10/29 PurrFace PMPS 85 +1/121 +2/136 +4/144

Status
Not open for further replies.

Frosty

Member Since 2012
I'm sorry for posting so late. I had an 8 a.m. doctor appointment so I left the house early. It looks like PurrFace is starting to come down from what I think was a bounce from the low numbers yesterday during his AM cycle. I hope he settles in real nice with his dose reduction and has a day of two without any surprises. He looks good and is purring.
Thank you again to Dyana, Sienne, Dale, Ann and everyone else for your help and support yesterday. I hate to think what the day would have been like without all of you.
Now I'm off to the Apple store to try to get them to replace my iPad2. I made the mistake of downloading the new iOS6 and now it has a mind of it's own and doing all kinds of crazy things. Don't think I'll be successful but it's worth a try.
Hope everyone has a great day. Be back this afternoon.

PurrFace's Condo
 
Re: 10/29 PurrFace AMPS 284

Good luck getting your iPad2 exchanged. I hope you get what you want. I just have a regular old cell phone.

The link to your last condo doesn't work because the [ is the wrong way. You have: [PurrFace's Condo and it needs to be ]PurrFace's Condo then it will work, I think.

See you when you get back from the store.
 
Re: 10/29 PurrFace AMPS 284 +2/280

Thank you Dyana for catching the error on the Condo link and thank you for all of your assistance yesterday. You guys are awesome!!!
 
Re: 10/29 PurrFace AMPS 284 +2/280

This is good! That is not so bad for a bounce! Way to go! That is nice. Max seemed to bounce into the stratosphere although I'm sure it wasn't as bad as I remember.

You did a great job yesterday, and you will be much more calm the next time that happens -- not completely, but moreso. You now know you can bring his numbers up easily. You also know that if he goes to the food bowl before or near +2 it might be a good idea to check his BG and see what's going on.

By the way, I think one ounce is 6 teaspoons (or 2 tablespoons.)

Thank you for your PM and your kind thoughts about Max. I am feeling better about him today as he has been eating and acting ok ever since Thursday when I found out about the mass. I can't wait to know the test results, of course, but so far so good.
 
Re: 10/29 PurrFace AMPS 284 +2/280 +6/152

Dyana, I didn't have any luck getting the iPad changed. It was still under a year old but one of the kitties knocked it off the counter and broke the screen. Since I replaced the screen myself the warranty was void. Oh well..Kitties-1 & John-0.
I have an old phone too, stopped there and did get that replaced free. Kitties-1 & John-1.
Again thank you for catching my error on the condo post. I need new glasses I guess.

Hi Dale, Your note that the bounce wasn't a bad one was very well received. I can only hope we will be a bit more calm "if" we get into a situation like this again. When we got the AMPS# I thought that I might have had messed up by not "shooting through" the bounce with the 1.75U dose and opting to shot the reduction. But he dropped at +2 and now back in the BLUE range at +6. I'll test him again at +10 I think. I'm trying to give his ears a rest. He's acting like Ole PurrFace and purring and nudging for attention. He plays too as well as he can with his weak rear legs. I hope once we get his BG levels a bit more stable the Mythl B12 will start to be a bit more effective and we'll see an improvement.
Thank you for bringing the correlation between wanting food around the +2 time and possible BG problem. I never put those two together. I gauge the amount he eats on how much I put in his bowl and how much of that is left. His food is in 3oz cans so if I give him half of a can and he eats it I count that as 1.5oz. If he leaves half of that I count .75 ounce. Not the most scientific way but I hope it's close enough. I am definitely willing to try a different way if I should. Yesterday when during his low BG# crisis I might have posted the wrong amount. My DW was feeding him a teaspoon full at a time as I told her to do. I'll check the post. My mind wasn't working correctly so I probably told her wrong.
I really hope Max continues to keep his usual routine for you and that you get the test results soon. At least then you will know exactly what Max's condition is and set out a treatment plan.

Thank you both again for yesterday and have a great day. Dyana I hope you're not in Sandy's path!
 
Re: 10/29 PurrFace AMPS 284 +2/280 +6/152

Just thought you would like to see how PurrFace looked after all the test yesterday.

image.jpeg

ALL THESE TEST ARE WEARING ME OUT!!!
 
