10/29, Corduroy, AMPS=339

Status
Not open for further replies.

blove7

Member Since 2013
Good morning! ~O)

Cords' BG levels are kinda going down, slowly...very slowly. I just hope they keep going that way. I know it's not good to keep changing their food, but upon initial thought, I was gonna keep feeding the Weruva and just plan on keeping his insulin dose higher. But on second thought, and looking at the food chart with much scrutiny, I've decided to go back to Evo 95% Chicken and Turkey. It just seems that that Weruva is really doing a number on him! Pretty soon though, I'm going to start making their food. After poring over the information that's out there about it, I feel like it's the best way to control the phosphorous to calcium ratio. I ordered a Tasin TS-108 grinder. It should be here by today or tomorrow.

I hope everyone's kitties have a great day and that they take a SAFE dip in the lagoon! :mrgreen:
 
How exciting that you'll be making food! I can't wait to hear how it goes.
You'll definitely have more control over what they eat :smile: .

I hope Cord continues to come down, even if s-l-o-w-l-y.
Have a great day!
 
HI guys .. that's so cool you'll be making their own food soon! It's probably the best way to ensure your kitties are getting exactly what they need .. have a great day guys!
 
looks like it's not so slow today! I would keep on top of his numbers today, if you just made the switch to a lower carb food. Corduroy has had some dramatic responses to lower doses than this.

About the food, it might not be a bad idea to put him on a food that is slightly higher carb than the EVO. I think Jill and I suggested that a while back, and to me it still looks like a good idea. Your Weruva experiment seems to bear that out too.

Here's why I say that: Corduroy seems to need a bit more than 0.1u to help with his high numbers, but 0.1u makes him go too low. It's a catch-22, he probably needs the higher dose but you can't safely give it unless you change something else too. If you can increase his carbs a little, then his numbers will possibly be high enough that you can safely increase his dose just a little bit. That should help with the highs. Eventually you should be able to get to a dose that will flatten him out in good numbers (at which point he will probably start needing reductions again, but he'll be earning them because he is ready for them rather than because the fast drops force you to reduce).

Just a thought. Obviously if the Weruva didn't agree with him then that might not be the right food, but it's something to think about.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top