10/30 Bast AMPS 219 +5 65 +6 65 +7 114 +10 250!Pmps 277

Status
Not open for further replies.

Misty&Bast

Member Since 2012
yesterday :
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=82141&p=884481#p884481

yesterday we had an emergency and his shot scedule was off an hour. At his normal time today for his AMPS it was 145 (this was really +11 from last night)

I decided to let him eat a little (he is hungry and am tring to get him used to eating in the morning) and retest in a half hour. If it isn't over 200 should I just give a half dose?

Thank you for your help- It is my first week and I am very nervous
 
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 145! Now what?

No more food. :-D :-D We don't feed while stalling unless they are in the 40s. Feeding will raise his BG but then you are shooting a false number. We needed to stall to see if he was still coming down or going up on his own.

Can you please read the "Dealing with Low Preshots" linked in my signature and then post when you get the next number. The 145 won't be his AMPS; it's his +11 and actually should have gone on yesterday's condo.

Don't be nervous. We'll help you through it. Let's take one step at a time. How much did you feed him and was it LC? How long ago exactly? Just let me know where he is on your next test ok? Thank you!
 
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 145! Now what?

The most you want to alter Bast's shot time is by 30 min. You can move the shot twice by 15 min. or once in a 30 min. increment.

If you are looking to see if the pre-shot tests are rising numbers, you don't want to feed. Food can bump numbers up and give you an artificially inflated pre-shot.
 
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 145! Now what?

That's alot of food. Some cats will get a food spike off a tsp (like my Gracie). But that's just info for you. Just let us know what his number is and we'll deal with it, ok? No worries!! :-D
 
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 145! Now what?

I just wanted to pop in and say hello and welcome to LL. As "newbies" we all have that nervousness believe me but I can tell you from experience you are in GREAT hands with Marje and Sienne. Follow their instructions and you'll do great and so will Bast. Again welcome and have a great day. :-D
 
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 145! Now what?

ok 191 and it is the same time he got his shot yesterday so AMPS 191

yesterday there was an emergency and rather than shooting blind I waited an hour

I was looking at the bowl and it was less food than that. and it was watered down
 
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 145! Now what?

Are you able to stall just a bit longer? Retest in 30 mins? That would just put you at +12.5. I'd like to see if he's coming up on his own or if the food will start wearing off and he's coming down. I can't stay with you but for a few more hours and I dont' want you to shoot a food spike.

Also, could you please change the subject line: +11 145 +12 191

Thanks, Misty.
 
Re: 10/30 Bast +11 145 +12 AMPS 191

Thanks for your help
I am off work today so I can retest- his ears are being a turnip this morning though!

I haven't seen this low a number to start so I am just at a loss. Just a few days ago he was HI in the morning!
 
Re: 10/30 Bast +11 145 +12 AMPS 191

Oops...sorry...can you take the "AMPS" out? AMPS indicates you've shot. You haven't right? I know it's stressful. It's ok...really.

While I think it is fine for you to shoot, since it's your lowest number, I just want to be sure it's not a spike. Doing ok?
 
Re: 10/30 Bast +11 145 +12 191

hmm- okay... me or the cat? LOL
the cat is fine he doesn't seem to notice he is sick at all. "Why does mom keep waking me up to fuss with my ears?"

me?- not so good. I have had nausea all week and a low grade fever + sore throat. i can't get any sleep and I am stressed so much my face broke out and I broke a coldsore (my major stress indicator). Tomarrow I have to work so I want to get him as on track as i can. My SO it teriffied of all this and keeps putting off "learning" so I am doing everything my self. That is why it helps so much you all are here for me and my kitty . Thanks!

Off to bug his ear again!
 
Re: 10/30 Bast +11 145 +12 191

I am sorry you've been ill and the reason I asked is because he might keep you pretty busy today. Are you up for it?

Also, I'm not able to stay with you and that has to factor into you shooting. There are other members around but I don't know who is available to help you with any low numbers. There is a link to "Handling Low Numbers" in my signature block which can help you. Usually we like someone to be with you when you shoot your lowest number but I have appointments.