Re: 58 SHOOT??10/29 PurrFace AMPS 284 +2/280 +6/152 +10/58

PurrFace just tested at 58@+10. He has been dropping slowly today but I never expected this. I don't know if I should give him the 1.50U shot at PM, reduce it or skip it if he is still below 99 at PMPS.

10/29 RECAP
AMPS 284
+2 280
+6 152 (Usually his nadir is in this time frame)
+10 58
+11 59
PM shot do at 9:30 CDT
 
Re: 58 SHOOT??10/29 PurrFace AMPS 284 +2/280 +6/152 +10/58

Hi John, PurrFace looks so sweet! Looks like testing agrees with him. No dosing or shooting advice, hopefully the wise ones will weigh in before your PMPS. I shot lower numbers but Jasper had a much flatter curves than PurrFace. You have fresh experience with using food to raise PurrFace's bg, do you have enough supplies and can you stay up for pajama party all night if needed? If so I expect they would advise you to shoot something.
 
Re: 58 SHOOT??10/29 PurrFace AMPS 284 +2/280 +6/152 +10/58

Hi Leslie, I have plenty of supplies and my DW and I will split the night shift. I really wasn't expecting this after his bounce from the very low numbers recently. He hasn't eaten since just before +8 and then it was very little amount. He's hungy now but I don't want to feed him until I get some advice.
Thank you again for visiting the condo. Have a great evening.
 
Re: DOSE @58 SHOOT??10/29 PurrFace AMPS +6/152 +10/58 +11/59

Hi Sienne, Yes we are still in the +11 time frame. He has 40 minutes until PM shot time. I'll get a reading then and post it. Thank you.
 
Re: DOSE @58 SHOOT??10/29 PurrFace +6/152 +10/58 +11/59 PS/5

10/29 RECAP
AMPS 284
+2 280
+6 152 (Usually his nadir is in this time frame)
+10 58
+11 59
+12/54
PM shot do at 9:30 CDT
 
Re: DOSE @58 SHOOT??10/29 PurrFace +6/152 +10/58 +11/59 +12/

It looks like you've got a surf going on!

Do you have a supply of strips and HC if you need it? Are you comfortable shooting this low or do you want to stall (and can your schedule accommodate a delay)?
 
Re: DOSE @58 SHOOT??10/29 PurrFace +6/152 +10/58 +11/59 +12/

Do you have a supply of strips and HC if you need it? Are you comfortable shooting this low or do you want to stall (and can your schedule accommodate a delay)?

I'm pretty nervous shooting this low. If I did shoot would it be the full 1.50U or a decreased dose? I have supplies and I can accomodate a delay because I'll be home tonight and all day tomorrow. If we delay do we still hold food?
 
Re: DOSE @58 SHOOT??10/29 PurrFace +6/152 +10/58 +11/59 +12/

You've shot in the 70s. This isn't all that different. You'll also have fed PurrFace and you'll have some time before Lantus onset begins. That's the pitch for shooting. At some point, you're going to need to shoot low. This is a range where you want to be.
 
Re: DOSE @58 SHOOT??10/29 PurrFace +6/152 +10/58 +11/59 +12/

If you think that is the best I'll go ahead and shoot. Should he get the full dose? It's 30 minutes past normal shot time. Getting another reading now.
 
Re: DOSE @58 SHOOT??10/29 PurrFace +6/152 +10/58 +11/59 +12/

John

Yes....shoot the full dose. Get a +1...you can even get a +.5 if you want. I'll stay up with you for the next few hours until Jane comes on or longer if she doesn't, ok?
 
Re: DOSE @58 SHOOT??10/29 PurrFace +6/152 +10/58 +11/59 +12/

Hello Marje, I'll shot the full dose and can test at the +.5 and +1 time frame. He just went to a 43
 
Re: DOSE @58 SHOOT??10/29 PurrFace +6/152 +10/58 +11/59 +12/

EDITED: WHOA!!!! A 43? Hold your horses. Ignore the below until he's up higher.

