10/29 Chewy AMPS 418 +2 205 +4 132 +6 135 +8 128 +10 104 +12 161

Shannon & Chewy

Member Since 2022
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...ps-73-2-57-8-129-pmp-136.270173/#post-3012196

Chewy's AMPS was 418. This morning he was hungry but not eating as much as usual so I only shot 2U. I think he is tired of the chicken can I've been giving him so I switched to another Weruva flavor. He barely touched his kibble but maybe he had too much of that yesterday. He is alert and playful. I have three sets of labs on the Google Doc spreadsheet which I've shared but I don't see them when I view the spreadsheet from my profile.

Chewy's recent labs were mostly normal but for the 64 BG, 396 Fructosamine (was 637 before insulin treatment began) and his Creatine went from 1.7 to 3.4 and BUN went from 29 to 30. I've been doing full blood panel every 3 months. Chewy's never has urine when I take him to vet (past 3 visits) and I've not been successful with home testing with the plastic pellets in litterbox. I plan to take him to vet early next week to leave him for the day so they can get urine from him. For now, vet wanted to treat him for potential UTI using Baytril.

I just ordered Ketostix and read some tips on testing. I will try and find a way to use them. I also ordered hydrophobic cat litter since Chewy did not take to plastic pellets. Cross fingers that works.

Thanks so much to Diane for answering all my questions last night.
 
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...ps-73-2-57-8-129-pmp-136.270173/#post-3012196

Chewy's AMPS was 418. This morning he was hungry but not eating as much as usual so I only shot 2U. I think he is tired of the chicken can I've been giving him so I switched to another Weruva flavor. He barely touched his kibble but maybe he had too much of that yesterday. He is alert and playful. I have three sets of labs on the Google Doc spreadsheet which I've shared but I don't see them when I view the spreadsheet from my profile.

Chewy's recent labs were mostly normal but for the 64 BG, 396 Fructosamine (was 637 before insulin treatment began) and his Creatine went from 1.7 to 3.4 and BUN went from 29 to 30. I've been doing full blood panel every 3 months. Chewy's never has urine when I take him to vet (past 3 visits) and I've not been successful with home testing with the plastic pellets in litterbox. I plan to take him to vet early next week to leave him for the day so they can get urine from him. For now, vet wanted to treat him for potential UTI using Baytril.

I just ordered Ketostix and read some tips on testing. I will try and find a way to use them. I also ordered hydrophobic cat litter since Chewy did not take to plastic pellets. Cross fingers that works.

Thanks so much to Diane for answering all my questions last night.

Good morning Shannon ,you are welcome I tagged the members again just now on your post from yesterday to see what they think.
There is usually a tab for labs up top on the SS , look at my SS
Are you going to try and do a curve today
What Weruva does he like Pates?
I'll check back with you later to see what's going on, going to visit my DSD who has Alzheimer's at the nursing home
@Shannon & Chewy

I also read on one of your previous posts that Bhooma said
His SDMA is 15 which is very early stage kidney disease. He does not need to be on a renal food.
 
Last edited:
I will do a curve today starting at +2 and if Chewy gets a shot tonight I will test at +2 in the PM. I re-linked to Chewy's spreadsheet in my signature. I hope that now shows the labs I added. His SDMA came down to 14 but Creatinine and BUN doubled in the past 3 months. Vet wants to test kidney levels again in 3 weeks. He was eating the Weruva Cats in the Kitchen Fowl Ball Chicken & Turkey Au Jus Grain-Free Canned Cat Food really well until recently. He likes the BFF gravy Weruva but will not eat too much of it.
 
Sorry none of us were available yesterday. It’s hard to pick a dose with the limited information and I understand why you don’t have more. 3.5 was definitely too much. I probably would have suggested you try 2.5. Your vet had you increasing way too fast and too often. Lantus needs consistency.
 
I will do a curve today starting at +2 and if Chewy gets a shot tonight I will test at +2 in the PM. I re-linked to Chewy's spreadsheet in my signature. I hope that now shows the labs I added.

Don’t do a curve today because he’s bouncing from the low yesterday. It won’t give you a good picture. Get a +2 and post it. That’s often an indication of whether the cycle will be active.
 
