10/29 River AMPS = 254 (Switching from Humulin-->Lantus 10/29 PM)

Paigeworthy

Member Since 2018
Hello, everyone!
My Solostar pens arrived today and I am planning to switch River over from Humulin starting tomorrow morning.
Latest advice from @Carol & Murphy/@Kris & Teasel has seemed a bit mixed as to whether I should bump the dose or hold at 1 based on her PM numbers.

I would absolutely love your dosage advice for her based on her numbers from the past week on Humulin — should I stick with 1 until I see how her curve is with the Lantus, or…?
 
I think you could try 1 u of Lantus. Get a +2 right after the first dose - although it might not tell you much because it’ll take a few cycles for the Lantus depot to stabilize. Let’s see what the experienced Lantus folks here think.
 
Thank you @Wendy&Neko — and for linking my two posts.
I do have the syringes, yes. I still need to read a little more and figure out whether TR and SLGS is best for how we live.
I work from home and am around most days. Testing her throughout the day has been no problem for me overall.
 
We would usually take the dose of the original insulin in mind when switching to Lantus. Provided that there are no changes with food or anything else such as meds that might impact the BG. With recent DKA, we don't want to go backwards in dose.
 
No changes with food at the moment. So grateful River is loving the Fancy Feast!
We have a recommendation from the emergency vet to start B12 injections + metronidazole but I am seeing another vet for a second opinion and post-hospitalization checkup tomorrow afternoon. I'll know more about additional meds (and update my signature accordingly) after that.
 
Neither the B12 nor metronidazole will impact the BG significantly. Does River have an infection or inflammation of some type that contributed to the DKA? Are you testing for ketones regularly at home? If so, please put the results of ketone tests in the Remarks section of the SS. With a recent DKA, we will keep nagging you about ketone testing. ;)
 
I have tested her a couple of times since we brought her home. All negative.
Absolutely no idea what led to the DKA. She lost a ton of weight and wasn't eating; she was diagnosed the same day as DKA and that's all we really know. Vet hasn't said anything about what might have caused it, and she hadn't been to the vet in :cough: 3 years :cough: prior to last month, just before she stopped eating entirely.
 
Good news on the ketone testing. Just mark it down on the days you tested. Odd on the DKA. How are her teeth? Has she ever had a dental?
 
She hasn't. We really cut corners on veterinary care for the past several years and now it feels like we're paying for it. (I've updated my SS with ketone test dates/results.)
 
Her "sister" had seizures when she was a kitten and was on oral phenobarb for some time until she outgrew them. Occasional seizures feels like freakin' child's play compared to this nonsense…
 
FD is scary at first, but since you are home testing, you have control and feedback. I much preferred dealing with FD than the heart/kidney/lymphoma issues.
 
Just gave River her first dose of Lantus, 1 unit, at 7:15 pm CDT. Should I be checking her all through the night?
 
Just gave River her first dose of Lantus, 1 unit, at 7:15 pm CDT. Should I be checking her all through the night?

It usually takes 5-7 days to "fill the depot" before you really know how well the dose is working, but some cats do respond sooner.

You probably won't need to test all night.....I'd get a +2 and let's see how she's doing.

When you can, you might want to put a distinctive line on your spreadsheet to indicate that you've changed to Lantus. If you look at China's spreadsheet for 9/18 (when she had her dental) you'll see what I mean as far as a "distinctive line"
 
Done :)
I'll get a check at +2 (just over an hour from now) and hopefully get some darned work done between now and then because all I can think about is this silly cat.
 
Unless Lantus is utter wizardry I know I am going to have to increase her dose a bit sooner than later, but I'm waiting to see how she does these first few days…
 
A +2 test is always good. I'd also encourage you to get a "before bed test" every night. (Before you go to sleep, test River.) This will give you a sense of where her numbers are at and if it's safe for you to turn in for the night.
 
PMPS: 282; +2 (after first Lantus dose): 231
Her BG levels look good. I'd like to take one more at +3 before I go to bed.
Does the fear ever go away? She isn't eating as ravenously today as she has been, so now of course I'm worried she's backsliding. Checking for ketones in the morning and trying to calm my anxious mind…
:sigh: I don't think I have gotten a good night's sleep since I picked babygirl up from the hospital last Monday.
 
Yes it does get better. :bighug: Once you get a handle on her onset, nadir and direction, you will start to see patterns in the numbers and have a better idea when to test. Learning her response to carbs will also help as that is your tool to keep her safe.
 
Back
Top