I can try to find Jane and see if she can help for a bit but she's in S. Africa which means she will be going to bed in several hours.
 
Re: 10/30 Bast +11 145 +12 191 +12.5 219

ok we are back up to 219 at 12.5 which is alot better.

I figure feed him now then shot and test lots today
 
Re: 10/30 Bast +11 145 +12 191 +12.5 219

Ok...it's been a while since he ate. Go ahead and shoot full dose IF you are physically up to testing him today. He might come back down.

Recap:
+11 145 2 tbsp LC
+12 191
+12.5 219

Is all that correct?
 
Re: 10/30 Bast +11 145 +12 191 +12.5 219

my computer is reposting 2-3 times and I can't seem to delete them- LOL
 
Re: 10/30 Bast +11 145 +12 191 +12.5 219

See my post before yours....we cross posted.

Once you shoot, please feed and then get a +1 and +2.
 
Re: 10/30 Bast +11 145 +12 191 +12.5 219

thanks do much I got it!
You are a blessing to newbies!

I WILL learn this and get it all together!
 
Re: 10/30 Bast +11 145 +12 191 +12.5 219

Thank you. I'm so very sorry I can't stay with you today but I know you will stay on top of his testing. If he starts back down and you need help...just post and ask for it. There is usually someone around who can help but you can fall back on the link I referenced.

I hope you feel better. Take care and I'll check back when I get done with my appts.

It's a steep learning curve but you are doing great. Just print the stickys and read and reread them. It really helps.

Now that you've shot, you can change the subject to 10/30 Bast AMPS 219.

Good luck. Feel better.
 
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 219.

Misty

Just about out the door and I remembered I need to tell you how to get back on the right shot time. Since you shot 30 mins late today from when you shot yesterday morning, then you can either shoot 15 mins early tonight and 15 mins early tomorrow morning to put you back on track or shoot 30 mins early tomorrow morning to get back on track.

However, if you need to back the time up more because you shot late yesterday morning, we'll have to work on that and I don't have time right now to figure that out. Just let me know...send me a PM and i"ll put it on your condo later today. OK?
 
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 219 +1.25 151

Hi Misty,
I think I've caught up to today's excitement. Good on the test at +1.25. Can you get another one at maybe +2.5? I'll check back soon.

Carl
 
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 219 +1.25 151 +2.5 81

Sorry, I had to be away longer than I wanted to be. Please test again as soon as you see this? Do you have some medium or high carb canned food in the house? Something with gravy? Depending on the next number, we'll figure out what might make sense to feed to slow down the drop.

Carl
 
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 219 +1.25 151 +2.5 81

how much do i give him? I started with about 3 tablespoons knowing he will suck all the gravy first and leave the chunks so he will get about a tbsp
 
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 219 +1.25 151 +2.5 81

OK, 46 and this is about +3.5?

Carl
 
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 219 +1.25 151 +2.5 81

Misty,
Try for now to just give him the gravy. You don't want a full tummy in case you need to give more in a few more minutes.

Let him lap up the gravy and munch just a bit of the solids, and test again in 20 minutes?

You have any karo or honey? Not yet, but just in case?

Carl
 
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 219 +1.25 151 +2.5 81

OK, test in 20 minutes, and post the number. I'll be here and so are others.

46 is still okay, it's just happening "earlier" than would be ideal. So you might have to nurse the numbers up. We don't want them going lower.

And that 46 means he gets less insulin going forward.

Carl
 
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 219 +1.25 151 +2.5 81

he is so happy- LOL he loves the gravy pouches of food- he is playing with his mouse and licking the empty bowl.
He truely doesn't act sick
 
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 219 +1.25 151 +2.5 81

Misty,
He doesn't know he's sick. :smile: He does know he's feeling better lately, and he's getting lots of love and attention, so he's pretty much loving his life right now!
Carl
 
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 219 +1.25 151 +2.5 81

AMPS 219
+1.25 151
+2.5 81
+3.5 46 fed HC gravy food
(almost)
+4 51 fed little more gravy food
 
