10/30 Paisley PMPS/347, +2/370, +4.5/292, +6/214

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 10/30 Paisley AMPS/328

nice night last night. :smile: Looks like Paisley clears her bounces quickly, so you'll still want to grab a couple of tests today whenever you can.
 
Re: 10/30 Paisley AMPS/328, +4/306

You were up late last night! Great work. I'm with Libby. Grab that snooze early since Paisley may want some attention later.
 
Re: 10/30 Paisley AMPS/328, +4/306

Weirdest thing... I found a bloody spot and a bit of intestine on the floor in her room. Since the door was closed, she must have called for delivery.

Any specific times that would be good to test today with the bounce?
 
Re: 10/30 Paisley AMPS/328, +4/306 Times to test?

Morning Lylene ~O)

Great job last night. Regarding questions/comennts you posted yesterday -
I'm still not real sure about what to do when numbers are low. I'm not certain now I know what low is.
I consider anything under 50 low. When deciding if a low number needs to be fed, it depends on the context. In general, if a 50 comes at +1 or +2 and is substantially lower than your PS you want to feed it. LC or HC - depends on your cat - that you learn from experience since ECID.
Guess I'm still confused. Looking back, I'm not sure why I dropped the dose. On the 10/26 I was so tired and afraid I'd miss if she went hypo. I'd slept through the alarm several times and was trying to be safe. I figured it'd work itself out eventually. I'm terrified of her going hypo and me missing it because I fell asleep and didn't hear the alarm or wasn't home to catch it.
I'm all for playing it safe. Keep in mind that w hen you are shooting, you are not shooting your PS number but rather a number 3 or so hours into the cycle, when onset occurs. If you are afraid you wont wake to your alarm, or ypu have to leave the house you can leave some food in a timed feeder or pre-freeze some food and leave it out in case you don't wake.
All in all I guess I still am very unsure about what I'm doing, despite reading things over and over. I'm afraid of asking for help too much or asking about something that seems so obvious to others or something that is close to something I'd previously asked but I'm not seeing that it's the same. Sometimes I think I understand something then a situation arises and I'm not so sure. I'll go back and reread a sticky and think I have it but guess maybe I don't. Sometimes I wish I hadn't adopted Paisley, in hindsight. My memory of Barry before he went OTJ was that I knew pretty much what I was doing. Now, not so much. The last thing I want is to hurt her and I feel like I'm not giving her the best care she could have gotten with someone else.
I think you are doing a great job. Never hesitate to ask questions. Someone is generally around to help or to "bump" you up to the top of the forum. You did a wonderful thing adopting Paisley, she is a lucky kitty. ECID, in time you will feel more confidence about treating her FD.
What is the maximum time between pretest and shot? Is there a preshot number where I should be stalling besides the sticky that says 150? Am I not completely understanding the concept of a "low" number?
If your PS is a rising number you don't want to wait as it can go up in 15 mins sometimes. The 150 PS guideline in the sticky is for folks who are not data ready and therefore don't have a feel for when onset and/or nadir occurs. That's why the +1 +2 +11 numbers are important. The more of those you accumulate the easier it will be to shoot progressively lower PS numbers, which is the goal. So a "low" PS is relative and will change over time. If Paisley throws you a PS you have never shot before and you feel need to stall, don't feed and test every 15 mins until you get a substantial rise that you are comfortable shooting. Always make sure you have everything you need to guide a cycle, just in case. You don't want t o stall lmuch over 2 hours as it will screw up your shot schedule.

Hang in there Lylene!
 
Re: 10/30 Paisley AMPS/328, +4/306 Times to test?

Lylene & Barry said:
Any specific times that would be good to test today with the bounce?
Looks like she may be starting to clear the bounce I'd check around +7 and take it from there.
 
Re: 10/30 Paisley AMPS/328, +4/306, +8/187

+8 = 187 Not sure when she at last. There was no food in her bowl and she did readily eat. Barry and Scottie were with us too and the door was open with access food in the next room.

Back in the game. I think a train hit me. Missed a +7 but got in on a +8.
 
Re: 10/30 Paisley AMPS/328, +4/306

Lylene & Barry said:
Weirdest thing... I found a bloody spot and a bit of intestine on the floor in her room. Since the door was closed, she must have called for delivery.

Any specific times that would be good to test today with the bounce?

do you feed raw?

celi
 
Re: 10/30 Paisley AMPS/328, +4/306, +8/187

lylene, don't hesitate to ask questions - i know i have to read things and hear things more than once to get them. and to understand the info when i need it is a whole different step.

try not to be discouraged! you're doing great! and where would paisley be without you? you've given her a second chance - that's a wonderful gift. you don't have to be perfect for her to know you love her.
 
Re: 10/30 Paisley AMPS/328, +4/306, +8/187, +9.75/167

+9.75/167 Gave her food which she ate. She's been sleeping beside me for a while.

