10/29 Maverick AMPS 140 (Day 2) +2 194.4

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karrie and Maverick

Member Since 2010
OK, now I'm really confused! Yesterday was day 1 of insulin - diagnosed diabetic a week and a half ago.

Yesterday - AMPS (1/2 hour after breakfast) 311 - gave 2 units as per vets instructions. 15.5lb cat (assuming at ideal weight).
+3.5 266
+6 266
+9 271
He didn't eat much yesterday
PMPS 235.8 - gave one unit (updated post to correct it from amps to pmps)

Today we tested with no food for at least two hours. He ate about 2.5 oz of wet food over night. Tested at 140.

I didn't expect this number at all today. Any advice on how we are doing? The vet expected him to be one of the cats to go into a honeymoon. We caught it fairly early - probably diabetic for about a month and a half. I noticed extra weight loss (baby scale at home) and extra urination (glucose dip stick confirmed 2+), so I changed him to wet food for three weeks taking away his supplemental kibble. But his urine still tested at 2+ glucose so I brought him in for a fructosamine test which confirmed he was diabetic.

I'm really confused.
 
Re: 10/29 Maverick AMPS 140 (Day 2)

I tested twice this morning too just in case it wasn't a good reading - first was 7.6, then 7.8 (140).
 
Re: 10/29 Maverick AMPS 140 (Day 2)

Did you shoot? There's no dose filled in on your SS.

This is a great number. However, you don't have a great deal of data yet. Whenever you shoot a number that is lower than any you've previously shot, you need to monitor carefully. Please get a +1 and a +2.

Just to be sure you're prepared for all contingencies, do you have extra strips at home and high carb, preferably canned food on hand?
 
Re: 10/29 Maverick AMPS 140 (Day 2)

They like you to add the day before's condo link to the next days condo.

The 2 units you started at was probably too high to start.
I see you changed the dose to 1 unit in the evening yesterday, which is usually what people start at.

I do not know if you should shoot the 1 unit today or wait and see how her curve is today and start tomorrow.
Maybe you should start at lower than the 1 unit.
Hopefully someone else can advise you.

Be sure to read this: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopi ... =14&t=1122
 
Re: 10/29 Maverick AMPS 140 (Day 2)

Your link to yesterday's condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/view ... 11#p290822

In your post, you show the AMps...but that is actually the number you got last night so it is your PMPS=235, okay? :razz:

Hope your doggies is okay....I see that you went to the ER last night. It is suggested that everyone get at least a before bed time check at night, okay? The more data you can fill in, the better the picture of how Maverick is doing. Many kitties go lower during the PM cycle too so that is a good thing to be aware of.

Did you shoot yet this morning? If so, can you please put the dose amount in your SS for us, okay?
 
Re: 10/29 Maverick AMPS 140 (Day 2)

Thanks guys. No I didn't shoot. I read on this forum that it is better to have a high blood glucose than a low so I played it safe. With the rules of thumb here I didn't give an injection: "We generally suggest that if you get a pre-shot below 150 when you don't have a great deal of data, that you skip the shot. The following is from the 'data ready' sticky: A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines. Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin. Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options: a.) give nothing; b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose); c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value. Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise."

So I'll post what it is in a couple of hours. He ate a small breakfast.
 
Re: 10/29 Maverick AMPS 140 (Day 2)

I did mess up the first post. The PMPS was 235.8. Thank you - I'll update that now.
I'll remember to link to yesterdays condo tomorrow : )
Good to know about it possibly being the 2units - I'm calling the vet today just so she's on board. I had a big issue with Maverick's previous vet. He had white coat/big head syndrome. This vet seems really awesome though.
 
Re: 10/29 Maverick AMPS 140 (Day 2)

Did you say that you would not be home this morning? It would be good if you can get some spot checks in if you will be around...
Do you half syringes with half unit markings? You might want to discuss started at a lowered dose...let's say a .5u perhaps but I would wait for others to stop by and give you suggestions, okay?

Do you have canned high carb gravy foods on hand? Karo syrup? Have you read the stickies at the top of the page? Any questions? You are doing a great job...the beginning is tricky with all the information one has to absorb. The key is the testing~~ and posting the numbers so we can see what is happening. It's good to get as much data as you can...
 
