10/3 Chewie AMPS 286/ +3 285/ +6 263/ PMPS 336/ +2 361

Bummer on no easy answers from the vet. I think that means testing for those secondary endocrine conditions is next.

As for dose, if you don’t see blues before tomorrow morning, you can increase by 0.5 units. That’ll give you a couple days to see what the dose can do. Most she’s seen so far is upper blues, so likely not in dangerous territory for the trip. Depending on how much you can test while travelling, you might want to hold that dose for the trip. Or not, it really depends if you can test during the road breaks, such as lunch and gas stops. And whether she’ll eat during the day. Neko only ate when we stopped, but I still managed 1-2 tests while on the road. At that point I knew what test I had to get to see if she was diving, and made a point of pit stopping around then. Thank goodness for pullouts!
 
Bummer on no easy answers from the vet. I think that means testing for those secondary endocrine conditions is next.
Exactly. I will make an appointment as soon as we are moved in. With current waiting times, should give her a couple of weeks to settle down in the new house. I will be sure to mention the testing on the phone, and by the way they react I should know if it’s a good fit or not.

As for dose, if you don’t see blues before tomorrow morning, you can increase by 0.5 units. That’ll give you a couple days to see what the dose can do. Most she’s seen so far is upper blues, so likely not in dangerous territory for the trip. Depending on how much you can test while travelling, you might want to hold that dose for the trip. Or not, it really depends if you can test during the road breaks, such as lunch and gas stops. And whether she’ll eat during the day. Neko only ate when we stopped, but I still managed 1-2 tests while on the road. At that point I knew what test I had to get to see if she was diving, and made a point of pit stopping around then. Thank goodness for pullouts!
Yeah I don’t know how the traveling is going to shake out… she will be sharing one of those big carrier with another cat she really likes, who will be good as emotional support, but also will make it more difficult to feed only her (said cat is my “allergic to life” cat on special diet). She has a tendency to refuse food/treats at the vet’s for instance, but with the hunger fueled by diabetes and a carrier she likes and her emotional support Mew, she might accept snacks. At the very minimum my plan is to get a +2 morning and evening, and try to feed her a small snack every couple of hours. I would be happy to have her in the yellows but also don’t want to set her back too much… it’s a fine line.
 
Back
Top