10/30 Clare AMPS 292; PMPS 337

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgette and Clare

Member Since 2014
Good Morning, Lantus Land Neighbors!

Lots of healing wishes, hugs and skritches to the kitties and beans who need them today.

Yesterday's Strategy Condo

Today's News:

Raising Dose to 0.5

AMPS 292
+1.5 422
+5.5 354

PMPS 337
+2 319
+4 301


At the suggestion of Rhiannon, we tested Clare last night at +9 to see if anything different was happening than the bounce we suspected, that might result in the higher AMPS numbers we've been seeing.

Sure enough, at PMPS +9, Clare had come down to 270 from the 387 she was at when we went to bed at +4.

So I think that means that she might've cleared her bounce sooner but nadired (if that's the word) later in the evening so we missed it. And since her nadir was probably still high, we should've raised her dose sooner, too.

At least that's how I'm reading it now and I hope someone will correct me if I'm wrong about this!

With the thoughtful council from Rhiannon, Carla and Wendy, we agreed yesterday that Clare needs an increased dose, so we've moved her up to a straight 0.5 this morning. We'll do better at picking up some late night hours from here on out, and hopefully catch any of her bounce-clearings sooner. Sleep is overrated anyway. ;-)

We may need to raise her dose again and start giving her higher carb food, to make sure she's got the insulin she needs to keep her bouncing down, if it's possible to do that.

Have a great day, Everyone!

Georgette and Clare
 
Re: 10/30 Clare AMPS 292

I think that was a good idea too. Max goes lower at night and now I am learning can nadir at +7 or later during the day as well. Even a 329 at +2 is not guarantee he won't hit the 70's or lower in a few hours. Since he is a bouncy cat and so is Clare I think you are definitely are on the right track. I just wish I knew how to end the bouncing but I am totally unsuccessful there. Good luck with the dosecrease.
 
Re: 10/30 Clare AMPS 292

Good luck with the dosecrease. Hopefully you'll start to see some patterns and you won't have to test every night.
 
Thanks Elise and Carla,

This is just a slight increase but we'll stay on top of the nighttime numbers better and if she clears her bounce without going into the lower numbers, we'll know it sooner and raise her dose again.

We're talking about getting more aggressive with the insulin and food, raising her insulin and raising the carbs in her food to hopefully reduce her dives and bounces. But we're going to be gone a few days at the end of the week next week, and we don't want to start that until we're in a better place to monitor the long term effects of the strategy.

Clare is hanging in there. Once her numbers get into the lower 300's she seems to feel pretty good, so I feel better, too! cat_pet_icon

Have a great night,

Georgette and Clare
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top