Re: 10/29 Maverick AMPS 140 (Day 2)

There's no way to know if the dose is too high or not. From the calculations yesterday, based on an ideal weight of 16 lbs, starting dose would be 1.8u -- so in the neighborhood of 1.75u and 2.0u. By all means, check with your vet about the dose. Do you have syringes that are in 1/2 unit increments? You can always drop the dose to 1.75u or even 1.5u if you are more comfortable starting lower and working your way up. Many people feel better about bringing the dose up rather than dealing with a higher dose that drops numbers. You may want to discuss this with your vet, though.

Shooting a number in the range of where your AM number is will become second nature - it's really just being data ready to do so. If you want to test at what would be your +.5 or +1 and if the number is coming up, it would be fine to shoot. It's best to try to not skip a dose when you're still filling the shed -- well, at any time, when you get right down to it. If you're more comfortable reducing the dose when you shoot, that's fine, too. If you do reduce, I'd encourage you to pick a dose and stick with it since Lantus likes consistency. Also, if you shoot late, your PM shot will be 12 hours from whatever time you shoot this morning. Can your schedule accommodate the time change?
 
Re: 10/29 Maverick AMPS 140 (Day 2)

No more info to add - I would agree with what has already been written. I think you are doing great. Just follow that advice above, these ladies know their stuff. Good luck today! maverick - looking mighty fine.

I hope all is well with your dog, and that he is better soon.
 
Re: 10/29 Maverick AMPS 140 (Day 2)

youre getting lots of good advice/information here ... so I'll just say that is a nice number this morning! I hope your dog starts feeling better soon and you guys have a great day!
 
Re: 10/29 Maverick AMPS 140 (Day 2)

Get the +2 and post that number. If shooting at that time won't totally throw off your schedule, would you be comfortable changing Maverick's dose to 1.5u and shooting at +2?

I probably won't be around (gotta get to work at some point) but others will if you have questions or aren't sure how/whether to proceed.
 
Re: 10/29 Maverick AMPS 140 (Day 2)

Very nice getting a 140 after 1.0 units last night. I'd be inclined to stick with 1.0 for a couple of days to let that dose settle, unless after talking with your vet you're advised to use less. Start low, go slow.

Adding my hopes that your dog is doing better today.
 
Re: 10/29 Maverick AMPS 140 (Day 2)

Karrie, excellent points have been made so far. I want to reiterate the point that Sienne brought up, you don't want to be in the position of having to skip shots if at all possible. I understand why you skipped, and I think that's fine...you don't have the data to shoot a 140 right now, although you will get used to it in time. ;-) I know that Maverick's starting dose based on weight should be 1.75u, but not all kitties follow the rules! It's possible that he may need a reduced dose from that.

I see you got a +2 of 194. That is a shootable number if you can manage to shoot 12 hours from now.

It would make sense to me to restart with a lower dose...0.5u seems very low to me, perhaps somewhere in the neighborhood of 1.0u-1.5u? It depends on your comfort level. If you start at 1.0u, it may be too low and it may take a little longer to work back up to a good dose...but that's fine if you would be more comfortable. Since you are home, If you are comfortable starting a little higher and monitor, then you could start at 1.25u or 1.5u.

I hope your dog is feeling better!
 
Ok I'm going to dose now. How do you guys decide what is a good dose though - isn't the higher the insulin the bigger the drop in glucose? He doesn't eat much through the day it seems so maybe he will need a lower dose in the daytime?

My syringes don't seem to do .5 increments but I remember the pharmacist saying that they did. I don't see lines for 1/2 unit. I can try to give 1.25. Off to get his shot ready.
 
Re: 10/29 Maverick AMPS 140 (Day 2)

Good morning and nice work getting all up to speed on everything here with your SS and profile. And reading the stickies. :-D

We understand about seeing this beautiful (nerve-wracking) number for today. It is very close to a healthy-normal kitty number. If this had been my kitty, I would not have wanted to shoot insulin either. But you probably can shoot something .... The harder part is you need to decide how much. ohmygod_smile

As Sienne mentioned earlier, this is a depot insulin and builds up in the system. You shot 2.00u yesterday morning and then 1.00u last night. And today got a nice number. This 140 could still be a bit of the residual effects of the 2.00u.

If shooting the same dose as last night feels like too much... How about .75u? Your next BG test might guide your decision. If Maverick is up high enough, maybe the 1.00u is best. It will be consistent with your previous dose.

But you need to feel comfortable with what you do.

Good luck and keep asking questions!

