10.29 Charlie AMPS 145 +3.5 54 +5 66 +6 84 + 8 116 PMPS 138 +2 119

Sarah & Charlie-cat

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...5-82-6-67-7-90-pmps-82-stall-88-2-119.283000/

Charlie sez, hold my beer.

I should have guessed by how clingy he was. But when he started trying to climb up onto the desk where the little cats eat, I figured I would test since he was clearly STARVING, MOTHER, NO HAS FED ME IN THE HISTORY OF EVER!

He just ate a big spoon full of his food and is hunting stray kibbles off the floor. Not giving him more in case I need him to eat again in an hour.

I know the depot is still draining but um, that was not what I was expecting dropping him a whole unit.
@Sienne and Gabby (GA) @Bandit's Mom
 
I would not necessarily reduce Charlie's dose again. I would wait to see what's going on at PMPS.

FWIW, I would not have predicted Charlie being in lower numbers today. It really makes we wonder how much his numbers were being driven by the prednisolone and/or some inflammatory process (i.e., the IBD).
 
I have been sure that there was some sort of inflammation driving his numbers, along with the pred, for a while. If it wasn't agro, then there had to be something driving his numbers up. We were at 6 u and it was barely making a dent.

So if this diet change is reducing the inflammation, along with dropping the pred, then poof!

The 54 was shocking to me as well. But also I felt like I wouldn't have been surprised that that huge reduction didn't lead to higher numbers necessarily
 
The larger depot can influence 4-6 cycles after a reduction. And it can take a few cycles before you see what that new dose can do. If you see he shoots up a lot by PMPS, then you can guess that the larger depot is finally taking a back seat. However, SLGS says to reduce immediately by 0.25 units if you see something under 90. If he's on a fast roll down dose, for whatever reason, it's easier to reduce and go back up later if need be than to constantly be worried about low numbers.

Is he completely off of pred now? That can make a big difference in dose needed.
 
That was my logic. If he's running down doses, we can go back up if we need but I need to not be having to check multiple times a day and worrying. Especially when I have work things coming up where it's simply going to be impossible. If this was more predictable, ok, but this is like a totally different cat! And since he's on high carb food, it's much harder to tinker with this food or that food. And weirdly, I don't think his bump on this new food is a whole lot bigger than the 0 carb food!

His last pred dose was 20 days ago.

I know that was a huge reduction and he is up a good bit now, 116 at +8, so I think that depot draining has started.
 
Lol, higher than last night but lower than the night before.

Depending on what his plus 2 looks like, I hope this means I can go to bed at a normal time.
 
My Charlie had multiple issues and was a huge puzzle and challenge as well. Fix one thing, break another, hope and stress over getting back to square one and start over. For a very long time it felt like we were skirting the rim of the Grand Canyon (medically speaking) and that one small gust of wind would blow us off the cliff.

For what it’s worth, pred (for IBD) is what threw my Charlie into diabetes. After removing pred, he came off insulin quickly. Budesonide had the same effect, unfortunately. Charlie also struggled with chronic pancreatitis. That was a huge challenge, but over time with fluids and pain meds and anti-nausea meds, we managed to hold things at a dull roar. In the end, Charlie could eat one flavor of one brand of food, with canned pumpkin mixed in, and no wiggle room whatsoever. He was also not particularly carb sensitive, which made bringing up BG tricky. Karo added to the food was my only option.

I guess my point is to say that given the rough path you two have traveled, if you find something that works, especially regarding food, I’d be inclined to stick with it, at least for awhile.

I also found that my Charlie was super sensitive to even small amounts of insulin and could have wide BG swings. That didn’t seem to be the case with your Charlie, at least not during the window of time he went up to 6u, but removing pred and addressing inflammation changes the game. I’m glad to hear you’re taking the reductions. He seems to be holding them well, and as already mentioned, you can always bump back up the dose if needed. With your upcoming schedule and more limited testing, I think it’s wise to be cautious.

I’ve been following your posts and you two have had a particularly rough ride. One foot in front of the other—you’re doing great.
 
@JL and Chip, is it a Charlie thing? I appreciate the encouragement :)

The most frustrating thing is that he was put on pred for something he didn't have any the vet kept increasing the dose because they couldn't be bothered actually taking a slide of his blood. Like all of this could have been avoided?

And our other male (Sir Harold Meow-meow, the sweetest, cuddliest cat, who was a stray who lived in our back alley/under our porch, but now lives inside) has a wound that won't heal and is now worse than ever as he's licked himself raw in places. Trying to balance keeping them both going and well has been hard. Hoping to get him into K-State soon since his vet has basically given up. But it's a crazy juggle to do that. I might have to take Charlie with me since it's 3 hours each way. He hates the car so much.
 
Maybe. I haven't checked those in a while since he's been so low. But it would make me anxious to skip after his DKA bout. It's anxiety producing either way.
 
Fed him second dinner at +1. He's down a little. Hopefully, he'll be surfing safely tonight. Gotta get to bed so I can sound like a grown up when I meet with my Dean tomorrow
 
Back
Top