10/30 Buster AMPS 267, +5 255, PMPS 130, +2.5 167

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tara & Buster

Member Since 2012
Ok, now I'm starting to get discouraged :sad: He has dropped into the lower numbers on this dose (.75) but he isn't really staying there. Wait a few more cycles or should I maybe try a slight increase? Say to .85? I have calipers so I could do a weird dose consistently.

Things that have recently changed:
Treats - tried some salmon jerky and some bonita flakes yesterday. He didn't like either one, so he didn't get much
Food - same brand & flavors (Wellness turkey & chicken) but I ordered a couple of cases online, rather than getting them from the pet store. They seem to have a bit more jelly to them, but otherwise ok
This morning he is scratching at his chin. I'm wondering if he got a little bug bite. Otherwise no physical issues - he's hunting and napping and being a cat.

Sending drying vines to all on the east coast. Hope beans, furries and homesteads are safe and sound! :YMHUG:

Previous Condo
 
Re: 10/30 Buster AMPS 267 - dose question for PMPS?

Hi guys .. no dosing advice from me .. Does buster eat out of a ceramic or metal dish? If he eats out of plastic, that might be irritating his chin .. We've noticed with mocha when we have to use her feeder for a day, we come home and she is scratching all over her face .. Hope buster comes down for you .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 10/30 Buster AMPS 267 - dose question for PMPS?

Interesting point with the plastic dish. I did just pick up some cheapies from El Target because they were exactly the perfect shape. Buster likes to push his food out and over the edges sometimes. I have found it helps if I add just the right amount of water but sometimes he's a little piggy! I'll switch back for a bit and see if it helps. Thanks!
 
Re: 10/30 Buster AMPS 267 - dose question for PMPS?

See how today goes before you decide....see if he comes down and how far. If he gets into green, I'd give him a few more cycles.

As much as you test, I'd be tempted to take him up if he does not come down today and I'd also be tempted to take him up to 1u. It might just take a cycle or so to get him going but it might help with the bounces. However, it means you are going to have to be super vigilant.

If you are more comfortable adding a little fat to the dose, that's ok but often with a newly diagnosed cat, it's better to just go up the .25u, monitor, and take him back down when he goes below 50. BUT...some cats respond a little slower. So you wouldn't be wrong if you want to hold the dose a little longer and see what he will do with more depot building. I am only making the suggestion on increasing by .25u because you DO monitor closely. You won't be able to slack off on it and will probably have to test more.
 
Re: 10/30 Buster AMPS 267, +5 255

So far nothing magical is happening today. :YMSIGH: I think I will hold on to the .75u dose one more day or so. That way if drama ensues with a .25u increase it will be towards the end of the week. I have next week off from work. No big plans, just need to use the vacation time before I lose it. If I can keep the drama to the weekend-ish I might be able to enjoy it! Of course, our kitties are never that predictable... :lol:
 
Re: 10/30 Buster AMPS 267, +5 255, PMPS 130

And the plot thickens! Although it's not a greenie - it's a pretty significant drop. I have to meet some friends for dinner - going to leave out a meatcicle and not stay out too late. Will test again around +2.5 or 3 at the latest.
 
Re: 10/30 Buster AMPS 267, +5 255, PMPS 130

My civvie cat developed chin acne when we changed her food.. Turns out she is allergic to fish.. We stopped that food and the acne went away... Could it be the food?
 
Re: 10/30 Buster AMPS 267, +5 255, PMPS 130

Just got home from a nice dinner - checked Buster and he's at 167 after chowing down on a meatcicle. Not stressful, but at least in the blues which makes me happy. My vet called this evening to check on him, and also a senior drooler I'm dealing with. It was nice. She had actually been watching my spreadsheet! Probably a relief to her that I can handle this with y'all supporting me, as I really can't imagine being a vet and trying to manage this "remotely" if you will. That would be a really tough thing to do. Although I feel they should be more educated on the subject, I really don't see how we can expect them to be successful unless the client takes matters into their own hands. Relying on a vet is just crazy now that I understand what all is involved.

And so...the journey continues...let's see what tomorrow has in store! Or, the next few hours, for that matter...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top