EDIT: gee I type too slow. I see lots of help already here. 1.25u. Sounds fine too.
 
Disposable_Insulin_Syringe.jpg


I use Reli-On 3/10 ml/cc 29gauge 1/2" (dose up to 30 units)
On my syringes, the marks are half unit. what do your syringes read?
 
Hi Karrie...just wondering if you shot yet and what dose you gave ....

Is Maverick is eating any better today....
You figure he is eating 3 oz total for the day? What food is it that you feed and have you had to assist him with the eating over the past few days?

Just a side note...this morning's number that you put for AMPS is actually considered his +12.
I know you have a lot going on, but to clarify the numbers, this is how you will show it on your SS:
The AMPS stands for AM preshot...so if you did not shoot, then the number can be moved to the previous days box for +11 with a note to the side in the notes section that it was the +12. The new day's AMPS should show the number you got before you shot the insulin. So, if you shot at that 194, that will be moved to the AMPS spot in today's SS line. You can then put something in your note section about it being shot at +14. (2 hours late)

I am wondering if you did shoot, will you be home to get a few checks in today?
Do you have high carb canned food with gravy?
We use the gravy alone to bring the numbers up if they should go low.
We don't want to fill them up, so we do not use the solids, just the HC gravy (>18% on the Janet & Binky food chart)
 
Since Lantus uses a storage shed, using varying doses really doesn't work well. In theory, yes, the higher the dose, the bigger the drop in BG, but with Lantus, it isn't as simple as using a lower dose when his BG is lower. Lantus like consistent dosing...when you change the dose, it takes a few cycles for the dose to "settle"...the storage shed needs to adjust to the change. Each dose has some effect on the current cycle, but it also carries over to the next few cycles. So, if you shoot a lower dose because you anticipate he will need less insulin, the shed will "make up" for the missing insulin, giving you much the same effect as if you shot the higher dose. The effect of the lower dose will likely be seen in later cycles. Does that make sense? Take another look at the storage shed stickie, it takes some time to digest all of the info...you're doing great though!

If you have already shot the 1.25u, please try to get some tests during the cycle...a +2 would be a great place to start.

I also have Relion syringes, and there are two sets of lines...full unit lines on the right, and half unit lines on the left. If you don't have half unit syringes, can you take them back and ask for the ones with the half unit markings, especially since the pharmacist said they had half unit markings?
 
025unit-1.jpg


This is a close view of the half unit markings on the syringe....each small one is another .5u...
and the 1.0u are the longer lines....
Is that clear to see? do your syringes look like that? maybe you can post what your syringes say on the box so we can figure out what you are using, okay?
 
I'll have to read that last post a few times to understand it lol.

Ok then his preshot reading was the 194. This was after a breakfast though, but probably two hours after breakfast and some purebites chicken for rewards.

I will test at the three hour marks again today unless you guys want more often. (ok I will test at the +2) His ear is taking a beating when you look through the light. I'm not hitting the vein like the vet instructed but more on towards the outer ear edge.

I did go with 1.25. I also just ran out quickly and got syringes that are smaller in volume but seem to show a half unit.

I have a hypo kit but I'll have to look at binky's chart to see if the chicken in gravy that I have and the whiska's packets are high enough.

I'm currently feeding him Presidents Choice Turkey and Giblets. I will assist feed him with a syringe if its needed mid day or whenever its recommended. He is used to this. I had to assist feed him to prevent dramatic weightloss when we converted him to wet food. He's already had FHL once in his life and we never ever want to go through that again.

He eats more at night than in the daytime.

Thanks so much guys. I am understanding the stickies more - I think a lot of the concepts didn't really make sense initially. I spent a week reading before we started insulin. Now that I"m actually doing it and seeing the whole picture its making more sense.
 
What does the box for the syringes show?
How did you measure the 1.25u. just asking so we are sure about how you measured it and all.
It would be good for him to eat right now after the shot, okay?
Nice job Karrie....a +2 would be great!
 
Some neosporin on the ear will help with the healing too...try to move the spot where you test up and down the edge of the ear too. Great job!

ETA: your new header should read: 10/29 Maverick AMPS=194
good job with the SS too! :thumbup
 
I used the pictures for partial dosing. Not 100% accurate but as close as I could.

I'll post pics of the newest syringes after my next conf. call.

The vet tech called back and told me to discontinue insulin for the whole weekend and to call in Monday with a blood glucose reading in the morning.