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 219 +1.25 151 +2.5 81

OK good, holding steady. We call that "surfing" and ideally, he'll hang out in the 50s for a couple hours or more. You can give another spoonful of gravy if he wants it. And you can give him 30 minutes till you poke his ear again. :-D
One thing to keep in mind. It can take 30 minutes for the food to push up the numbers. When you get below 50, every 20 minutes is a good idea because you're checking for a further drop. And karo seems to show up in 20 minutes or less. A lot of times if you're using "food" even gravy, it might not show up in 20 minutes.
Another thing to look at is how he's acting, how his eyes look (drunk?), how he walks. If you see something odd, grab the meter immediately and have the karo ready. Many cats go into the 40s and the only way you know is from your meter - they don't display "hypo symptoms", so your meter is your best friend at that time.
You doing okay?
Carl
 
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 219 +1.25 151 +2.5 81

Bast isn't "sick." He has diabetes. You're the one who's been sick!!

That drop into the 40s means a dose reduction. Normally, given that you shot a "skinny" dose this AM I'd suggest that you hold the skinny 1.0u. However, given that you're under the weather and that drop meant business, I'm thinking you should reduce the dose to 0.75u for the PM shot.

BTW, it is very helpful to those of us who scan the board looking to see if anyone needs help if you keep your subject line up to date with your most recent numbers.
 
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 219 +1.25 151 +2.5 81

he doesn't show any symptoms at all! I just got out of the shower before all this happened so i have been running around naked/robe! LOL enough to scare anyone into Hypo! :lol:

the only new thing today is one ear is not giving blood and the other is gushing. wierd.

He is just being annoyed with me for putting him in the bathroom again. (only place i can corral him by myself) but he is happy with the "goodie food".
ok- test in another 15 and chocolate bar for me!
 
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 219 +1.25 151 +2.5 81 +3.5 46 +4 51

that does is going to be a mess- I only have 1 unit syringes right now- the 1/2 u ones have not come yet. maybe i can send my SO after work to the pharmacy for them.
 
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 219 +1.25 151 +2.5 81 +3.5 46 +4 51

Can you eyeball this based on the edge of the plunger and the 1.0 mark?
 

Attachments

  • .75u.jpg
    .75u.jpg
    5.3 KB · Views: 740
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 219 +1.25 151 +2.5 81 +3.5 46 +4 51+4.5

Ok, great on the 61. If you want, you can give him a spoonful of his regular food. I think that should keep him in this range, and it'll stick around longer than the gravy style. Test at +5?

You're doing terrific, Misty!

Carl
 
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 219 +1.25 151 +2.5 81 +3.5 46 +4 51+4.5

lol now i need more test strips too. never thought i would go through a whole bottle in one week. I have one more but i have a back up meter with more strips
 
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 219 +1.25 151 +2.5 81 +3.5 46 +4 51+4.5

My bad, Misty. One of the 1st questions I should have asked is "how you doing for strips?" :lol:
If you can test at +5, then I think another test at +6. If you see a higher number at +5, you can see how he does without more food for that hour in between. If he stays in the 60-70 range, you can probably both take a break. ;-)
 
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 219 +1.25 151 +2.5 81 +3.5 46 +4 51+4.5

Until you get the half unit syringes, you can eyeball like Carl said. Also you could draw up one unit, squeeze out the drops one at a time, counting them, Then draw the dose again and count out half the number of drops.
 
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 219 +3.5 46 +4 51+4.5 61 +5 65

+5 65
i used all my strips for my recin prime but I have a back up meter and a unopened box of strips in my kitty kit.
I was going to get more strips tonight but i can use the back up strips
 
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 219 +3.5 46 +4 51+4.5 61 +5 65

Ann- i think i read about drops- you fill to 1 unit with water and count drops as you squeeze it out.
then you know how many to drip out to get smaller doses- am i right?

I put down a few tablespoons of samon special kitty for him- he likes the fish and I think its the only one from walmart he will eat- LOL
 
Re: 10/30 Bast AMPS 219 +3.5 46 +4 51+4.5 61 +5 65

I will get a test at +6 and if its good - pick up my other half from work bring him home to kitty sit -and then maybe go out at +7 or 8 for a quick trip to the pharmacy.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top