10/30/2021 Biscuits amps 394 +3 373 need help with dosage

Status
Not open for further replies.

cyndibalz

Member Since 2019
Do I need to increase his dose of Vetsulin? If so how much? Should I switch him to Lantus next week?

He still isnt eating well. Still drinking fine. Hasnt pooped in 3 days. Picked up some Laxaire from the vet earlier to hopefully get the ball rolling. He is also taking 10cc methylcobalamin once a day until the Zobaline gets here to help with his neuropathy.

Not sure if the laxative will/can make his numbers go up??

Im at a loss and getting really down over this. Ive read that being constipated can cause their numbers to go up and make them not want to eat. Im really hoping thats whats going on and once he can finally go he will feel a little better. He is peeing fine thankfully.
 
Last edited:
I'm not sure how you're approaching dosing. Have you taken a look at the dosing information on Vetsulin? You want to hold doses for a week.

The laxative doesn't contain anything that should have an influence on Biscuit's numbers. Many people here use Miralax, so that may be another option. If the laxative your vet suggested doesn't work, your kitty may need a trip to the vet for an enema.

As far as switching to Lantus, Vetsulin is not recommended by the American Animal Hospital Assn for the treatment of feline diabetes. However, it is more expensive than Vetsulin. Semglee, is a biosimilar (i.e., generic) form of glargine that is much cheaper.
 
I'm not sure how you're approaching dosing. Have you taken a look at the dosing information on Vetsulin? You want to hold doses for a week.

The laxative doesn't contain anything that should have an influence on Biscuit's numbers. Many people here use Miralax, so that may be another option. If the laxative your vet suggested doesn't work, your kitty may need a trip to the vet for an enema.

As far as switching to Lantus, Vetsulin is not recommended by the American Animal Hospital Assn for the treatment of feline diabetes. However, it is more expensive than Vetsulin. Semglee, is a biosimilar (i.e., generic) form of glargine that is much cheaper.
 
I feel terrible. I have read that.... Ive been so distracted/stressed/exhausted this past week that I totally forgot. Would you suggest holding steady at 2 units (thats what his dr prescribed) then for a week unless he dips below 90 (if I remember right thats the number that warrents a slight decrease)
 
That's correct -- hold the dose for a week unless numbers drop below 90 in which case you reduce the dose by 0.25u.
Thank you. I feel terrible for doing it wrong. I was scared to jump right in to the 2 unit dose because he wasnt eating well at all. He still isnt eating the best but better than he was before starting Methly-b12.
Would you suggest contacting the dr about switching to Lantus if he doesent seem to be improving after a week holding steady at 2 units? He was on Vetsulin before and was able to go into remission after a little over 2 months.
 
I am probably not the best person to ask. I was a Lantus user. We tend to see a lot of cats go into remission with Lantus. Others, like yourself, have had good luck with Vetsulin. My hesitation with Vetsulin is that it can be harsh and cause numbers to drop hard and fast and doesn't have the long duration that Lantus has. You haven't given Vetsulin much of a chance this time around. I truly think it's your call.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top