I know I won't be doing that as I can be home all day and night to monitor him. Or my husband can watch him if I have to go in with my dog.

I'll test and tempt him to eat with shaved purebites on top.
 
Ok Karrie....excellent!
I had added something about your header... should now read: 10/29 Maverick AMPS=194
And you may post any new BGs you get too....
 
+3 reading was 156.6 (8.7).

The vet tech called back and she said the vet is adamant that I stop the insulin for the weekend. I messed up by changing the dose, and the time. I let her know I was committed to keeping the 11AM 11PM dosing and he only got the one dose at 2.0.

I do not want to alienate the vet. I think I'm not going to give any more injections. I let the vet tech know that after seeing a big drop between day one and two that I just wasn't comfortable with 2 units. That she has to communicate the drop in numbers with the vet.

Now the vet called. I'm so confused. She said that when in doubt skip a dose. That I'm to call in on Monday morning with his blood glucose reading and do a curve that day without any insulin.

I'm feeling discouraged.
 
Karrie

We understand you need to have a good working relationship with your vet; however, I have found that the advisors here in this group know SOOO much more about
Lantus and it's dosing then most vets. I have an awesome vet and she's been in practice for 25 years and has lots of diabetic cat patients. But she told me she thinks these
folks are much more knowledgeable about dealing with Lantus then she is because most of her clients refuse to home monitor. So if a vet is used to that kind of client, then I can see why your vet would be worried about Maverick hypoing. But monitoring is your FRIEND :lol: Certainly, it is your decision. But consider that if, over the weekend, his numbers go back up and he's off the Lantus, you have to start from scratch again and let his shed refill....that will mean his numbers may possibly stay higher for several more cycles while the shed fills. My purpose here is not to give you advice....the advisors are better equipped to do that and they do an awesome job. I'm just reinforcing that they've worked with alot of people and helped get alot of cats into remission...they know their stuff. Having said that, you are your cat's best advocate and we always support what the "bean" believes is best for his/her kitty. It's a tough decision but you'll make the right one and we'll all be here for you either way. Good luck!
 
I know I will be causing problems by going off on the lantus for the weekend. I feel sick about it. But short of trying to find another vet - that thought is even more overwhelming.

So I'll use it as a way to come up to speed on Lantus more and have dialogue with her about it on Monday. I don't feel comfortable with more than one unit. What would have happened if I kept giving 2units every 12 hours? Would it have been fine? I shouldn't have fiddled with dosing on my own - I think thats why she's annoyed - when in doubt skip. Vs. what I've read online about never skipping and giving a token dose if anything. She didn't appreciate that.

You know what I'm ticked about - vets seem to treat me differently. They talk to me in a condescending way and I thought I found a vet that was different. I feel like a two year old thats done something wrong. I wish I had heard that I did the right thing, continue on 1.0 for the weekend and watch for lows. Instead she wants it her way.

Why do some people really luck in. I'm annoyed, embarrassed and frustrated.
 
((Karrie)) I am sending hugs to you. Take a deep breath. Now, Breathe again.
My vet had me start on 4.0u twice a day for Shadow. And they didn't tell me about home testing, but rather told me to come back in a week. :o

When I wrote on Health here in this forum, I was told that home testing is the only way to go. You are already doing that. And, you didn't spend any time on 4.0u. So the way I see...you are better off than I was. :mrgreen:

I go to my vet for dentals and check ups, but I follow the protocol here for my FD decisions.

Obviously, your vet has not read about the Protocol. Perhaps you could print out the information from the Tight Regulations sticky at the top for when/if you go back on Monday. http://felinediabetes.com/Roomp_Rand_20 ... otocol.pdf

I don't think you were treated the right way, but then again, I have heard even worse stories about vets unfortunately. I think you are doing the right thing. If you just do as you are doing now, following the guidelines here, you will see the change in Maverick's numbers. We are all following the protocol here. And there have been hundreds of kitties who have come to this forum and have even gone Off the Juice!!! There are success stories here, believe me!!

Your vet is not in your home. Your vet does not love Maverick as you do...and cannot be there to help you. You are his caregiver and you have to make decisions for him. I think you will be doing the right thing by sticking with the 1.0u or 1.25u this weekend and then you will see the numbers for yourself. What do YOU think?
Do not allow that person to bring you down. You are NOT 2 years old...and YOU know more now about this than the vet does, IMHO!! :mrgreen: Read the stickies again, and please come back and let us know how you are feeling, ok?