I probably would have suggested you try 2.5. Your vet had you increasing way too fast and too often. Lantus needs consistency
Hi Elise that's what I suggested also on her post from last night , I'm glad you also suggested 2.5 since I am not that experienced when it comes to advice about doses :bighug::cat:
 
He was eating the Weruva Cats in the Kitchen Fowl Ball Chicken & Turkey Au Jus Grain-Free Canned Cat Food really well until recently. He likes the BFF gravy Weruva but will not eat too much of it.
I know they get tired of the same old food


I think I told you this before
With weruva foods
You want the metabolizable energy profile percentage of carbs to be less than 10%, and the phosphorus which Weruva lists in Minerals to be less than 250 mg per 100 cals. So you have to look at two different places in the Weruva charts.
https://weruva.com



YOU WANT CARBS UNDER 10% AND PHOSPHORUS IDEALLY LOW 200's OR LESS

Go to this thread , there are a lot of weruva foods listed here in post #3 , post numbers are to the left
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/kidney-disease.262271/#post-2940026

Also
https://www.soulisticpet.com/nutritional-information-pate
I think you look under the same two places like in the Weruva to get the carbs and phosphorus %

If Chewy likes Pate here are the weruva pages
Take a look here https://weruva.com/nutrition-landing/pates-ni/

@Shannon & Chewy

A member listed these weruva food
  • BFF play chicken Checkmate
    • Protein 31% ME (DMB 47.7%)
    • Carbs 5% ME
    • Phosphorus 129
  • BFF play chicken & turkey topsy turvy
    • Protein 32% (DMB 48.1%)
    • Carbs 5%
    • Phosphorus 129
  • BFF play chicken cherish
    • Protein 31% (DMB 47.1%)
    • Carbs 5%
    • Phosphorus 135
  • BFF chicken & turkey tiptoe
    • Protein 31% (DMB 47.5%)
    • Carbs 5%
    • Phosphorus 136
  • BFF chicken duck & turkey take a chance
    • Protein 32% (DMB 48.5%)
    • Carbs 5%
    • Phosphorus 149
  • BFF play chicken & lamb laugh out loud
    • Protein 31% (DMB 47.6%)
    • Carbs 5%
    • Phosphorus 154
  • BFF play chicken & duck destiny
    • Protein 32% (DMB 47.8%)
    • Carbs 5%
    • Phosphorus 165
  • BFF play chicken & beef best buds
    • Protein 33% (DMB 49.3%)
    • Carbs 5%
    • Phosphorus 171
  • Truluxe Glam n’ Punk
    • Protein 36.4% (DMB 54%)
    • Carbs 0.6%
    • Phosphorus 180
  • @Shannon & Chewy
Tyler likes Tiki Cat Succulent Chicken it's like shreds of chicken
I emailed Tiki Cat and carbs are 0.338. And phosphorus is 0.93

He also likes Weruva Chicken Frick a Zee 2% carbs and 174 prosperous
 
Last edited:
Can someone tell me how to edit title of this thread? Curve today AMPS 418 +2 205 (fed hertz gravy) +4 132 (did not feed) +6 135
 
Thank you. I changed the title. The canned food I feed Chewy is 4% carbs 180 Phosphorous. I have other BFF OMG gravies that were on the list as well. Over the past few weeks, I have been able to get Chewy to eat more can and less Blue Buffalo kidney dry food. I know dry food and Blue Buffalo kidney are terrible. I was going to try Young Again but the potential stomach issues it causes made me question whether I wanted to do it. I also have a bag of Crave but I wanted to wait and see how the kidney values were in the latest bloodwork.

I feed my three cats together and the other 2 barely touch the cans.
 
While I have your attention on the last Saturday of October, I wonder if I could ask about next steps. Since I have Chewy at 2U today, should I keep him at that level until I do the next curve (or he drops below 90)? If so, what numbers am I looking for next curve to determine whether he needs a dose increase or should stay at the same level?
 
While I have your attention on the last Saturday of October, I wonder if I could ask about next steps. Since I have Chewy at 2U today, should I keep him at that level until I do the next curve (or he drops below 90)? If so, what numbers am I looking for next curve to determine whether he needs a dose increase or should stay at the same level?
You would keep him on the 2 units for 7 days and do another curve , or you might not have to see what Elise says or unless he drops under 90 , going to tag Elise for you about this , I think she can explain it better than me
@tiffmaxee

Meantime until you hear back from Elise I copied this from the SLGS page
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
@tiffmaxee

Shannon just want to be sure you are still using the Alpha Trak correct
I only ask because you said yesterday that you might pick up The Relion Premier Classic Human Meter so you can compare them and get used to the human BG numbers

@Shannon & Chewy
 
Last edited:
+8 128 +9.45 (87 but retested to 104 because initial blood drop was small). Chewy will eat in 1 hr and 40 minutes and pre-shot would be in 2 hrs if he got high enough. Do I need to do anything? I'm worried he will go too low but maybe it will be slow.
 
I forgot to mention that I need to pill him in 20 minutes and I have to use two pill pockets since this antibiotic is so large I break it in half Not sure if that food will falsely raise him but he has 9 more days on these meds.
 
Chewie ended the curve with a boost to 161. I'm on the fence about giving him insulin tonight since it's under 200 & he is eating less than usual. I may give him 1U and see how he is at +2. If anyone sees this in the next 10 minutes let me know what you think.
 
Back
Top