Celi,

I try to feed raw. The recipe I was using called for whole chickens and after my wrist was re-injured it kept getting harder so I'd put it off and feed canned. I made a big batch last night (2 chickens). I found Dr. Lisa's recipe which uses only thighs so I'm switching to that. It will be so much easier on me and better for them. Scottie is the only one who doesn't eat raw when I have it. She will eat a little when I make it but that's about it. She eats Wellness canned. She has kidney issues so I'd really like to get her on a good raw diet. Most of the cats hunt or have hunted in the past, including Paisley.

Cinnamon was a barn kitten the vet's daughter just had to have and then didn't want because she wasn't cuddly. They were going to put Cinnamon back in a barn but I took her instead. It took a lot of time and patience but she is now a very affectionate cat. She loves to hunt and is good at it.

Little Brother (and Big Brother - GA) were found at my uncle's house on the family farm, along with a young black lab who looked to be abused. The kittens were so tiny. I brought them back home with me because they would have died otherwise. LB loves to hunt or at least be outside. I'm not sure how good he is because he'll come in the house and inhale food. He loves zucchini. My raw recipe called for some veggies and zucchini was available from the Farmers Market. Although it's a summer squash, some store well. He ate part of my zucchini stash. ohmygod_smile

Willow came from a friend who got her from a couple who had to give her up. Turns out we know the husband (wife GA this spring :sad: ) and my DH got Willow's history. They got her as a tiny kitten and nicknamed her "Pig" because she stood in her food dish. She was very young when they found her. I expected that as she kneads my shoulder and drools on my shirts. She's a good hunter but I don't think she eats what she catches. Up until last year she would leave her kills on the porch or steps. Barry was thrilled with that. The chicken who had been eating them wasn't as thrilled. I don't think she's been doing as much hunting this year. She has a vet appointment Tuesday for her teeth and I'll have blood work done.

Scottie (and Becky - GA) were rescued from a family where the wife had asthma and ended up in the hospital with strict instructions that the cats must go. A coworker of mine was the sister and was afraid the husband would shoot the cats. I took Spotty and Blacky (yes, I changed their names to something more dignified) and my friend took the Persian. Both S & B were completely declawed. Scottie did a bit of hunting in her younger days but is content to snag something brought by another cat. She has kidney issues.

Barry's history and age are not known. But he had a rough life at some point. His teeth were so damaged that the vets could only make a guess. His ears had been frostbitten, one quite severely. He was taken to the shelter as a stray. He has such a great personality that I'm sure he must have lived with people at some point. He doesn't hunt but he loves to partake in whatever someone brings. He's OTJ since 10/23/09.

Paisley was an owner relinquish at a shelter downstate. She's an amazing hunter, although most of what I've seen her catch has been young and she doesn't play with it. I tried keeping her inside but she'd slip out so that says something about her history. If there was a mouse in her bedroom, which is possible, she would have no trouble catching or eating it.

We have a strict "no live prey in the house" rule which is routinely ignored. It's also getting cold and we've had mice move in around this time of year. They don't stay long.


"One cat just leads to another." Ernest Hemingway
 
Re: 10/30 Paisley PMPS/347

Not a bad day after the night Paisley gave you. I said yesterday that you are her angel. After reading about the rest of your crew I want to amend that a bit. You are an angel to many!!
 
Re: 10/30 Paisley PMPS/347

She's perked up. Had me a bit concerned but it's been a lazy day here so maybe that had something to do with it. She begged for my food. She's looked for flies, no luck. She did find a spot on the wall that could have been a fly. She's back to her normal self. Since that has been futile, she's laying on the bench watching the world outside (chickens running amuck) and watching cat traffic (where's Willow so I can pounce??? Barry's boring!)

And for your Halloween pleasure - Swamp Water Punch with Floating Arm of Death recipe.
http://bertc.com/subfive/recipes/swamp.htm

or try Ghoul-Ade Over Gopher Guts or Bloody Eyeballs on the Rocks. Bert has a nice collection of recipes. If you've lost your recipe for Haggis, not to worry. Bert has it.
 
Re: 10/30 Paisley PMPS/347, +2/370

All's quiet. Nap time. She slept through her test. Barely flinched.

Thanks Linda :oops:

How can I turn them away? That concept seriously doesn't exist or have logic in my brain. When someone says to let nature take its course, my reply is to remember that next time you need emergency care. What's the difference?

"There are two means of refuge from the miseries of life: music and cats." Albert Schweitzer
 
Re: 10/30 Paisley PMPS/347, +2/370, +4.5/292

Just hanging out. Listening to THE UPPER PENINSULA PARANORMAL RESEARCH SOCIETY’S Halloween investigation. Two of our local DJs are broadcasting live. My DH is back at the radio station keeping them on the air. I was in one of the houses that they later investigated. Interesting.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top