10.30.13,Shadow,AMBG 77,PMBG 81, +5 93

Status
Not open for further replies.

Steven & Shadow

Member Since 2013
After getting a 123 last night four hours after a shot, I thought I might have gave him a fur shot or just maybe got too cute with the dose in the syringe and gave him nothing or close to it. This morning at AMPS it is 77. I am going to give him another test in 30 minutes and decide what to do then.

Five P's are all good.

Yesterdays's Condo: posting.php?mode=edit&f=9&p=1135527
 
Re: 10.30.13,Shadow,AMPS 77

We haven't had a chance to stop by and welcome you. Nice AMPS for Shadow today. Surf safely. Have a great day Steven!
 
Re: 10.30.13,Shadow,AMPS 77,+1 75

10.29.13, Shadow, PMPS 100, +4 123

10.30.13, Shadow, AMPS 77, +1 75...+1 is really +0.7

This appears to be borderline as to whether to give him a shot. I am leaning toward not giving him a shot as I have to leave at +3.5 and will not be back until +7 at best. Any input here is appreciated.

P.S. The data is starting to look like Shadow doesn't adhere to the 12/12 convention. Maybe 18/18? I will need more data before I go there.

p.S.S. I decided at AM+1 to not give him a shot this morning since I cannot be here at the nadir.
 
Re: 10.30.13,Shadow,AMBG 77,+0.7 75

Hi guys .. nice numbers this morning shadow! Sometimes it is better to be safe then sorry .. numbers are looking good and shadow should recover from a missed shot easily .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 10.30.13,Shadow,AMBG 77,+0.7 75

Morning Steven. Tough call but I am sure skipping will be okay.
One thing to remember is at these tiny doses they tend to not have such big drops. You possibly could have given a 1 drop (BCS) dose as an option for instance.
Shadow is on such a roll...you hate to jinx but of course safety is always the most important thing and you have to do what you are comfortable with.
Many shoot the 70's, especially on micro doses, BUT you have to get comfortable and know your kitty. You may get faced with this more as he seems to be rather determined and have serious momentum. Probably no biggie either way. Skipping yesterday AM hardly made a blip.
A reminder that if you add 'dosing question'..or 'need some quick advice'...something like that in your subject line..then you may get quicker eyes from someone quickly scanning the board. Sorry you had to punt.

You're doing a great job and he is doing amazingly well. Don't think you may have to worry too much about your job 70 miles out of town. Shadow seems fairly determined to not hang around long. Paws crossed. (anti-jinx)
 
Re: 10.30.13,Shadow,AMBG 77,+1 75,+8 64,

I just tested Shadow at AM+8 and his BG level dropped a little from AM +1 even without a shot and also eating half a can of food this morning. This result justifies my hesitance to give him insulin this morning. I have no experience with giving a "drop" and I won't do that if I can't be around to follow up with a test at +3, etc. at least the first time so I have an idea how he will react to it.

His energy level seems to be up from where it has been, which was his normal. He is alert and running around a bit which is something he hasn't been doing much of in his golden years.

So far so good.
 
Re: 10.30.13,Shadow,AMBG 77,PMPS 81...Advice Requested

I just gave Shadow his PMPS test and his BG level is essentially unchanged since this morning. I have a business meeting from PM+1 until about PM+4 and will have to be away from the house. I am leaning toward a no shot as I will be able to monitor him better tomorrow if his BG remains low.

The other thing is 0.25 every twelve hours does not seem to be the number. How do I give him less? I've heard .1, drops, drop. A few pointers please.
 
Re: 10.30.13,Shadow,AMBG 77,PMPS 81...Advice Requested

What time is your shot due? Let's see who is around for advice.
just seeing this.

This will also bump you up.
 
Re: 10.30.13,Shadow,AMBG 77,PMPS 81...Advice Requested

The shot is due 15 minutes ago. I have to be gone tonight for three or four hours so I feel, given his low numbers, I have to do the safe thing and do a no shot tonight. I will test tonight before I retire and start over in the morning. Any advice or pointers on how to give him even less than 0.25 will be appreciated
 
Re: 10.30.13,Shadow,AMBG 77,PMPS 81...Advice Requested

Skipping is likely the only sane option tonight.

In the morning perhaps you can try 0.1U (one drop) in a renewed attempt to find a dose you can shoot every 12 hours.

01unit-1.jpg


These numbers are actually very good news! :thumbup
 
Re: 10.30.13,Shadow,AMBG 77,PMPS 81...Advice Requested

Here is .10.

file.php




I did send a PM out so standby for more wisdom hopefully soon. sounds like you are already running behind...



ETA: It is not so much that it is exact or everyone even measures the same. You want to gauge it best you can then stay consistent with your own version of .10.
Some folks will use the drop method. You can measure a .25 then practice squeezing drops out to see how many drops in each, then deduct from there. How many drops in YOUR .25?...subtract a drop or more from that. I actually went from .10 to a drop before we got off.
 
Re: 10.30.13,Shadow,AMBG 77,PMPS 81...Advice Requested

whoops...while I was writing Dale must have been posting....
so now you have it twice loud and clear!!!! :lol:
 
Re: 10.30.13,Shadow,AMBG 77,PMPS 81...Advice Requested

Hopefully others will weigh in on how to proceed from here. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10.30.13,Shadow,AMBG 77,PMPS 81...Advice Requested

This is my first time stopping by here, too....NICE numbers there for Shadow!!!
 
Re: 10.30.13,Shadow,AMBG 77,PMPS 81...Advice Requested

I agree Steven..You should go down to .1 and see how Shadow does. It looks like Mr. Shadow doesn't want to stay on the juice much longer!!

When you get down to those tiny doses, a lot of us count drops. Using an old syringe, draw up a dose you're pretty sure you could replicate, like .5 and then "twist" the plunger so a drop forms at the end of the needle. As that drop forms and "slides" down the needle, that's 1 drop. If you get 10 drops in .5, you'll know that .25 would be 5 drops...and less than .25 would be 2 or 3 drops. Then when you know how much you want to give, you can pull up the .5 and then "twist" to waste 7 or 8 drops, leaving you with 2 or 3 drops in the syringe. (this is only an example, you must do the counting yourself)

It does waste a little insulin, but it doesn't really look like Shadow is going to need the whole 10ml (vial) or pen :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top