10/30&31/10 Chigga AM~170 +4~146 PM~194, AM~191

Status
Not open for further replies.

Erica & Chigga (ChiggaButt)

Member Since 2010
Hello all!

Last post:

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=27874

So Chigga didn't hold the 1.25 dose decrease so I had to bump her up to the last good one of 1.5 and it seems her numbers are higher. It's been a week on the 1.5u and she had some greens 2 days ago so I don't want to go back up to 1.75 just yet. I'm at work right now and hope to be home soon so I can get some more numbers. I think I may need new insulin, but I'm not sure. Any suggestions on the dose? Keep it at 1.5? I'm pretty frustrated though she's been nothing but purrs and cuddles which makes me happy.

Thanks!
 
Hi Erica

just wondering if there's any numbers from last nite.
any free day in the near future for a curve?
and how old is your current insulin?
 
It's hard to tell what's going on with regard to dose without more spot checks. The numbers in the blues are very good. You might want to look at this post from Libby about dose adjustments.

I do think you missed a dose reduction on 10/18. I will shoot low but I won't shoot numbers in the 40s. Please read the protocol carefully -- and please post if you have a low pre-shot number and we can offer some suggestions as to how to proceed and keep Chigga safe. Generally, you don't want your cat surfing in the 40s. It's better to have her surf in the 50s and above. If you have numbers below 50, it's helpful to test and give small amounts of HC food every 30 min. so you can avoid the 30s.
 
nadir checks needed before thinking about a dose adjustment! :-D
chigga threw those beautiful greens and then there's only been one nadir check since then. that mid-cycle spot check was only 146... which could have very well been a bounce from the greens.
 
So I did some more spot checking yesterday once I got home from work. So her AMPS yesterday was 191 then this is how it went from there:

+5~90
+6~94
+7~89
+8~100
PMPS~ 174
+5~ 92 (before bed shot)
Today's AMPS~ 184

And in regards to shooting in the 40's I felt like such an idiot once I realized what a horrible idea that was and learned my lesson that day for sure!

This Saturday will be when I can do a full curve unless I do one at night and skip the sleep, which is possible to do, so perhaps I should do it before Saturday? Also the insulin will be 3 months old this Friday - should I go ahead and get a new vile? There aren't any floaties but I want to make sure she's getting the good stuff and when I asked the pharmacist she said only 28 days is the insulin good, so I'm not sure.

So my questions are:

Is it okay to take a curve on Saturday if I can get some spot checks this week?
Should I go ahead and get new insulin?
Should I keep her at 1.5 units?

Okay, I think I covered everything...I think.
 
Erica...maybe start a new condo for Chigga today...and yes, I would say you should get new insulin...
Definitely a curve for Saturday yes! :razz:
Not sure what others will say about the dose, but keep on getting those spot checks in Erica! :razz:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top