FrickAndFrack
Member Since 2020
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...6-101-7-124-9-199-11-189.237655/#post-2668821
After deciding not to shoot last night at 189, Spencer was flying high at 433 this morning. I made the call to inject 1U, despite @tiffmaxee having advised me that his dose should be lowered after yesterday's visit to the shark lagoon! I saw the big number and figured Spencer needed his insulin asap but then he went pummeling down into the 50s again. Luckily he came right out of it.
I learned a lot yesterday and started feeding medium carb wet food as soon as I saw that he went from 237 to 87 in 2 hours, watched him carefully and he came back up gently. Now his PMPS and pre-food number is 100.
I have gotten syringes with half-unit markings so I can give him a lower dose to coast, but I don't know what's right for him now. To dose 0.25 might be better than another no shot that leaves him high in the AM? Or how should I approach this?
After deciding not to shoot last night at 189, Spencer was flying high at 433 this morning. I made the call to inject 1U, despite @tiffmaxee having advised me that his dose should be lowered after yesterday's visit to the shark lagoon! I saw the big number and figured Spencer needed his insulin asap but then he went pummeling down into the 50s again. Luckily he came right out of it.
I learned a lot yesterday and started feeding medium carb wet food as soon as I saw that he went from 237 to 87 in 2 hours, watched him carefully and he came back up gently. Now his PMPS and pre-food number is 100.
I have gotten syringes with half-unit markings so I can give him a lower dose to coast, but I don't know what's right for him now. To dose 0.25 might be better than another no shot that leaves him high in the AM? Or how should I approach this?