10/29 Spencer AMPS 433, +2 237, +4 87, +5 54, +6 74, +7 95, +11 100, PMPS 103

FrickAndFrack

Member Since 2020
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...6-101-7-124-9-199-11-189.237655/#post-2668821

After deciding not to shoot last night at 189, Spencer was flying high at 433 this morning. I made the call to inject 1U, despite @tiffmaxee having advised me that his dose should be lowered after yesterday's visit to the shark lagoon! I saw the big number and figured Spencer needed his insulin asap but then he went pummeling down into the 50s again. Luckily he came right out of it.

I learned a lot yesterday and started feeding medium carb wet food as soon as I saw that he went from 237 to 87 in 2 hours, watched him carefully and he came back up gently. Now his PMPS and pre-food number is 100.


I have gotten syringes with half-unit markings so I can give him a lower dose to coast, but I don't know what's right for him now. To dose 0.25 might be better than another no shot that leaves him high in the AM? Or how should I approach this?
 
Even with TR a reduction was earned to .75. Because you didn’t decrease I think you need to skip and shoot .75 in the morning. He was high after the skip but came back down quickly. Have you had a chance to look at the dosing methods? If you shoot even .25 the 1.0 will still influence tonight’s cycle.
 
Ok thank you tiffmaxee. I definitely think that he needs to go down to .75! No arguing about that. I will go NS tonight and then 0.75 tomorrow and monitor him. I did review the dosing and how to read "in between the lines".
 
Any thoughts about whether you want to follow TR or SLGS? You don’t have to decide right away but it will guide our dosing advice so think about it. Also if you start with either you can change your mind at any time.
 
Any thoughts about whether you want to follow TR or SLGS? You don’t have to decide right away but it will guide our dosing advice so think about it. Also if you start with either you can change your mind at any time.
I am still torn. Initially, I thought SLGS because pushing him low as you do in TR seemed scary, but considering that his chances for remission are much higher on TR it seems like the most logicall step.
 
Back
Top