? 10/30 Mumf PMPS 331 stalling b/c not eating

MumfsFriend

Member Since 2021
I’m stalling because my sugar cat’s blood glucose is high but he hasn’t eaten all day after his breakfast because he’s been working on a hairball. He seems kind of weak and lethargic now because he’s been trying to sleep it off, I want to give them the 1.5 units anyway because of sugar is so high. Should I go for it?
 
You have about two hours to get him to eat. Can you assist feed if necessary? He does need insulin.
 
Well, he’s a feisty cat so I’m not sure about assisting. I did just get a few bites of boiled chicken into him. I will stall for a few more minutes and then hopefully he will have eaten a little bit more.
 
Never mind, he seems very nauseated, he just threw everything up again
I will be stalling some more


QUOTE="MumfsFriend, post: 2871084, member: 33636"]Well, he’s a feisty cat so I’m not sure about assisting. I did just get a few bites of boiled chicken into him. I will stall for a few more minutes and then hopefully he will have eaten a little bit more.[/QUOTE]
 
As long as you think he will eat in before the insulin kicks in I would shoot. Do you have Karo or honey just in case? Get another test before you decide as it will become your pmps.
 
Never mind, he seems very nauseated, he just threw everything up again
I will be stalling some more


QUOTE="MumfsFriend, post: 2871084, member: 33636"]Well, he’s a feisty cat so I’m not sure about assisting. I did just get a few bites of boiled chicken into him. I will stall for a few more minutes and then hopefully he will have eaten a little bit more.
[/QUOTE]
We cross posted. Did he throw up what he ate? Any history of ketones? Is this unusual for him to vomit?
 
I do have honey and some high carb food, but seeing how he just threw up every little bite of chicken, I am unsure whether he will eat later or not. I will test in a second, maybe give a reduced dose?

As long as you think he will eat in before the insulin kicks in I would shoot. Do you have Karo or honey just in case? Get another test before you decide as it will become your pmps.
 
How off schedule can you be? I’m reluctant to say shoot with the possibility he can’t hold down food. Do you have cerenia or ondansetron if needed?

Any history of dka or ketones?
 
No history of ketones, he was tested at the vet in late August and everything was fine. I just tested him and he’s at 246. He’s more alert now and following me around, he also just tried another bite of chicken. I can be off schedule, I am now 30 minutes off schedule and tomorrow I have the day off so it’s OK
There seems to be a furball stuck in his throat because he can’t keep the food down, he literally just hacks it back up

How off schedule can you be? I’m reluctant to say shoot with the possibility he can’t hold down food. Do you have cerenia or ondansetron if needed?

Any history of dka or ketones?
 
no, he hacked up a little bit of fur earlier today but now he just drops the food from his throat again, there really seems to be something stuck in there. It’s kind of a waiting game, I could give him a shot and just see if at some point he will hack up the rest of the fur but it seems risky
F[/QUOTE]
Great. Let’s see if he keeps it down. Any fur come up?
 
I would skip unless he’s able to keep food down before it gets too late to shoot. His bg might continue to come down without food.
 
i’m going to try to get him to drink some water and see if that might speed things up, so I’ll wait another 30 minutes, that will set me an hour behind, but no longer. Otherwise I’ll skip. Thank you so much for the help
 
Alright, I’m skipping the shot, he’ll probably pass this monstrous hair ball tonight and then we’ll continue as usual tomorrow. Gonna let him rest and cuddle :)
 
Back
Top