ETA: I totally understand your not wanting to get on the wrong side of your vet though....after saying all of the above, it comes down to what makes you most comfortable. You have to decide what you want to do...what you think is best....
:YMHUG:
 
I totally agree with everything Pat just said about vets. Do not let your vet bring you down. I know you want to have a good relationship with your vet, but I really doubt if your vet will throw you out if you don't follow his advice. And if he does, you don't want him anyway. I also had problems with my vet when we started home testing and I ended up changing vets. But even now, I give him Blackie's spreadsheet, listen to what he says and then I do what this board and the protocol says.

Maverick is doing so well so early and you should be proud of yourself for how far you've come. :YMHUG:
 
((Karrie))

I agree with everything Pat said.

One thing to remember is that the vet is your employee -- you pay her. She is offering you a valuable service but ultimately, you are choosing to employ her and you deserve to be treated like an informed person who knows and cares a great deal about your companion. In fact, you care so much that you have done your homework -- you're reading and asking questions and not blindly following instructions. You're not a lemming; you're a cat owner (or perhaps more accurately, you're owned by a cat).

I've often found that the best way to deal with arrogant medical professionals is to start asking questions. For example, what's your vet's reasoning is for stopping Maverick's insulin? Given her instructions, what about the risk for complications? What are the implications for his spending time well above renal threshold? What if he doesn't eat - is he at increased risk for diabetic ketoacidosis or hepatic lipidosis if he's not getting insulin? What published research is she basing her recommendation on? How many cats has she gotten into remission on Lantus? I'm sure if we all pitched in, we could come up with a ton of questions. The implication behind these questions is that you have done your homework and you're an informed consumer.

A less direct way of dealing with the situation may be a compromise. Hold the insulin for 24 hours and get a curve. What do Maverick's numbers look like without insulin? If his numbers are high, you can always re-start the insulin with the explanation that you knew your cat was in diabetic numbers. I've often found that pointing out that if this were the vet and her child, would she knowingly withhold insulin from a child who's BG levels were clearly in a diabetic range.

Like many here, my vet leaves me alone when it comes to managing Gabby's diabetes. The most she has to say is that I test too much. I smile and nod and know that I know my kitty better than she does. I know the way her numbers can drop and I test the way I do to catch those drops.

Whatever you decide to do, we will support your decision.
 
Thanks guys. I'm glad I'm not alone. I felt horrible today. Like a scolded embarrassed child and down on myself for not being able to communicate effectively.

The thing is I don't interact well with people for some reason. I send of this vibe that makes people defensive no matter how I go about it. I'm very aware of the feedback and do my best to not come across that way but no matter what it happens. I fear confrontation and for some reason rub people the wrong way. Especially vets it seems. I was so nervous calling his old vet, that it gave me huge anxiety. It took a confrontation for me to switch Maverick - he was the doctor and that was that. I thought I found a really good vet - she handled him so well. I still think she is a good vet, but now I feel uncomfortable. He's 13.5 years old and I want a vet that can handle me as well as him. The reason I read as much as I do is because he did get FHL two years ago. I had no idea how little I knew about cats and just listened to the vets. It took a year to diagnose him with asthma the year before that. I am also dealing with my dog with severe heart disease also. Its a bit overwhelming. My dog's vet is amazing. Just an hour and ten minutes away. Way to far for an anxious cat.

What I would like from you guys is understanding that I'm trying to do my best and balance what you guys are saying, while still having a vet to care for him. I will not blindly listen to a vet when I feel something is going to hurt him. I work from home. I know him best. I caught the diabetes very early because I weigh him and I am acutely aware of his "normal" behaviours. Recovering from FHL has made me a diligent observant owner.

I discontinued his insulin and will do the curve on Monday and we will restart from the beginning with insulin on Tuesday. I am thinking a ton about what I should do. She says when in doubt don't give a shot or call her. Thats not good enough for me. I want a clearer picture. How often is it safe in her eyes to skip a shot if she isn't available (and I'm "in doubt"). The horrible experience with Maverick's old vet has my anxiety level very high about calling and asking questions, which is why I found forums in the first place. So I need to let her know I trust her. Then when I'm 100% up to speed I can do what I think is best (forum or otherwise).

