10/29 Bernie AMPS: 173, +2.5: 118, +3.5: 140, +5.83: 143, +9: 235, PMPS: 223 - cute video

Megan and Bernie

Member Since 2020
10/28 condo

Bernie, during this week’s DST walk-back on times:

upload_2020-10-29_6-47-2.jpeg


Good morning, y’all! I increased Bernie to 4u last night. While she’d been in the lagoon 3 times at 3.75u, she’d been at that dose for 16 cycles. Hopefully that was the right call.

I’ve flipped through quite a few SSs and have noticed that most of y’all’s kitties are under 2u and are very well-regulated. Is it normal for her to be up to 4u? At what point is dosing considered high-dose and IAA or acro brought into consideration?

Hope everyone has a wonderful day! One more day until Friday! :):):)
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-10-29_6-47-2.jpeg
    upload_2020-10-29_6-47-2.jpeg
    57.8 KB · Views: 108
Cute pics!! I wake up between 3 and 5 every day...ugh...

As for needing more juice, they need what they need. I think when the dose gets to be 5 or higher then you might want to consider getting the vet to test for IAA / ACRO... @Wendy&Neko could probably tell you a lot more about that...she's west coast so will probably be along later as I've tagged her.

I don't think Bernie is looking too bad on these increasing doses though. You're doing a great job with the testing!

Have a wonderful day!
 
Cute pics!! I wake up between 3 and 5 every day...ugh...

As for needing more juice, they need what they need. I think when the dose gets to be 5 or higher then you might want to consider getting the vet to test for IAA / ACRO... @Wendy&Neko could probably tell you a lot more about that...she's west coast so will probably be along later as I've tagged her.

I don't think Bernie is looking too bad on these increasing doses though. You're doing a great job with the testing!

Have a wonderful day!
Thank you so much! I’m so grateful for all your help. I’d be totally lost without it and this board. Hope you have a wonderful day! :cat::cat:
 
Thanks so much for all the support, y’all! I love this community so much! ♥♥♥

I’m curious how her cycle would’ve gone had I not intervened. Her +2.5 was promising, but I had to run out from her +3.5 to +5.5 for a last minute doc appt. DH was home to monitor, but it breaks his heart poking her (I mean, I know I’m biased and all, but this man has the gentlest, sweetest heart of any human I’ve ever met). I looked at what I gave her to surf the other night and gave her what I intended to be a small bump with MC, just to flatten her fall a smidge so he’d only have to poke her once, but apparently overshot my mark LOL ya live and ya learn, right?

I tried attaching a video of her dive-bombing her new favorite toy from her brother yesterday (pics on yesterday’s post), but I couldn’t get the video to attach. I think I figured it out though! DH said the link will play the video. She’s such a nut! :cat:

https://share.icloud.com/photos/0MGgMLCsAVYoGW9OMn5y7RmwQ
 
think when the dose gets to be 5 or higher then you might want to consider getting the vet to test for IAA / ACRO
We usually suggest testing for those secondary endocrine conditions when the dose gets to 6 units, or if the caregiver is seeing signs that make them suspicious. We've had cats on a bit above 5 units finally hit their fitting dose and go back down. We also had cats with IAA and acromegaly (and Cushings, though less common) on less than 5 units. FWIW, Neko's good dose ranged from 8.75 units, down to 0.75 units, up to 7.0 units and back down to 0.25 units - over the space of 5 years.

The important numbers are the BG's, not the dose. Having said that, Bernie's numbers are definitely getting better. :cool: Love to see our sugar kitties feeling playful. :)
 
She’s such a nut!

She's so cute! They both are!!

DH was home to monitor, but it breaks his heart poking her

I remember the feeling...and I'm going to say something that you may think sounds cruel...but I want you to ask him to think about it this way; poking her ear is saving her life!

I mean it IS literally saving her life! I despise poking my cat multiple times a day...it hurts me to hurt her...so I understand about your DH soft heart...none of us enjoy inflicting pain on our beloved kitties...but I had to tell myself...this hurts for a second, but it will save your life...

It helped give me the courage to do those pokes...many many pokes and the shots too...

She really doesn't seem to mind all that much...I keep telling myself it's a small price to pay for keeping her healthy and happy. :)
 
We usually suggest testing for those secondary endocrine conditions when the dose gets to 6 units, or if the caregiver is seeing signs that make them suspicious. We've had cats on a bit above 5 units finally hit their fitting dose and go back down. We also had cats with IAA and acromegaly (and Cushings, though less common) on less than 5 units. FWIW, Neko's good dose ranged from 8.75 units, down to 0.75 units, up to 7.0 units and back down to 0.25 units - over the space of 5 years.
Oh, good to know, thank you so much for the info! :)

The important numbers are the BG's, not the dose. Having said that, Bernie's numbers are definitely getting better. :cool: Love to see our sugar kitties feeling playful. :)
Bernie says thank you, as well! I’m hopeful she’s close to a good dose. I agree her BGs are definitely getting better - I just wanted to make sure she was on the right track and I wasn’t missing anything :cat:

I remember the feeling...and I'm going to say something that you may think sounds cruel...but I want you to ask him to think about it this way; poking her ear is saving her life!
I don’t think you sound cruel at all, I think that’s great advice and a great way to look at it! :):bighug:
 
Back
Top