10/30 OlliverTwist AMPS 356 PMPS 401/+1-371/ +3 244

Status
Not open for further replies.

ecurie

Member Since 2012
AMPS 356
PMPS 401
+1 371
+3.25 244





Thank you very very much for all the good thoughts and information. I feel like i'm ready. . And once you're ready ..it never happens. so i'm good to go now.
xoxo to all

I hope all our east coasters are well, warm, and electric. take good care everyone. hug your kitties and each other.

Karen, i can't find you!!! hugs to you both!!!

mary and oliver




~O) ~O) Where's the blanket smiley? It's BRRRRRR
yesterday's condo
yesterday
PMPS 359
+3.5 258
AMPS 356


Good Brrrr morning
Oliver threw up his breakfast this morning. Poor little guy. He doesn't seem to have an upset tummy. Sat by his bowl until i gave him more breakfast and he ate it right up. Neg. Ketones, pee and poo.. got those jobs done. Sitting with his dad right now getting brushed.

I have some questions about traveling that are in yesterday condo if anyone has a chance to look at them. I'm wondering if there are some general guidelines i should follow while we are out of internet. I know you people have been as busy as little one armed paper hangers lately. Thanks for any advice.

I hope we hear good news from everyone who had to endure stupid old Sandy. Max.. get a good report! Prayers to all and GO GREEN!!!!
mary and oliver

mary,mark,oliver,greg and marble
 
Re: 10/30 OlliverTwist AMPS 356 with questions

Hi guys .. no traveling advice from me .. it's a job in itself to get mocha five minutes down the road to the vet :lol: Sorry to hear oliver threw up this morning .. maybe he ate to fast? Enjoy your brushings oliver! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 10/30 OlliverTwist AMPS 356 with questions

Morning Mary, sorry about Oliver's tummy. Every so often Maggie does an upchuck and then asks for more food. I hope Oliver will be okay.
Off hand, a good person to ask about traveling with Oliver would be Ella & Rusty, as she every so often travels with DH and Rusty to her camp or NYC. Hoping she sees your questions, or you could pm her and ask her to look in on your condo questions. Have a nice day.
 
Re: 10/30 OlliverTwist AMPS 356 with questions

I have no traveling advice, either. I hope that someone can come by very soon to help you. I also hope that OlliverTwist can give you better #s very soon (tomorrow ok. Olliver?). Have a good day!
 
Re: 10/30 OlliverTwist AMPS 356 with questions

No travel answers - that really is according to each individual animal I think. We traveled many thousands of miles with 2 cats and 2 dogs. DC (cat) LOVED to travel - when the motorhome appeared at curbside, he moved his perch to the window - he knew we were heading out soon. When KT arrived shortly after we lost DC, he began traveling with us...and didn't like it at all.

IF you end up with an emergency situation and can't get your rig there (DH holds a '3 million safe miler', mine is only '1 million safe'), stop at the nearest truck stop and find the nearest emergency vet. Let the employees there know what's happening, they usually will jump in and do what they can to help. You'll need a ride into the ER vet - the vet's office may have a suggestion of how to get to them quickly too. One of the employees may even take you there or call someone to help get you there.

Did you know that a diesel's rpm's are the same as a cat's purr? I could sleep like the dead with that truck running....

GOOD LUCK! I'd love to jump in with you and go......I miss it...
 
Re: 10/30 OlliverTwist AMPS 356 with questions

Morning, Mary

I'm so sorry we didn't get to your questions yesterday. It was very smart of you to give us a couple days :-D :-D :-D
ecurie's mary said:
1 Does it seem that Oliver's nadir seems to be between 3 and 5? this is the am cycle because we have almost no night time data.
2 Does it seem that he has almost no food spike? Does it seem he goes down fast at the beginning of his cycle?


I realize that “dealing with low numbers” is for BG in the 40s and 50s. But i'm wondering what to do with numbers in the 150s without being able to be in touch with FDMB.

4 since we are not really “data ready” to shoot low numbers and connection with FDMB will probably be sketchy
a ? if ollie is all of a sudden below 200 at AMPS/PMPS without having food for 3 or 4 hours should we
1. don't give him his shot until his next scheduled dose? Or
2. don't feed, wait 20, see if he is going up or down. If he's going up, give him his shot late?
1. If yes on giving shot late should it be the whole dose or reduced dose?

1. Yes...it does seem like that now but I want to encourage you to not get tied to a "nadir" time. It shifts and sometimes it can shift every single cycle. If he starts coming down and you think his nadir is early, but it's late that day, then whoa oh!! :-D Also, as he gets more to his fitting dose and has more insulin in him, you could see the nadir push later.
2. In order to know if he gets a food spike, you need a +1 :-D :-D That's the best number to determine if he's spiking from his food. I would encourage you to start getting a +1 here and there both morning and evening cycles so you can see if he does spike. That will be very, very important info for when he starts to come down. And I don't want to minimize the importance of the +2 because it is important. But while he's at high numbers, you might alternate a bit and see what he's doing at +1. It looks to me like he's diving a little more at night than during the day. Cats often go lower at night.
3. Did I miss a "3"? :lol: :lol:
4. I would make a binder and take it with me. It should have all the stickys but especially "Dealing with Low Preshots" and "Handling Low Numbers". Both are linked in my signature block.
4a. Our cutoff for new members shooting is 150. If he's above 150, unless he's dropping quickly, then you can shoot his regular dose but be sure you get a +1 and +2 when you shoot your lowest number ever.

If he is 150 or below, follow the "Dealing with Low Preshots". But basically, you have three options:
a. stall without feeding, testing every 15 mins to catch the rise and then shoot the full dose. Get a +1 and +2 to see where he's headed. See below on important info on the +2.
b. shoot a BCS (reduced dose) on time and get the +1 and +2
c. skip....whenever you are worried about shooting because you can't get a connection or you are out in the boonies, it's safest to skip on a lower number

A couple other things to tell you to keep in mind:
1. quite often if you stall, you'll see numbers continue to drop especially if he is clearing out a bounce. Once you have some data, and you get the 150 range of numbers, it's better to shoot the full dose without stalling so you can feed and the numbers can come up. But I'd rather see you shoot a reduced dose or skip if he's mid to low 100s if you can't get us on line.
2. if you shoot a reduced dose, still be vigilant! Because of the cumulative nature of lantus where one shot builds on the preceding, the cycle could look pretty similar to what it would look like if you had shot the full dose on time. The effects will generally be seen very late in the cycle or in the next cycle.

I don't know if anyone has shown you the "typical" lantus curve but it is below:+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

If the +2 is much more than the PS, it's likely to be a quiet cycle. If it is similar to the PS, it's likely to be a "typical" lantus cycle which means possibly active. If it is much less than the PS, it's likely to be a very active cycle with a possible early drop. Is this hard and fast? No...it's not. When Gracie was on lantus, about 50% of the time when her +2 was much less than the PS, she'd drop early and the rest she wouldn't. It's just a flag and helps you know when you should get in a few more early tests.

I hope this helps. I'm wondering...do you have an iPad and a cell phone you could use as a mobile hot spot so you could connect almost anywhere?
 
Re: 10/30 OlliverTwist AMPS 356 with questions

If you're that long, do you have a pilot traveling with you? If so, there's your 'emergency' vehicle...! If they don't want to help, just tell them NEXT time you'll hire someone else to pilot. Now I'll worry about you until you return... :roll:
 
Re: 10/30 OlliverTwist AMPS 356 with questions

Hi Mary-
Looks like Marje 'armed you' with lots of good advice. Hope you travel safely and post when you can. We'd love to hear how Ollie does! :smile:
Karen
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top