10/30 Blue AMPS 78 +4 69 +8 73 PMPS 80 +2 71 +9 63 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

10/30 Blue AMPS 78 +4 69 +8 73 PMPS 80 +2 71 +9 63

He's looking great! Will you reduce him after a week on this current dose?

I think I'm supposed to do it in his next PM shot, but I'm undecided yet.

We had the PM shot 2h later today (we were away for a few hours around his shooting time) and now I want to get back on track. I'll probably do it in 30 min increments rather than 15, since we're away this evening again before we would have to shoot him.

I also might be away most of the day after I reduce, so I won't be able to monitor his numbers much, I'm just wondering how high (can't believe that film came out 24 years ago) he might get.

But maybe the overlap with the reduced doze might be a better decision.
 
You noticing any behaviour changes with Blue in these lovely numbers?

He drinks almost no water after switching him to wet food mixed with water. He also pees a little less, and in smaller quantities.
He's back to having those energy surges where he parkours and hits everything around the house.
He no longer sleeps behind the couch but he uses his usual pre DM spots.
He cleans himself a lot. Maybe a lot more than before. After every meal and in between. Makes it difficult for any ointment to survive on his ears.
His neuropathy is maybe 70-80% better. I did give him some B12 before, but I can't find it anymore. All the others I find have either fructose or xylitol.
He's got back his mood to play and run, so we need to take care of that.

But what I don't get is the fact that he's still pretty hungry all the time. He eats about 50% more than I see recommended for his current weight and he doesn't seem to gain anything. This also transforms him into this little hangry monster during the night which after one of his parkour sessions starts yelling for food like he's going to die, and even though we have gotten an automatic feeder he has no schedule really so it makes not much of a difference. I did try to get him on a schedule but failed miserably. He had always been free fed.
 
Last edited:
If you are going to be getting back to shot time in 30 minutes increases, I'd definitely reduce his dose at the end of the 7 days. Shooting early can act like a dose increase, which he does not need.

It does sound like Blue has a LOT more energy now! Have you ever tried treat balls with him? Freeze dried meat treats inside of course.
 
If you are going to be getting back to shot time in 30 minutes increases, I'd definitely reduce his dose at the end of the 7 days. Shooting early can act like a dose increase, which he does not need.
That is my thinking as well, yes, I'll reduce it this PM.

It does sound like Blue has a LOT more energy now! Have you ever tried treat balls with him? Freeze dried meat treats inside of course.
I have not, no, and living in an apartment building I tend to get toys which aren't very noisy. He's noisy enough as it is when he gets into one of his energy surges at 4AM.
 
Back
Top