10/29-Dolly-AMPS 259 -267@2 -251@3.75 -233@5.5-284@7.75 -240@11 -PMPS 188 -191@2

Our Dolly Girl (GA)

Very Active Member
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-5-205-11-25-pmps-269-218-3-5-160-8-5.254782/

Yesterday was a nightmare for Dolly. Even with Mirtazapine she hardly ate and then only 18% w/sardine water. Spoke with one of IM doctors. He said to give her another half dose of the Mirtazapine at Insulin time this morning. He said to give her new RX for Benadryl when it gets here. He said to give her only half of her Insulin which I did and then followed it by the other half (thank you Katherine, it was the right decision) Her numbers were high and she had 1.1 Ketones on her Ketone blood meter, high for her. Need to bring her in today if she continues to not eat. Gave her the meds and she started foaming for the next 1/2 hour or more, pacing with all this drool coming out. This reminded me of when I gave her the wrong Zyrtec. She acted traumatized until about 3am. Afraid of me. She ate some lc at 3:30am. Drinking water, litter box although I don't know when. She is eating okay so far this am, lc only. She is very lovey this morning. Maybe she got some of the Benadryl but will not give her again. I will never know what was wrong yesterday, she can't smell her food a lot of the time but will eat especially if she's had Mirtazapine. She's had Cerenia. Too much to really explain but Dolly is back to being Dolly. I will take her in to the vet if things start going wrong again. Right now I want her to rest (she was up most of the night), eat, and not be stressed if possible.



Not eating this afternoon. Insulin due in 8 minutes. I am lost about how much insulin.



Sending healing prayers to all the kitties and their caretakers that are not feeling their best
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
Thanks Elise. :bighug::bighug: Yes, transdermal.
I agree with Elise about Ondansetron for nausea. What caused her to foam at the mouth. If it's transdermal Mirataz, then Cerenia. But I am sure you know that is bitter and should be put in a gelcap? Or was it Benadryl? Is that a liquid? I'm sorry, I am trying to understand what caused the foaming. It is horrible when that happens. This has happened to me before, too. I didn't realize when you posted yesterday that her ketones had gone up over 1. Those definitely need to come down. But if she's not eating that is contributing to the high ketones, I am sure.
 
L
I agree with Elise about Ondansetron for nausea. What caused her to foam at the mouth. If it's transdermal Mirataz, then Cerenia. But I am sure you know that is bitter and should be put in a gelcap? Or was it Benadryl? Is that a liquid? I'm sorry, I am trying to understand what caused the foaming. It is horrible when that happens. This has happened to me before, too. I didn't realize when you posted yesterday that her ketones had gone up over 1. Those definitely need to come down. But if she's not eating that is contributing to the high ketones, I am sure.
It was liquid Benadryl. It happens instantly. Her ketones were down to 0.5 this morning. She is eating some lc and a little hc. She was up all night pacing off and on. She was traumatized. Her Cerenia is liquid and she is fine with it.
 
L

It was liquid Benadryl. It happens instantly. Her ketones were down to 0.5 this morning. She is eating some lc and a little hc. She was up all night pacing off and on. She was traumatized. Her Cerenia is liquid and she is fine with it.
Is that pacing a known side-effect of Benadryl -- does it say so on the Rx information? Strange that Benadryl makes most people go to sleep. I was thinking it must be the liquid Benadryl - I bet it tastes terrible. How awful for you to see her reacting like that. I was so hoping it was going to help when you said she had a new antihistamine!! Poor Dolly. I'm very relieved to hear she is eating!!! That makes me happy. And the ketones being down is wonderful.
 
Adrienne, I am not onsite much these days but I want you to know that I am always thinking about you and your Dolly. It sounds like you had a better day today and for that I am grateful. You are doing everything you can to help her. I hope you can relax a bit yourself. I hope your night is uneventfull and that you and Dolly can get some sleep. You always have my prayers, sweet friend. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Adrienne, I am not onsite much these days but I want you to know that I am always thinking about you and your Dolly. It sounds like you had a better day today and for that I am grateful. You are doing everything you can to help her. I hope you can relax a bit yourself. I hope your night is uneventfull and that you and Dolly can get some sleep. You always have my prayers, sweet friend. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you sweet Summer. I ( the truth) think about you every day. Just a short time ago I was going down the list of posts to find your last one but got interrupted, and here you are. I hope you are doing as well as possible. I miss seeing your name and I miss Susie. I miss your posts and how much you have done to give me support and know how much you care about me and Dolly. Take good care of you. I hope your mom is okay. I hope we talk again soon. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Can you assist feed her? Have you got zofran/ondansetron to give her? It's a much better drug for treating nausea. She's pretty high for Dolly. If it were me and I could assist feed at least 2/3 of her meal over the cycle, I'd shoot full dose. Did that many times in your shoes. :bighug:
 
Can you assist feed her? Have you got zofran/ondansetron to give her? It's a much better drug for treating nausea. She's pretty high for Dolly. If it were me and I could assist feed at least 2/3 of her meal over the cycle, I'd shoot full dose. Did that many times in your shoes. :bighug:
I have never syringe fed her. The doctor was concerned that if she is a fighter, and she is, it could go down the wrong tube and cause other problems. She will probably spit it out. I bought some baby food. I am already 15 minutes late. You mean 2/3 of a meal over the 12 hours?
 
I am totally unprepared and it’s a half hour past insulin time. She is a grazer and usually eats throughout the day. It would take 3-4 jars of the baby food. I only have two snd I tried, it’s flying everywhere but her mouth. I need to give her some insulin.
I am totally unprepared and it’s a half hour past insulin time. She is a grazer and usually eats throughout the day. It would take 3-4 jars of the baby food. I only have two snd I tried, it’s flying everywhere but her mouth. I need to give her some insulin.
Thank you trying to help me. She can’t smell anything which is why she won’t eat. I should have been better prepared but I am not. I don’t have the right tools to grind up food. The most I could maybe do is give her the gravy from a high carb food. She is at 188 BG. 0.9 ketones. I don’t know if I should give the full dose and just pray I can get some food down her. I felt I was doing a good job with Dolly so far but now when she needs help more than ever I can’t seem to manage it.
 
Back
Top