10/30 Gandolf PMPS 203 +1 261 +2 274

Status
Not open for further replies.

cmk77

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=28569
WCR: All P's Present.

Good Caturday Morning Everyone ~O)

Cold and frosty outside. What an interesting morning. We start the day in "Blue"! Gandolf is "himself", but not hungry.
One untouched meal and another half poked at meal (only those 2 anyway) left in the feeder. Each a full 1/3 of a 5.5oz. can. He did eat the 11:30 p.m. meal I put out for him (the other two are timed for 2:30am & 5:30 am; he's not had a problem eating from the feeder during early a.m. hours before so do not think that's the reason for not eating).

Plus, he's showing no hunger right now either. Is that due to the "Blue" much closer to "normal" number? Smoother body-operating system? Well... we like it. More like it use to be. We continue to proceed cautiously. Not really knowing what's going on. We've been in this area before and we are prepared to go low, but we still do not know it well.

Thanks ,Sienne, for the good counsel yesterday. And everyone for their encouragement. I think I had a "mind-shift"... maybe that's what's showing up in Gandolf. I KNOW he goes crazy for food when his numbers are high and I kept feeding him. He ate, and didn't gain weight. Now his numbers, his behavior are showing definite change...so I need to too. How nice if this turns out to be a direct path to...dare I say it?...green.

Peace on your journey today LL friends,

Cee & Gandolf cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 10/30 Gandolf AMPS 156 (2.75) +2 103

The more time that Gandolf spends in lower numbers, the more he's able to get glucose into his cells (vs. it floating around in his blood). That means he's metabolizing the food that you give him the way he's supposed to. He should be less hungry and need less food. Low numbers and maybe high numbers will still trigger a "healthy" appetite, though.
 
Re: 10/30 Gandolf AMPS 156 +2 103

Gandolf says, rather excitedly, "Hey Raja! Can you see me! I'm on the 1st floor - man, how cool is that! Yeah! Yeah! We wanna stay here and play!"

Yes! We're excited. We want to handle it more skillfully this time. He's turned his nose up at his recent favorite poultry based food. Gave him a little boiled chicken and he ate it but was not excited. Better than the canned I guess.

Also, I can tell he's feeling something in his body. He's paying attention to how he feels too. Anyway, 83 brought out the TUna & Egg flavored 40% carb Kitty Treats. 6-8 kibbles only (the size of the top of my little finger) plus he ate a s1/3 of a 5.50z can of 9-lives Tender Slices - with REAL beef in gravy. He consumed it. Guess he liked that. Pretty sure that will help slow his lowering numbers, am watching carefully.

Gotta go get some lancets. Well, this changes my plans for today. Thank God its Caturday! Hopefully, we'll go green surfing instead.

We'll stay near forum today as much as possible. Thanks everyone.

Cee & Gandolf cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 10/30 Gandolf AMPS 156 +2 103 + 3 83

Well..... Here's what I would have done. I'd have fed LC only and re-tested in 30 min. An 83 is a perfectly safe number.

What you fed, HC gravy AND dry at 40% I'm guessing is not only going to slow the drop, it's going to stop it dead in it's tracks and turn it in the opposite direction. How can we help you get more comfortable with green numbers?
 
Re: 10/30 Gandolf AMPS 156 +2 103 +3 83 +4 150

What a dramatic demonstration. So I certainly missed the wind for that surf. Shucks! I was thinking he was dropping quickly and wanted to slow that down. You're absolutely right, Sienne. I will do just what you stated our next chance. Don't know how this one will turn out. Hope his pancreas and liver are comfortable and happy. Will the carbs possibly prevent a big bounce? Time will tell. Is it possible it will taper off quicker and we get another chance sooner? Time will tell. I dare not even try to predict what may happen. Reprogramming my bean-logic right now. Major shifting going on.
How can you help me get comfortable with green numbers? Keep talking to me. It's 1 month and a day since we started this. As blue as I am around the gills, we feel we have learned so much. Only I regret that Gandolf's little kitty body has to put up with my stupid bean logic and lack of feeding and surfing skill-set. We will work on that.

