10/30 Rupert AMPS HI ,+2 532 +6 273 PMPS 403 +3 403

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pip & Rupert

Member Since 2012
yesterdayL http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=82139&p=884036#p884036

numbers:
AMPS 333
+2.5 124.2
+4 73.8
+6 113.4
PMPS 433.8
+2.5 311.4
+4 198

Sigh. :?

I guess this is a monumentally wicked bounce this morning. first time he's ever given me a HI reading and my meter goes pretty high. He, of course, is BEBT as usual, stomped in from the front door at mach 5, demanded breakfast, and is as active, if not more so, as usual this morning. ohmygod_smile

I keep thinking that this dose is maybe too high?? it seems that we get massive dives, massive bounces, and each bounce is getting higher, each dive getting more dramatic. seriously considering dropping the dose.... anyone have ANY thoughts? We have one more vial of Lantus to go, but I really think it's time to try Lev. dammit. I was feeling a bit better because we were getting some blues and greens.... and then this HI this morning really threw me. I did the test twice to make sure the meter wasn't wonky.

At least Rupert seems totally fine with it all. Can not imagine how he can be feeling just fine with numbers this awful but his coat is still shiny and he's quite happy with himself. Did notice that he drank a lot more this morning, which I guess is no surprise.

so. if anyone has time to look at the spreadsheet and see if they can see any sort of pattern it would be appreciated.

I hope everyone is safe and dry, can't believe the images I"m seeing on the tv this morning from the east coast.
 
Re: 10/30 Rupert AMPS HI - so confused

Hi guys .. I wish I knew exactly what to tell you, to make rupert constantly green .. but I don't :sad: I know it's frustrating seeing our kitties so high .. maybe this is the "HI' before the big break? I'll keep my fingers crossed rupert comes down for you .. hang in there!
 
Re: 10/30 Rupert AMPS HI - so confused

Calm down Pip. Hang in there. Sometimes they do throw us awkard numbers. Did Rupert get to something "forbidden"; dry knibbles maybe?
If you need dose advice, pls post in your topic line.
Rosy's doing fine these week but I can never figure out what caused it. She used to love hanging around with Rupert, right? Have the faith that they will turn around. What is important is WCP.
 
Re: 10/30 Rupert AMPS HI ,+2 532 advice?

Pip

On 10/24, he got to 39 and you didn't reduce his dose. It probably would have been a good idea to take him down .25u at that point.

Normally, I'd say you are taking him up in small enough increments that he should not be overdosed but you have to take the reductions when he earns them.

Did you see this: Reductions?

I don't know really see a lot of difference between what he is doing now and what he has been doing...he was going into the 500s and diving on the f2.25u. With meter variance, any of those 500 numbers could also read "HI" at some time. But I am seeing a missed reduction.
 
Re: 10/30 Rupert AMPS HI ,+2 532 advice?

again, confused. i was told by people here that in Rupert's case I should wait until he gives me THREE under 50's before he gets a reduction....so should I reduce tonight then? go back to 2.25?
 
Re: 10/30 Rupert AMPS HI ,+2 532 advice?

Aahhh...I understand your confusion. It's three under 50 or ONCE under 40. Whichever comes first. If you read through the post I linked, it's explained there.

I don't know how much of this is attributable to missing a reduction mostly because I can't see that he's doing anything differently ;-) I don't know if it will help to take him down. I do know you didn't "lose" the reduction just because you didn't take it right then.

I see two choices: either take him back down and see what he does or leave him here and see if he earns another reduction. If you decide to leave him at this dose, if he goes below 50 even once, I'd reduce him.
 
Re: 10/30 Rupert AMPS HI ,+2 532 advice?

thanx for the info Marje.... I'll see where he goes today and decide PMPS... probably will go with the 2.25 ... but we'll see. Sorry to be a tad freaked this morning. I've become quite used to his bouncing and am sort of learning to live with it, no matter how frustrating and it IS good to see that HE is doing just fine. I just hate to think I'm doing something wrong, missing somethign, etc.etc. you know how it is. I get to second guessing everything. Doesn't help that the weather is totally miserable and we are heading into 'major depression' season here. Don't mind me. I'm a whiny brat, so many people with so many much much larger issues today! Thanx again.
 
Re: 10/30 Rupert AMPS HI ,+2 532

Don't worry, Pip. We are all on the same road together. Things look good and then we struggle. I've had the same issues with Gracie lately...up or down? It's hard to know. My choice is usually to go up to a breakthrough dose because I know I can be here with her 24/7 to test her if I need to. But most people cannot. So it's safer to either reduce or hold steady until his next low number.

We are a support group and that includes for each other. I think it would be good for you to consider a switch to levemir. Can't hurt, might help.
 
Re: 10/30 Rupert AMPS HI ,+2 532 +6 273

and a yellow for lunchtime +6... good grief! he's really getting into the 'swing' of things. I think I'll go for the 2.25 tonight....
 
Re: 10/30 Rupert AMPS HI ,+2 532 +6 273

Hi Pip,
It looks like Rupert is angling for a diving title! I agree that you should give him the reduction he earned. Anything below 40 is an automatic reduction.

Enjoy your day, even if you are having "typical" PNW weather for this time of year!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 10/30 Rupert AMPS HI ,+2 532 +6 273 PMPS 403

almost was a pink PMPS.. not too bad. gave him the reduction, so back to the 2.25 dose. will see where this goes tonight. Rupert BEBT as per usual. very annoyed at all the rain though!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top