10/29 Biggie PMPS 81 +2 107 +3 99 +4 101

Jackie and Biggie

Member Since 2022
Yesterday

He earned his first dose reduction after last night. SO he got 2.5u this morning. Hope he does well on his lowered dose. He had some soft stool this morning, so thinking next time he needs HC I might need to just go with maple syrup mixed in LC so as not to disturb his tummy.
 
52 @ AM +3
@Bandit's Mom @tiffmaxee
Giving HC now - added 4 drops of maple syrup to his LC b/c he had soft stool from large amount of HC gravy food I fed last night. Usually a small amount of MC gravy food doesn’t bother him but I fed a lot of HC to keep his numbers up last night.

Wondering if I dosed him right this morning. I thought since he was in the upper 70’s at AMPS and his dose was being reduced he would be ok.

He has a ways to go in his cycle so I’ll be feeding and testing a lot to keep his numbers up. I know some of this has to do with his depot from the higher dose, but just want to make sure I’m on the right track and should give the 2.5 tonight if he is over 50?
 
Yes, the depot will likely affect the next 4 cycles or more so feed carbs as needed to prevent another drop under 50. You will stick with 2.5. He might go under 50 again but try and prevent that. You did the right thing this morning.
 
Yes, the depot will likely affect the next 4 cycles or more so feed carbs as needed to prevent another drop under 50. You will stick with 2.5. He might go under 50 again but try and prevent that. You did the right thing this morning.
Thanks so much for the confirmation and explanation and helpful advice on what to expect. :bighug:
 
Congrats on the reduction! Looks like you have your hands full keeping him over 50. Some cats do get a tummy upset with the ingredients in HC, so syrup with LC might indeed be the way to go.
 
Congrats on the reduction! Looks like you have your hands full keeping him over 50.

Thanks Bhooma! Yes, he is keeping me busy and awake, but worth every minute.

Some cats do get a tummy upset with the ingredients in HC, so syrup with LC might indeed be the way to go.

Yes, he has IBS so it’s not unexpected, but his stools had been pretty good for awhile so definitely want to avoid any upset. Today after I gave maple syrup I noticed he was breathing more rapidly (around 60 respirations/min) for awhile. Have you noticed or heard that cats breathe faster as their sugar is rising from the HC?
 
Back
Top