10/3/18 Olive AMPS 211; +4.5=61; +5=57 (90AT) +5.5=60; +6.5=89; PMPS 368; +4=247; +6.5=166. Vetty

Olive & Paula

Member Since 2015
Yesterday

Still trying to get UA on her. Yesterday we tried using packing peanuts, she went on carpet. Staples on have peanuts that dissolve in water. Had to go to UPS store for them. Of course they don't have small bag. This morning have puppy pads upside down and hoping she will use them. I really don't want the cysto done, I don't know how good this practice is at it. Olive certainly isn't like Smokey who just laid there and you could do anything. Olive fights tooth and nail. I've tried putting spoon under her but she sits on the litter.

Vet appt is late this afternoon so will get all the details of how she plans to monitor this. Cabergoline arrived in the state so should have it any day now. Doesn't look like it has to be given at any particular time in regards to other meds or food.

So busy morning, I need to update my excel ss to give copy to vet. Want to get at least 2 boxes washed out. DH is going for groceries.

Hope everyone has a good day. Hugs and prayers to all.
 
Hope Olive will give you a sample and I really hope the Cabergoline works very well for her!!! It sure has taken a lot of time and effort to get it!
 
When Boomer's levels were high and I decided I'd better be testing for ketones, I tried a few different tricks to collect the urine sample. And none of them worked; he wouldn't go in the box. I ended up using a cheap plastic dish and when I saw him wandering towards the litter box I would also wander that way. Once he was "past the point of no return" I stuck the dish under him. It was actually pretty easy.
 
When Boomer's levels were high and I decided I'd better be testing for ketones, I tried a few different tricks to collect the urine sample. And none of them worked; he wouldn't go in the box. I ended up using a cheap plastic dish and when I saw him wandering towards the litter box I would also wander that way. Once he was "past the point of no return" I stuck the dish under him. It was actually pretty easy.

I've tried the spoon. She sits on the litter itself, there's no getting under her.
 
Have you tried aquarium gravel or washed lentils instead of foam peanuts? Smaller size might be more like the nirmal LB texture.

Sending good vetty vines.
 
I stuck the dish under him.
I use the same way with Ravan. He also sits in the litter but when he starts to pee i shove a small plate (coffee cup size) at an angle under his tail.
So far it's worked good. You don't need very much urine for a test.
Hope you get a sample. I don't like the cysto either, had a problem last time they did one.

Good Luck :)
 
So they did a cysto for urine. Did the fructosomine. Doesn't want me to start cabergoline until she gets the results of us and fructo which will be Friday. The cabergoline arrived today. Dose is 50 mcg daily. Does anyone know if that's normal? Been trying to find coverage on it.

I'm sure she doesn't remember Olive from June. Once Olive was on the table the first thing she said was (I think more like talking out loud to herself) your head is very wide. I pointed out her feet. She goes where are her toes? I ask her how will we know if cabergoline is shrinking or halting the acro tumor or if there is a tumor since an mri was never done.

She goes "Paula Olive has it. She has all the characteristics and symptoms. Her igf is high, her glucoses are all over the place. They are not consistent (I thought they were pretty good lately)". Guess I'm still hoping she doesn't have it. She listens to the heart and asks me what her activity level is like. I said 99% of the time she just sleeps and eats. She said the murmur is quite prominent so get her in for follow up cardiologist.

I don't know what to think anymore.
 
Olive is a handful, isn't she?
We do the "point of no return" method here.

Sending vines for good test results and good results from the cabergoline once you start it.
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I believe this post has dosing information. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/cabergoline-as-a-possible-treatment-for-acrocats-discussion.184012/ Hiw much does Olive weigh? Dose is by weight. You will know cabergoline is working if her dose comes down. It's the excess growth hormone that starts of the process of blocking insulin's access to the cells. Tumour shrinking means less growth hormone being produced, and less exogenous insulin needed.

Last time vet saw Olive she was 12 lbs. So that's what she based it on I assume. Today Olive was 13 lbs. Was wondering if lower dose was the only way of knowing
 
Olive is 5.9 kg. In paper, starting dose is 10 mcg/kg, so maybe dose is closer to 60 mcg now.
 
her glucoses are all over the place. They are not consistent (I thought they were pretty good lately)"
They pretty good lately. I got to the point where any day without pink was a good day and Olive's pinks are pretty far apart. Don't listen to her. Olive has gotten flatter and see's low blue and green pretty often. I call that success JMHO.
 
They pretty good lately. I got to the point where any day without pink was a good day and Olive's pinks are pretty far apart. Don't listen to her. Olive has gotten flatter and see's low blue and green pretty often. I call that success JMHO.

Hi, good to see you.

I think she's doing good considering. I think the colors threw her off. Numbers are random all over the page, nothing lined up, almost like she was expecting a test at the same time everyday. And she wants one color straight across. I don't think she understands the ss. As long as we all understand it, that is what counts. Dr is right on one point, Olive should be a bit more active. She should want to play even if she can't.
 
Dr is right on one point, Olive should be a bit more active. She should want to play even if she can't.
Lethargy is a common symptom of acromegaly. There is some speculation that acros get headaches, like human acros do. They could also get pain from bone growth. When I added buprenorphine to Neko's daily meds, it made a huge difference. She had become quiet and withdrawn. She started playing a lot more on bupe. Of course, she definietly had arthritis which impacted her movements too.

As for the mcg, I presume you are giving the cabergoline in a liquid format? It should say how many mcg are in a ml.
 
Lethargy is a common symptom of acromegaly. There is some speculation that acros get headaches, like human acros do. They could also get pain from bone growth. When I added buprenorphine to Neko's daily meds, it made a huge difference. She had become quiet and withdrawn. She started playing a lot more on bupe. Of course, she definietly had arthritis which impacted her movements too.

As for the mcg, I presume you are giving the cabergoline in a liquid format? It should say how many mcg are in a ml.

The bottle states the concentration and dose, Just wanted to make sure dose was correct. We've seen many meds given here that are to high or to low.

Olive let's me know when her head hurts. She curls up on chair or couch with her head facing in the corner. When feeling good she is stretched out as long as she can from one end to another. The front legs start bothering her, she walks placing her front feet so carefully like she is testing to make sure it's safe or she starts limping. This is what I hope the cabergoline will help. For now it's gab for awhile.
 
Back
Top