Re: 10/29 Bast AMPS 268 (late) +3 80 +5 75 +6 64
"Normal", I believe, is 50-120 on a human meter. 64 is a really nice number for +6. Although ECID, +6 is a typical time for nadir to occur. He might have a later nadir than that, and nadir timing can change. So you can check again in an hour, and see if he's following a "typical curve" which would have him stay in that range for an hour or more longer, then start rising as he gets closer to his next shot time.
When you see a number below 50, following the TR protocol, it is the indicator that a dose reduction is called for. 40s are still okay, but if you see a number below 50, especially earlier in the cycle before the nadir, you would want to monitor closely and feed in order to get the numbers back up above 50 or 60.
As far as "not over 200".... of course that is everyone's goal, and as the body heals, those number become more common. If you look at most kitties' spreadsheets, you'll see that those numbers happen often, even for cats that have been on insulin for a while. They happen to most cats, at least until they become very well regulated or are heading for remission. Numbers over 200 are not drastic, and it is the lower sub-50 numbers that are more of a concern.
Today's numbers look like this dose is working well for Bast.
Carl