10/29 Asia AMPS 319 What the depot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stacy & Asia

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-28-asia-amps-303-3-424-4-434-10-572-pmps-533.186021/

Asia seems perky this morning, yesterday she was a snoozer for most of the day, maybe she's actually not liking the reds and blacks so much anymore? If so, that would be a small progress.

A question about the depot that I'm not understanding. Assuming yesterday was a fur shot, why the astronomically high numbers? Isn't the depot like an unused reserve of insulin (thus why you can't dose it on immediate need like fast insulin)? I would have thought the depot would have her covered, at the very least, for a cycle without a shot. Or am I confused how that works? It could have also been an extremely large bounce, but it looks more like non insulin numbers.

I do the grab and roll over my finger method for the shots, by the way. I always see skin and the needle go in and I don't think it could poke out the other side, but could poke into a muscle or something, I suppose, if I do it wrong.
 
When they are on a good dose where they are consistently seeing greens the depot can carry them through a bit better. A FS or skipped shot with a well regulated (mostly green) kitty usually doesn't send them too sky high and the recovery is pretty quick. Otherwise, since the dose isn't doing it's trick, the depot isn't strong enough. With FS, we never know how much insulin they actually got which is why we never shoot again. Hopefully Asia will trend down nicely today.
 
When they are on a good dose where they are consistently seeing greens the depot can carry them through a bit better. A FS or skipped shot with a well regulated (mostly green) kitty usually doesn't send them too sky high and the recovery is pretty quick. Otherwise, since the dose isn't doing it's trick, the depot isn't strong enough. With FS, we never know how much insulin they actually got which is why we never shoot again. Hopefully Asia will trend down nicely today.
That makes sense. So in theory, she was already not getting enough insulin (and potentially trying to get more from the depot even before the fur shot, which maybe could explain the few blues here and there) so there was basically no reserve for her? And yes, I understand about not shooting twice, because there is no way to know.
 
The depot won't "replace" your entire dose of insulin. If it did, you'd have to start rebuilding the entire depot every time you skipped a shot.

Remember, it takes roughly a week to establish the depot and takes several days to stabilize the depot when you increase or decrease a dose. It should also comes as no surprise that every cat responds differently to a fur shot and we've even seen some cats have a non-response to an overdose even though with the depot, we might expect a very dangerous drop in numbers. Between a cat's metabolism and their unpredictable nature, the best thing to do is to test so you know what is going on with your kitty. And never make assumptions!

 
Asia had a mellow and not terribly high numbered day, which I am happy about. gave her ears a little break because nothing crazy was going on. How weird that her PMPS was lower than her nadir! :confused: Not sure yet if it's from taking up her food after nadir. She was pretty happy today, lots of talking and purring and just being her cute, sweet self! :cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top