10/29 Bast AMPS 268 (late) +3 80 +6 64 +10 160 PMPS 243

Status
Not open for further replies.

Misty&Bast

Member Since 2012
This morning we had a family emergency just as I was about to test Bast. I decided rather than shoot blind I would wait. After taking care of the emergency I came home and did test food shot about an hour late.

I will be home most of the day to keep an eye on him
 
Re: 10/29 Bast AMPS 268 (late)

Sorry to hear about the emergency, and hope all is well now. You did the right thing waiting and shooting late. Always a better choice to do that than to shoot "blind" :smile: And nice to see the yellow number too!

Carl
 
Re: 10/29 Bast AMPS 268 (late)

Since I was home I did a +3 check (yea, mom is waking me up to poke me again...) and it was 80. Seems his numbers are doing better!
 
Re: 10/29 Bast AMPS 268 (late) +3 80

Very nice. And a +4 might be a good idea in case he wants to go much lower. Maybe even a +3.5?

Carl
 
Re: 10/29 Bast AMPS 268 (late) +3 80 +5 75

Those numbers look perfect. :smile:

Carl
 
Re: 10/29 Bast AMPS 268 (late) +3 80 +5 75 +6 64

+6 64

isn't the goal 80-150? but not lower than 50 or higher than 200?
 
Re: 10/29 Bast AMPS 268 (late) +3 80 +5 75 +6 64

"Normal", I believe, is 50-120 on a human meter. 64 is a really nice number for +6. Although ECID, +6 is a typical time for nadir to occur. He might have a later nadir than that, and nadir timing can change. So you can check again in an hour, and see if he's following a "typical curve" which would have him stay in that range for an hour or more longer, then start rising as he gets closer to his next shot time.

When you see a number below 50, following the TR protocol, it is the indicator that a dose reduction is called for. 40s are still okay, but if you see a number below 50, especially earlier in the cycle before the nadir, you would want to monitor closely and feed in order to get the numbers back up above 50 or 60.

As far as "not over 200".... of course that is everyone's goal, and as the body heals, those number become more common. If you look at most kitties' spreadsheets, you'll see that those numbers happen often, even for cats that have been on insulin for a while. They happen to most cats, at least until they become very well regulated or are heading for remission. Numbers over 200 are not drastic, and it is the lower sub-50 numbers that are more of a concern.

Today's numbers look like this dose is working well for Bast.

Carl
 
Re: 10/29 Bast AMPS 268 (late) +3 80 +5 75 +6 64 +10 160

+10 160
Normally I would shoot in an hour but he was late this morning so I figure shoot later unless his numbers are up
 
pmps 243
His numbers are going down. We had a little fight about eating- normally he eats right away when i put the food down. So I added water- still no go. so i added a little catnip on top- nope. so i put some on a spoon and dabbed it on his mouth. then when he started licking i lowered the spoon to the bowl till he was licking the bowl. HA
so he got his shot after he started eating.

so now I am going to nap for a few hours and then get another reading.

+2.2 135
made sure he ate some more.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top