10/30/11Hannah Glory AMPS 203

Status
Not open for further replies.

Priscillalea

Member Since 2011
Good Morning Everyone, Hannah and I are doing well, I decided to take some time off of sticking her , she was really beginning to show signs of extreme stress and actually somewhat afraid of me...so I am giving her a break and myself also, I can see the improvement in her spirits already, something to be said for quality of life......However, I have not been totally negligent....for 2 1/2 days now I have wasted about 2 1/2 hours trying to get to her spreadsheet. I can bring it up, see all the pretty colors, click on squares and get a nice block around it but cannot get any numbers to go in. Have waited up to 20 minutes until the computer is in danger of going through the window...so the best I can do is the following..............10/27/11 2U AM...2U PM....................10/28 post am dose of 2U +6.....166 ................10/29 AM 2U....+6 ..311 PM Ins. 2U......+5 195...........10/30 AMPS 203. hope it makes some sense to you..................Since I have stopped doing it so often , she is calmer and back being with her brothers and sisters and much happier, it may seem irresponsible to you all , but she seems to be doing much better in every way,so I will check her and do a curve about once a week but I want her happy and at peace...and without the stress I see an improvement in her levels.............So Hannah and I will be here, just a little less often, Sunday Blessings to you all, Priscilla and Hannah Glory
 
Are you sure you're logged in to your SS? Sometimes, Goggle throws you out and you have to log back in.

I really want to encourage you to get a test before you shoot. Shooting blind is dangerous. You run the risk of shooting low and causing a hypoglycemic situation.
 
i find myself logged out at random times - even when i've been on the ss recently. look at the upper right side and see if it says "sign in." that means it has randomly and very helpfully logged you out. click there & you should be able to log back in.

one thing i didn't know - maybe you already know this, but maybe not. even shooting the same dose, hannah glory's body will surely change in its response to it. i thought if you took punkin's body, controlled the food and always fed the same amounts at the same time, added in x units of insulin, that VOILA, like a math equation you would always have the same numbers coming out. nope.

i guess i was thinking it was like my high blood pressure medicine. take 1/2 pill every morning and i can check it every few months and it's always very close to the same.

what i've learned is that insulin doesn't work that way. insulin is a hormone - think 14 year old girls - one moment they are bright sunshine and love you to pieces and the next moment you've got tears and slamming doors. the point i'm trying to make is that the dose you are giving Hannah Glory will produce different blood sugars in her. it's fine today, but next week the very same dose, the very same food, the same sweet loving kitter - she could become hypoglycemic from it. i'm not trying to scare you or make you feel badly - i don't know you and it wouldn't serve any purpose. i'm trying to educate you - i don't want you to wake up to a crisis. all you have to do is check the Grief forum here to know it happens.

no one wants to poke their cat. we do it because there is no other way to tell what the insulin is doing and if our cat is safe or not.

hugs from me. i know it's hard.
 
I understand what everyone is saying, I know all about hypo attacks, I just have to figure some way to do this........When i did her ear today I had to stick the same spot 3 times before I got enough blood, it used to be not like that..................she hates it, I hate it............We both get so upset that I cry and she hides.............Since there is no sliding scale, then when i get up tomorrow and trying to get to work and take care of her and 15 other cats, scoop out litter boxes, feed everyone and say, I get a 185. I cannot get on this computer and ask what to do.so I still have to know what decision to make................When do I not give 2 units, what do I give for 150 or 120, see that is what I need to know when I have to make a decision, I guess that sounds like a sliding scale but how do I make that decision as to what dose if not 2units.am I making sense ?............There have to be some parameters for those situations, and I cannot get on here at 0600 and ask.............I appreciate everyone, I really do and I will do the best I can, I will check her often..........will try not to shoot blind if I can help it............in fact I almost never shoot blind, at least within an hour or so, then I feed her which has to make her BG increase anyway and then give her shot..........I have discovered that if I even sprinkle 4-5 pieces of EVO on her food she shoots way up, so no dry food if I can help it.......................Priscilla
 
Okay, I'm back. I've banged my head against the wall, screamed and now I'm fine.....apologies if I seemed upset............just trying so hard to find the right balance...........My spreadsheet finally worked, I did re sign-in
and that seemed to help. anyway she is 193 before dinner, shot to follow immediatly after dinner..............I will check her before shots, if any of you pray out there, we could use it. Blessings, Priscilla "the Neurotic"
 
Priscilla:

BREATHE!!!! ;-) :-D :-D :-D

If you look in my signature block, there is a link to Dealing with Low Preshots and one to Handling Low Numbers. The other thing I could suggest is that you leave your 'puter on overnight and if you get a low number in the morning, it's already booted up....all you have to do is open the browser and get on Lantus Land and ask for help.

I agree with Sienne....PLEASE do not shoot blind. We're here to help you....let us know what you need.
 
This may be a dumb question but what gauge lancet are you using? Given that you are still new at this and Hannah Glory's ears probably haven't developed their capillary beds, you might find that a wider gauge lancet will help you to not have to poke and re-poke. Try to get lancets that are 27 or 28 gauge. They will make your life easier. (The lower the gauge number, the thicker the lancet.)

The other consideration is that if you feel like you're not able to consistently shoot the same dose at AM and PM, you can lower the dose. Ideally, this will allow you to shoot the same dose at each shot time.
 
Okay, breathing..................I use a 30 g insulin syringe on her ears, up until recently that worked very well...I like the lower dose idea at each shot............I always do BGs before meals.Last night at +5 she was 181 and this am at +12 she is 189.just waiting to hear if 2 U is okay................P and HG....................... how do I add info to the lower left of my screen like you have? also how do I add info on upper right, I guess that is the profile area..........I have the added problem of having dial-up, which I am working on changing and no computer experience so all of this has been a BIG learning experience............Hannah was diagnosed in early 2008 had almost a year of remission soon afterwards and i only began doing my own BGs about 8-9 months ago, other than that she went to the Vet once a month or so for a curve, it seems a miracle she is still alive from what I have been hearing............talk to you soon..........
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top