10/30 China AMPS 301,+9 392,PMPS 365,+2.5 284,+6 224

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris & China (GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's condo

These numbers are totally out of character for China, so I want to get some opinions on going back up to .75 now instead of waiting the 6 cycles. The protocol says this:
If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose as soon as you see kitty's numbers trending upwards. You don't have to hold the reduced dose for a certain number of cycles before taking the dose right back up. The guidelines listed under the topic "Increasing the dose" do not apply to a failed reduction.

Opinions please on if I should go back up tonight, or get a new pair of patience pants
 
Re: 10/30 China AMPS 301,+3 382,+6 377

Hi guys .. no dosing advice from me, but I hope that china comes down to some lower levels soon! have a great day!
 
Re: 10/30 China AMPS 301,+3 382,+6 377

Nope you shouldn't "settle" a reduction. When it fails, get promptly back to the last good dose.

As for when a reduction has failed, you can let the *bounce* clear and see where they are.

If not enough green, then go back up.
 
Re: 10/30 China AMPS 301,+3 382,+6 377

I agree with Dale. If you don't see enough green when the bounce clears, then up you go. See where she is by PM but you might have to wait a cycle or two for this bounce.
 
Re: 10/30 China AMPS 301,+3 382,+6 377

Well the 300's aren't a bounce (unless she went WAY low early in the cycle at AMPS yesterday, but even if she did, she wouldn't stay in the 300's this long..she's been clearing bounces in 1 cycle), so I think it's back up to .75 tonight unless I hear other opinions that might explain this as anything BUT a failed reduction

She'd been doing so well too :cry:
 
Re: 10/30 China AMPS 301,+3 382,+6 377

She keeps dipping below 50 with the .75. It is confusing. I had a feeling this reduction would stick. confused_cat
 
Re: 10/30 China AMPS 301,+3 382,+6 377

Yes I would go back up.

This would actually be the second "bounce" since the reduction, a sign of failure.

Be aware when this high clears there may be extra downward momentum, so you might want to monitor and steer that either way.
 
Re: 10/30 China AMPS 301,+3 382,+6 377

Yeah I know Catherine..I was really hoping she'd do better this time too

I'm not sure where people are seeing a bounce unless you're thinking she's bouncing off the 52 yesterday, but even when she's been down in the 30's, she hasn't bounced this high and stayed there in a very long time. If she'd been at 300 at AMPS and then down into the 200's at +6, I might agree, but she just seems to be surfing the 300's and it's not at all her pattern. On 10/14 she dropped to 31 and only bounced to 255 and them came right back down

Then again, China has always loved to confuse the heck out of me
 
Re: 10/30 China AMPS 301,+3 382,+6 377

That's why I used quotes. They can "bounce" off of more than just a low number, fast swing, or standard liver panic.

New Dose Wonkiness is much like a bounce, only it may clear faster. Of course there is never NDW on a reduction. And there are other mysterious swings and spikes.
 
Re: 10/30 China AMPS 301,+3 382,+6 377

Sorry to hear about China's numbers going up.
Have you tried removing all high-carb food (including removing gravy for low numbers)? China's liver is probably working fine since she doesn't seem to have any other health issues. With a functional liver and all this experience under your belt, you can try raising blood sugar with regular low-carb (or zero carb) food. A cat's liver turns protein into glucose and it will raise the blood sugar on its own. Mr.Cat started having very steady numbers since I completely removed all high-carb food (no matter what his BG was!). He's been down in the 40's and if I give him zero-carb food to raise his BG, it works great!
Give it a try when China is somewhere fairly safe like the 60's and see if her liver kicks in to raise the BG (takes about an hour). Removing the high-carb foods also prevents the pancreas from freaking out with a sudden influx of carbs and it may prevent those super-high numbers (not for all cats but it worked for mine).
As for the dose increase, I think you would be safe to go back to .75. It is possible that the .5 reduction just didn't hold (yet! We are always hopeful).
Best of luck! :-D


NOTE: The aforementioned high-protein solution is not good for newbies who might overdose insulin or for cats who tend to hypo regularly. My suggestion is only for experienced caregivers who know their cats and can monitor regularly.
 
Re: 10/30 China AMPS 301,+3 382,+6 377

Good point Dale...Now I also remember that last night she dropped from 318 to 210 so that was a pretty quick drop and might have triggered the 300's today, but the fact she's not going down quickly (like she usually does) means that the .5 isn't enough for her

Is that how you understand it too?
 
Re: 10/30 China AMPS 301,+3 382,+6 377

Yes when the dose is good, the "bounces" usually clear faster.

Looks like a typical failed reduction to me.
 
Re: 10/30 China AMPS 301,+3 382,+6 377

There's no high carb food in the house Jess. (other than the few cans of Gravy Lovers for when she drops into the 20's, 30's and low 40's) so I think this is just another failed reduction. She's failed almost all her reductions so it's not a big surprise

At +9 she's at 392, so approaching the 400's, so tonight she'll be getting .75
 
Re: 10/30 China AMPS 301,+3 382,+6 377,+9 392

Good luck with the dosecrease tonight. I hope it brings China back to those nice green surfs.
 
Re: 10/30 China AMPS 301,+3 382,+6 377,+9 392

Maybe it's a bit of a case of what you posted in Papaya's condo yesterday . . . definitely is her philosophy . . .

Chris & China said:
You do remember the handbook don't you? You must never allow your bean to know what your next move is!! :lol:

I hope you find a good dose!
 
Re: 10/30 China AMPS 301,+3 382,+6 377,+9 392,PMPS 365

Aw Chris. I'm frustrated for you. I did try to ask China to be a good girl for you, but I don't think she's been reading my posts :? I am sending you sanity vines :lol: Good luck with the dose change, I'm rooting for you guys :-D :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10/30 China AMPS 301,+3 382,+6 377,+9 392,PMPS 365

Thanks for all the visits today everyone!!

Went with the .75 tonight so we'll see how she does. Hopefully we won't end right back up to 1 unit (which seems to be her favorite dose so far)

I know Kim...I tried to get her to read the protocol too...she may need glasses :lol:


At +2.5, we're back in the yellows! That's better than where we were going!
 
Yeah!! Down to 242!! We're finally out of those stinky pinkys!!....on to mellow yellows, soon to be followed by blissful blues and finally, gracious greens

Looking forward to her AMPS numbers now since I have to be gone all day. I'd take her with me but she REALLY doesn't like riding in the car..so hopefully, she'll surf safely for her mamabean, while I'm off with my mamabean
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top