You can do this. Sienne wouldn't steer you wrong. If you really don't want to shoot, delay, and yes, withhold food until you are ready to shoot. However, you can shoot this low; people do, and PurrFace will probably bounce again, too, giving you a chance to get some shuteye tomorrow morning. I can't say I ever shot this low, but I realize now that I could have. At the time I didn't fully understand why, so I didn't do it. Now that I understand, I would feel comfortable doing it.
 
Re: DOSE @58 SHOOT??10/29 PurrFace +10/58 +11/59 +12/54 +12.

Thanks Sienna. We put a drop of honey on his gums and feed him a teaspoon of HC since he hasn't eaten for several hours.
 
Re: DOSE @58 SHOOT??10/29 PurrFace +10/58 +11/59 +12/54 +12.

Thank you for dropping in Dale. I saw Sienna's post and didn't shoot. Will test again in 10 minutes and feed 1 teaspoon of HC if he is still real low per the How to Handle Low Numbers article.
 
Re: DOSE @58 SHOOT??10/29 PurrFace +10/58 +11/59 +12/54 +12.

Good that you rechecked. I thought the 54 was as you were ready to shoot.

I wouldn't have given him honey. Normally, if you get a 40s number at PS, you wait 15 mins, retest. But since you already were stalling and he dropped, you should have just fed him a tsp of LC to see if that would bring him up. Then we stall until
it looks like it's not a food influenced number. With the honey, he's going to come alot higher and you'll have to stall alot longer....in fact, at this point, you might need to skip because honey takes a couple hours to wear off. The caveat is if he comes up ALOT.

How long can you stall and get back on time 15 min each cycle or 30 min/day?
 
Re: DOSE @58 SHOOT??10/29 PurrFace +10/58 +11/59 +12/54 +12.

Also....you need to reduce his dose when you do shoot by .25u. We'll just have to see if it's going to be possible to shoot a little later or not.
 
Re: DOSE @58 SHOOT??10/29 PurrFace +10/58 +11/59 +12/54 +12.

John -- don't overdo the HC. You're at the tail end of the Lantus cycle and a bit of LC may do the job. Your instincts were on target -- you fed the 40s.

Max&emmasmommie said:
You can do this. Sienne wouldn't steer you wrong. If you really don't want to shoot, delay, and yes, withhold food until you are ready to shoot. However, you can shoot this low; people do, and PurrFace will probably bounce again, too, giving you a chance to get some shuteye tomorrow morning. I can't say I ever shot this low, but I realize now that I could have. At the time I didn't fully understand why, so I didn't do it. Now that I understand, I would feel comfortable doing it.
I just want to clarify, I would never advise anyone to shoot a number below 50 unless we knew that they had a late nadir cat. John has a dropping number. While I have shot dropping numbers, I would not do so in this range and I certainly wouldn't suggest that anyone do something I would not do with my own cat. Saying that the cat will bounce may or may not be true. You will notice that when Marje was suggesting that John shoot, it was when the numbers were flat and above 50. She also took the responsibility for staying up with John should PurrFace's numbers drop. Telling someone to shoot and not being able to provide the back up is not a good strategy when someone has never shot this low.
 
Re: DOSE @58 SHOOT??10/29 PurrFace +10/58 +11/59 +12/54 +12.

I do apologize, John, because I did think you were shooting the 54. My fault....you said you were going to retest but I didn't realize it had been 30 mins since the +12.5. Sienne is correct about not shooting below 50.

What we want to be able to get you to is when you get that surfing 50+ number at +12, you shoot, you don't stall. Then you feed. Sometimes by stalling, as you see tonight, the number just continues to drop. I'm not saying that you should have shot tonight without posting because I know it's the first time you would have shot a 50s number. It does help to have someone with you and guiding you.....staying up with you. Eventually, you'll get to the point where you can just shoot the over 50 numbers because PurrFace does nadir a little later.
 
Re: DOSE @58 SHOOT??10/29 PurrFace +10/58 +11/59 +12/54 +12.

I miss read the Handling low numbers artice. It said give a teaspoon of HC OR a teaspoon of LC with syrup if the cat has a digestive problem. My DW is getting another test now. I told her we'll be giving him the LC as long as his numbers aren't dropping. He knows something isn't right because he starting to hide again. This new in the last few days.

I understand what Marje meant. She was basing it the numbers I posted and did not tell her we were retesting. I'm pretty sure Dale and I were posting at the same time causing and overlap.

