happening.
EDIT just to add: is bouncing something that can be regulated/stopped? Like will his body get accustomed to lower numbers to the point his BG stops doing this?
Once a kitty is spending sufficient time in normal blood sugar numbers, they will get used to those lower numbers and stop bouncing as much. How long it takes per kitty is very much ECID (every cat is different).
 
Black eared kitties! For some reason, that's all I've had since Neko. I've tested the others too. A small smear of Vaseline to help the blood bead up saved me.

Many cats to lower at night. We dose based on how low the dose takes the cat. I strongly recommend trying to get a second test at night to see if he's going lower and bouncing during the day. If you could get a "before bed" test every night, if it's at least 2-3 hours after the shot, it would really help fill in the picture of what is happening.

Once a kitty is spending sufficient time in normal blood sugar numbers, they will get used to those lower numbers and stop bouncing as much. How long it takes per kitty is very much ECID (every cat is different).

Yes I'm definitely going to be getting more night-time test results. The past week I've been struggling to even stay awake past 8PM (no idea where the exhaustion is coming from lol) but I want to at least try to get a better picture.

Are you holding the lancet at an angle, like 45 degrees if possible? That helps a lot.
Nice to see those lovely photos!

I would like to say yes, but I can't be 100% sure. I do definitely try to angle it as opposed to just straight in especially considering how many times I've managed (somehow) to poke myself! Not ideal 😅
 
I completely didn't even think about bouncing even though I'm vaguely familiar with it. This makes me feel a bit better. Going to be more vigilant about testing today. His ears have just been fighting me tooth and nail to give me enough blood lately and then of course once I do get enough, he'll get out and shake his head so I have to start over 😂

EDIT just to add: is bouncing something that can be regulated/stopped? Like will his body get accustomed to lower numbers to the point his BG stops doing this?
Remember, if you think he might shake his head, you can always scoop that blood drop onto your finger nail and then put it on the test strip. I've had to do that a few times.

I have Jude's dried blood on the kitchen floor as we speak.:rolleyes:
 
Remember, if you think he might shake his head, you can always scoop that blood drop onto your finger nail and then put it on the test strip. I've had to do that a few times.

I have Jude's dried blood on the kitchen floor as we speak.:rolleyes:

They really are such gremlins sometimes huh? 😂

I just tested and gave him dinner, he was at 364 which is the highest I've seen him for a bit. AMPS +3 was 265 and +7 was 191. Gave him his dose and will test again around +3 before I go to bed to see where we're at. Hoping this bouncing chills out at least a tiny bit for my own anxieties.
 
Back
Top