10/29 Olive AMPS 240, 123+2, 101+3, 80+4, 73+4.50, 78+5. 139+10. PMPS 150, 199+2, 241+3

OlivesMom

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...1-130-2-140-3-121-4-131-5-124-7-158-9.237634/

Olive's BG has been doing a lot of changes recently. She keeps dropping even at the end of the cycle and into the first hour or two of the next cycle. This morning she dropped lower than her norm and all this with the earned reduction from 10/27. She's getting under half a unit now. She was exactly at half a unit when at the .67 on the caliper. Now she's .50 on the caliper.

Question: Does she stay at the earned reduction starting from the original date she earned it or does the clock begin anew since she dipped below 90 today? Anyone have thoughts on her BG levels over the last 3-4 days?
 
Part of what I'd suggest is using food to prop up Olive's numbers. She's still bouncing. Despite the drops in numbers, it would be great if her cycles flattened out. In other words, if you see a drop like you did this cycle by +3, use some LC to feed the cycle. It looks like you may be doing this but you may need some food that's a bit higher in carbs to prevent the drop. And yes, the clock starts over with a new dose of insulin.

Her AM numbers look great! We need to try to offset the bounces.
 
Looks like another reduction is earned. The no shot on 10/27 should have helped to drain the larger depot. Last night it looks like a short bounce, which is breaking this morning.

FWIW, l would take the reduction. Maybe others may have other advisement though?
 
In other words, if you see a drop like you did this cycle by +3, use some LC to feed the cycle.
Yes, I tried incorporating some FF at that time, but the trouble with this is that she's become carb sensitive lately so just giving her a half tsp at times jacks her up, but then it's not a slow rise after that but a fast one so I've become quite sensitive myself as to how much of the LC food to give her without creating the "tidal wave" effect. Or maybe Tsunami may be a better word. lol. I'm working with the advice of an internist on Olive's diet. We are trying to see how her body responds to plain raw food as far as her BG goes, but knowing we need to incorporate the FF when she goes low in attempt to keep her more flat. Kind of seeing how she responds with fewer carbs as it coincides with insulin. Since incorporating this her SS has shown far more time in the blues and some greens as well. She needs insulin for sure, but I guess the million dollar question is can she become regulated on diet changes alone in the end? It's something to keep in mind while we experiment. It's our hope anyways.
it would be great if her cycles flattened out
Olive hasn't discovered FLAT yet, but she's better than she used to be.
And yes, the clock starts over with a new dose of insulin.
So she needs to stay at the earned reduction for 7 more days...
FWIW, l would take the reduction.
If she dips low like this at the PM cycle I think you will be right on that. I'm going to go with my gut and see how things play out. Thanks for the advice!;)
 
Olive has been at this dose enough cycles to earn the reduction. I'd start the new dose tonight. You stay with a dose for 7 days on SLGS, unless you earn a reduction. Then you evaluate the dose after 7 days and see if you need to make changes.
 
I think I've mentioned this before, but would you be willing to try TR for a bit? Just so you could increase more rapidly - every 6-10 cycles rather than the longer amount of time needed on SLGS. On TR you can increase as often as 3 days if needed...sometimes it's helpful to try to nudge things along rather than languishing at the dose for so long...

I have to admit though that I cannot recall all of your circumstances on your decision to stay with SLGS! If so, I apologize in advance...just a suggestion for your consideration.
 
The other good thing about TR is you dint have to hold a reduction for a whole week if numbers go up. You call it a failed reduction and go right back up. Maybe then you can try a little more hc to slow the drop. No pressure. It’s your decision.
 
The other good thing about TR is you dint have to hold a reduction for a whole week if numbers go up. You call it a failed reduction and go right back up. Maybe then you can try a little more hc to slow the drop. No pressure. It’s your decision.
I have thought about it, but I've had so much going on on the home front I've not wanted to deal with having to learn a whole new protocol. Right now I have no clue how TR works. I am willing to learn and try it to see how things go though. I'm wanting to keep her on the raw food though, so I don't know if TR would work then. Again, I really don't understand TR at this time.
I have to admit though that I cannot recall all of your circumstances on your decision to stay with SLGS! If so, I apologize in advance...just a suggestion for your consideration.
No worries. I've just been at my wits end over the last few months trying to deal with 2 kitties with health issues now on the heel of having lost my beloved Sophie. It's been a lot for me to endure. It's been the worst year of my life quite honestly. Just been trying to get the dust to settle a bit before I shake the tree, but I am willing to try TR. I'm going to try and get more sleep tonight so will catch ya'll tomorrow.
 
FD is exhausting! Olive has come a long way. Try and not let this get you down and stick with SLGS. I hope Cindy is improving too. :bighug:
 
FD is exhausting! Olive has come a long way. Try and not let this get you down and stick with SLGS. I hope Cindy is improving too. :bighug:
Thank you!:bighug: I think I may have stumbled upon why Cindy stopped wanting to eat 36 hours ago as well as why Olive's appetite decreased as well. I added a new probiotic into their food to rotate for their health. I decided to go back to their old one at their dinner time and BOTH ate entirely on their own with no prompting. :joyful: Cindy hasn't thrown up at all today either and is holding down her new thyroid herbal meds. :) Ok, so I'm really heading off now.
 
Back
Top