In the meantime, I'll pull out only the "REAL Beef with gravy" next time.

Learning in Lantus Land,

Cee
 
Re: 10/30 Gandolf AMPS 156 +2 103 +3 83

Cee

You're doing great and I did the very same thing you did the first time Gracie dropped. How did I get more comfortable with lower numbers? TESTING more! And I learned what the carbs did to Gracie and you will learn with Gandolf. I can't give Gracie 18% carbs unless she is really low and it is a dab. If I had gotten an 83, I would have done the same as Sienne said (but wouldn't have a month ago when I was in your shoes). You have to look not only at the number but where in the cycle are you getting it. For instance, if I get an 83 early in the cycle, I'll feed LC and retest. If I get an 83 later in the cycle (like +5), I won't feed...I'll just watch her....if she's been going down slowly, I'll retest in 30 mins. If she's been falling down fast, I'll retest in 15. I know I still have some more comfort to get with low numbers but testing helps me.

Really super numbers today...don't worry...you'll feel more comfortable soon!
 
Re: 10/30 Gandolf AMPS 156 +2 103 +3 83 +4 150

cmk77 said:
Will the carbs possibly prevent a big bounce?
For some reason lots of people in LL now seem to have the idea that carbs will prevent a bounce. They won't, but I believe people get that impression because we have some of our bouncier kitties being fed higher carb food when they drop. For those cats, the reason that might help reduce their bounces is the fact that the high carb food is slowing down the speed of their drop (cats can bounce from fast drops just as much as they can bounce from low numbers). It's not necessary to do that for most kitties, but for some it is a technique that can eventually help them flatten out. Most cats will stop bouncing on their own once they get used to the lower numbers.

cmk77 said:
Only I regret that Gandolf's little kitty body has to put up with my stupid bean logic and lack of feeding and surfing skill-set. We will work on that.
Don't worry about that, we have all been there, and lots of us were far worse than you are. It's amazing Lucy survived her first months of my stumbling around. You're doing fine, don't worry.
 
Re: 10/30 Gandolf AMPS 156 +2 103 +3 83 +4 150

I couldn't agree more with what Marjorie and Libby said. I think there's this initial panic when you start seeing green numbers. The bean brain goes into sirens blaring and lights flashing mode and the knee jerk response is to reach for everything in the hypo kit. It's OK. Next time, take a deep breath before you do anything else. Think about whether you are getting a fast drop. (A drop from 250 to 83 is a fast drop; 103 to 83 -- not so much). Where are you in the cycle? If it's early, there's reason to think that the numbers will keep dropping. If the drop is from +1 to +2, chances are the momentum will keep building. If it's at +5 to +6, there's likely to be much less momentum.

The other aspect of green numbers is that you want green numbers. Green is good! It puts Gandolf in a range which promotes his pancreas to heal. It's also how he earns a dose reduction. So, the goal is green numbers. Lots of green numbers.

Like Marjorie pointed out, you are in control. In fact, you saw today that you can manipulate the curve with food. As long as you have a working meter and strips along with food, you are in charge. It does, however, take a couple of runs through these kinds of experiences to get comfortable and believe that you can handle the lows.
 
Re: 10/30 Gandolf AMPS 156 +2 103 +3 83 +4 150

Sienne and Gabby said:
Like Marjorie pointed out, you are in control. In fact, you saw today that you can manipulate the curve with food. As long as you have a working meter and strips along with food, you are in charge. It does, however, take a couple of runs through these kinds of experiences to get comfortable and believe that you can handle the lows.


Amen. You will have many opportunities to experiment a little w/Gandolf's blood gluscose. And the only way to really know what happens is to do exact what you did. Now ya know and will feel more comfortable the next time.

Believe me, your learning curve is much better than mine. You are doing a great job.

LUV THE 83....You are going green and will soon have an eco-kitty. :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top