10/29 Jessica PM +11 56 AMPS 118 (1 hour after food)

Status
Not open for further replies.

ftsang & Jessica

Member Since 2013
Jessica previous condo

Good evening all,
Got a very low AMPS this morning 118 (1 hour after food). PM +11 was 56
Reduced the dosage to 5.5FU and fed her DM Savory Select (10% carb)
It seems that 5.75FU still too much for her. Try 5.5U this evening and see how is the number tomorrow.
 
It looks like you're starting to get some better numbers, and Jessica sure seems to go lower at night too! (Isn't that the way??)

The one thing I do notice though is that you're not holding the dose long enough. Remember, Lantus needs a consistent dose, so it should be the same dose shot every 12 hours with only a little consideration to the pre-shot numbers (although I know how hard it is to give insulin when they're in those lower numbers)

I know how you feel though...it seems like if they have a high number, we should give more, and a lower number means we should reduce, but that's not the way it works with Lantus

Jessica hasn't been "earning" her reductions by dropping under 50.

I really do understand that it seems "wrong" to give the same dose when the pre-shot numbers are so different, but that's the way you'll start to see some better numbers and know if she needs more insulin or less.

Why don't you try holding the same dose for at least 6 cycles, and then lets see what the numbers look like? Hope you'll give it a try!!

Glad to hear she's looking and feeling better too! I told my mom that it seemed like I was giving her water from the Fountain of Youth instead of insulin...there's been that big of a change in her!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top