10/28 Tibbs amps 444 +4 435 terrible numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

tibbs5

Member Since 2014
I think i'm going to have to get really aggressive with his increases. I am going to get a +2 on him tonight to see if he's dropping early because he clearly is not dropping at +4 to +7 any where. Time to increase to 2 units i think? I have to get this boy into good numbers somehow. I am just so stressed. His 5 p's are good but his BG is terrible.
I think i should increase every 6 to 10 cycles until I see something !! What do you all think? thanks so much.


link to same relaxed lantus post
viewtopic.php?f=32&t=127608
 
A few more tests will definitely help fill in the blanks, but I'm inclined to agree that Tibbs probably needs more juice. Can you get 2 -3 mid-cycles spot check tests, to get a better feel for what's going on? If he really is holding in the reds like it appears he is, I wouldn't hold a dose much longer than 6 cycles until you start seeing more action...since he's ketone-prone, you definitely do want to be aggressive. It is great that he's feeling good, though...that is a big part of what this is all about!
 
No dosing advice here, just wanted to say hello and send along healing and comfort vines for you and Tibbs- I am sure you will get lots of great advice from the super people here! :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
I agree you need to go up to 2 units.....as well as getting a few more tests sprinkled in

If you can get more tests in, we have suggested some kittys that are prone to ketones to increase every 4 cycles instead of waiting the 6 until we start to see some progress

Good luck with the dosecrease!
 
I'd go ahead and increase with your next shot. Getting more tests and mixing up the times of the tests will help you make decisions, but It looks to me like he doesn't have enough insulin.

I wonder if that 127 was accurate. If so, he would have surely bounced and if he'd bounced, as high as he usually is, he would most likely have bounced for the full 3days. Three days after the 127, he was 465. There's no sign of a bounce clearing that day or the day before.

The other reason I'm suspicious of the 127 is because of the previous green test...a 51 inbetween the 418 and 324. That's pretty inconsistent with the rest of the cycle. I doubt it's right.

Any chance your strips are old, nadine? Or maybe they've been exposed to the air, like the lid left open?

Although the guidelines would suggest increasing by 0.5u for nadirs over 300 I think I would increase by 0.25 u because of these couple of odd tests.
 
Good luck with the increase Nadine. Last time he was on 2.0 he had more pink preshots, less red and saw more blue. However, whatever a cat did last time on a dose is not a predictor of what he'll do this time.

I noticed on your Relaxed post that you are thinking about Levemir. Lantus can be a good insulin for kitties - you just haven't gotten Tibbs up to a good dose yet so it's hard to evaluate how well it's working for Tibbs.
 
thanks everyone. i am going to keep going up in dose by .25 and give Lantus a little more time. i will start the 2u tomorrow. fingers & little paws crossed. thank you
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top