Test at +13/74
 
Re: DOSE @58 SHOOT??10/29 PurrFace +10/58 +11/59 +12/54 +12.

John

For preshots...you want to read the sticky on"Dealing with Low Preshots" which is linked in my signature. But it says:

When 40’s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.
If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.

The number you are getting now is the honey. Can you tell me please exactly what you fed him, how much, how much honey, and when you fed/gave honey and food and also if you can stall a while longer to see where he is or whether you just want to skip?
 
Re: DOSE @58 SHOOT??10/29 PurrFace +10/58 +11/59 +12/54 +12.

Can you tell me please exactly what you fed him, how much, how much honey, and when you fed/gave honey and food and also if you can stall a while longer to see where he is or whether you just want to skip?

+12.5 Feed 1 teaspoon of FF Gravy Lovers and a very small amout of honey on the fingertip.
+13 Feed 1 teaspoon of FF Classic LC

I can stall as long as you think necessary, I have no where to go and all night to get there or if you think it's better to skip I'll do that. My only thought on skipping completly is his depot will drain and we will lose the ground we've gained.
 
Re: DOSE @58 SHOOT??10/29 PurrFace +10/58 +11/59 +12/54 +12.

There is no rule on how long you can stall...usually after two hours, it becomes difficult for the caregiver to get back on track.

So if its not an issue for you, then we will keep going with the thought to shoot after the HC wears off. Ok?
 
Re: DOSE @58 SHOOT??10/29 PurrFace +10/58 +11/59 +12/54 +12.

That's sounds great Marje. My DW is getting another test done right now. I'll post that result in a minute.
 
Re: DOSE @58 SHOOT??10/29 PurrFace +10/58 +11/59 +12/54 +12.

10/29 RECAP
AMPS 284
+2 280
+6 152 (Usually his nadir is in this time frame)
+10 58
+11 59
+12/54
+12.5/43
+13/74
+13.25/79
 
Re: DOSE @58 SHOOT??10/29 PurrFace +10/58 +11/59 +12/54 +12.

Sounds good. You did great not shooting the 43. I'm glad you read the posts first. Just let me know the number.

Thanks John.
 
Re: DOSE @58 SHOOT??10/29 PurrFace +12.5/43 +13/74 +13.25/79

He tested at 79. That mixup was my fault. I should have said in my last post that we were in the process of getting another test done. My mistake.
EDIT: FED 1 TEASPOON OF LC. HE'S ALSO PLAYING WITH ONE OF THE OTHER CATS.
 
Re: DOSE @58 SHOOT??10/29 PurrFace +12.5/43 +13/74 +13.25/79

I'd like you to give him 30 mins and then retest, ok? Normally, when we are stalling, we haven't fed and so we check e every 15 mins to catch the rise and shoot.

But since you fed, we need to wait long enough to let the HC wear off so let's hold off. I don't want you to shoot a HC number and then have him back in the 50s at +1.

See you in 30. No more food, ok?
 
Re: DOSE @58 SHOOT??10/29 PurrFace +10/58 +11/59 +12/54 +12.

John,

I'm sorry that I didn't see your 43 that you posted at 6:56 p.m. when I posted at the same time that Sienne posted "Don't shoot." Once I posted I saw you had posted, read your post, and I edited as fast as I could.
 
Re: DOSE @58 SHOOT??10/29 PurrFace +12.5/43 +13/74 +13.25/79

Dale I apoligize to all involved for this. It was my fault. I know post are happening at fast rate so I should have put in my post that I was getting another test done. I would hate to think that my error would put friends that have been here much longer than me and who each only have the best interest of the FC and CG at heart at odds with one anothr. I owe each of you an apology.
I have nothing but the highest respect for Sienne, Marje, you and all of the other folks on this wonderful forum. Had we not found this PurrFace probably wouldn't be here because of his weight loss continuing and the vet putting him on Humulin N.
Thank you all.
 
Re: DOSE @58 SHOOT??10/29 PurrFace +12.5/43 +13/74 +13.25/79

John, you have nothing to be sorry about. Cross posts happen all the time, and mistakes can be made because of them. I shouldn't have said that where you could see it, and I'm sorry that my temper got the best of me. I would trust Sienne with my cat's life any day of the week, and you can, too. That's all you need to know. Have a good night.
 