One question comes to mind, Why is she having me do a non insulin glucose curve this time but not before?

I have ketone dip sticks and can test for ketones every day until then.
 
Was the last curve done in the vet's office? If so, maybe she's thinking that the results are skewed due to vet stress and a) she put Maverick on too high of an initial dose or b) maybe Maverick doesn't need insulin.

The reality is that it's unlikely if Maverick is hitting very low numbers at 10:00 PM that your vet is going to be available. Not only will people be here, if you are dealing with low numbers and you're not sure what to do, one or more people will stay up with you while you feed and monitor. A vet can't do that no matter how good they are or well intentioned. You need a vet. Whether you need your vet to help you manage Maverick's FD, well, that remains to be seen. And we understand if you need to appease your vet. Post your numbers over the weekend. If you need help or are concerned about Maverick, we'll be here.
 
Karrie, it's tough to balance what you hear from your vet and what you're learning from people on an internet forum. You've been doing the right thing - reading, digesting, questioning, and trying to work with your vet on Maverick's treatment. There's nothing wrong with trying to preserve that relationship. It's a partnership.

Many vets err on the side of caution, and aren't working with people that home test and can catch a low and work through it to prevent a hypo. They get a little nervous when cats get lower numbers because without proper knowledge and guidance it can be dangerous for the cat.

This is just my opinion, but maybe she should have let you start with 1.0 units instead of 2.0. Waiting a day or two will simply give his "shed" time to drain and you can start over at a lower dose.

Don't beat yourself up over this. There have been many people here who have been through the exact same thing, no one thinks any less of you for not wanting to alienate your vet. We just want what's best for Maverick and for you to be comfortable with treating him.

Hugs for you, scritches for Maverick, he's a lucky boy to have you.
 
Karrie...as Sienne said, we all support you no matter what you decide to do for this weekend and beyond.
But, you did give Maverick a shot earlier and the insulin is still working in him.
I think you should still test every couple of hours tonight, starting right now and right on up until the time you were due to shoot him tonight. It is important information for your SS. Each hour will bring a new and different number so please do try to test right now and then in 2 hours ...and test at the time you were going to shoot him tonight, ok?

I am so glad that you like the vet you use for your dog. It is great to find one that you can trust. I know that the more you read, the better you will feel about things. For myself, I don't get into the ring with my vet. I realize that she is not aware of the Protocol but dealing with FD from an old fashioned point of view. Do print out the paper I linked above ...from the Queensland University ...you will like having that in hard copy.

Maybe you will update Maverick;'s numbers for us, okay? :YMHUG: And please feel free to read other condos and other profiles. The more you know, the more power you will have in dealing with this for maverick's sake. okay? :razz:
 
welcome to Lantus Land! I know it's a balancing act at first as you try to figure out what to do. It will get better. Most of us have felt similarly stuck. It's also important to remember that just by the fact that you are already testing, you are WAY ahead of the usual learning curve that they are used to dealing with. Chances are, the vet feels slightly intimidated by the fact that you are questioning. You might be the only one of their clients who tests. They are usually forced to tailor their treatment plans to the lowest common denominator and are often not used to having someone try to open their eyes. You'll have to decide whether to follow them, try to educate them, or leave them in the dark (or anything in between).

As to why they are requesting a curve with no insulin, if the pancreas is working then the numbers will usually drop a few hours after food. Maybe they are looking to see if that pattern is present. It is unlikely that Maverick would be off insulin after only 3 shots, though it has happened before.
 
You guys are so awesome. I am so glad forums of great people exist. What did people do twenty years ago? I don't think Maverick would have survived his FHL if it weren't for an amazing yahoo group.

Lots to digest and think about. Thank you for being so supportive, and honest. Wish I could talk to my vet via email. I'm going to ask her if she would be open to it. I communicate much better in writing ;) I could publish the spreadsheet and she can load it herself too. Need to find a way to get a spreasheet with working world numbers though. Every version I have - the world tab is just US numbers showing up again with US formatting (400-499 etc). I can launch spreadsheets with others using world numbers but can't save them for my own editing.

I was just going to ditch testing for the rest of the day so thank you for the instructions on continuing. His +9 reading is updated. He's eaten about 3oz of wet food today.
I'll test again at 11:00PM (12 hr preshot mark).

Thanks for the clarification on why the vet would be doing a non insulin glucose curve.

I can't thank you guys enough.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top