Re: DOSE @58 SHOOT??10/29 PurrFace +12.5/43 +13/74 +13.25/79

Marje he had the teaspoon of HC & honey at the +13.5. Since then he has had 3 teaspoons of LC. Should we hold off feeding him?
 
Re: DOSE @58 SHOOT??10/29 PurrFace +12.5/43 +13/74 +13.25/79

He just tested 82 @+13.5. I didn't tell my DW to not feed in time and she gave him 1 teaspoon of LC.
 
Re: DOSE @58 SHOOT??10/29 PurrFace +12.5/43 +13/74 +13.25/79

10/29 RECAP
AMPS 284
+2 280
+6 152 (Usually his nadir is in this time frame)
+10 58
+11 59
+12/54
+12.5/43
+13/74
+13.25/79
+13.5/82
 
Re: 10/29 PurrFace +12.5/43 +13/74 +13.25/79 +13.5/82

John

Ok...now I'm totally confused :lol:

You said you fed him FF gravy lovers and honey at +12.5 and a tsp of LC at +13. And you fed him at +13.25 when he was at 79?

I think with all the posting, you missed my post above about not feeding and waiting 30 mins in between tests.

So...no more food. It's always a good idea to scroll back to YOUR last post and read through all the posts after it because when we are cross posting, important things can get overlooked.

Please don't test him again until +14.

For the future...if stalling...no food. If you get a 40s number at +12, don't feed...wait 15 mins and then retest. If he's still in the 40s or dropping, he gets one tsp of LC. Then retest in 30 to see if he is above 50 so you can shoot.

Lets put the other stuff behind us ok? It's done...we need to focus on hopefully getting some insulin into him tonight.

Thank you :-D :-D
 
Re: 10/29 PurrFace +12.5/43 +13/74 +13.25/79 +13.5/82

You're right, Marje. +14 will be in 5 minutes and I'll post it right away. I made sure that he does not get any food.
 
Re: 10/29 PurrFace +12.5/43 +13/74 +13.25/79 +13.5/82

10/29 RECAP
AMPS 284
+2 280
+6 152 (Usually his nadir is in this time frame)
+10 58
+11 59
+12/54
+12.5/43 fed 1 tsp HC and 1 fingertip honey
+13/74 fed 1 tsp LC
+13.25/79 fed 1 tsp LC
+13.5/82 fed 1 tsp LC

Is that correct, John, on the feeding?
 
Re: 10/29 PurrFace +12.5/43 +13/74 +13.25/79 +13.5/82 +14/76

Yes those figures are right. He tested at +14/76. He dropped a bit so maybe the HC & Honey is wearing off.
 
Re: 10/29 PurrFace +12.5/43 +13/74 +13.25/79 +13.5/82 +14/76

Here's my concern. He's had alot of food. If you shoot, and if he comes back down, will he eat? If you shoot, I'm going to want you to feed him a couple of tsps of LC to keep him surfing.

There is a good chance that he will start to come up soon because he got low and will start bouncing, because he's now a couple hours past his shot time and the insulin should start wearing off and it will be two hours before he onsets.

So if you think he will eat, I think you could easily shoot now. I just want to look at one thing.....I said to reduce his dose but we might not. This could be depot still from the 1.75u. So hang tight just one moment while I look at his SS and then I will tell you what to shoot. Go ahead and draw up the 1.5u but don't shoot it yet...I can have you take some off if I want you to reduce, ok?

BRB..don't shoot yet.
 
Re: 10/29 PurrFace +12.5/43 +13/74 +13.25/79 +13.5/82 +14/76

John

Ok...if you are ready and he will eat, I'd like you to shoot the 1.5u dose because I think this is depot from the 1.75u and we've stalled so long. Lets hold the dose at 1.5u and see how he does. If he goes below 50 again, then you can reduce to 1.25u.

Ok..you good to shoot the .1.5u? Just test before you shoot. If he's dropped alot, post first. If he's surfing, shoot. Ill be here.
 
Re: 10/29 PurrFace +12.5/43 +13/74 +13.25/79 +13.5/82 +14/76

DW doing the test now. Have the number soon.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top