10/28 - shakes-work from home - WTF??

Status
Not open for further replies.

dmartini4

Very Active Member
Ok I am seeing a trnd that I dont like or understand
Shakes numbers today were 256amps
+5 285
+8 269
(oh and he threw up at +3 and I made him eat)
that seems to be the trend lately, just flat numbers..so here is the question
IS is better to have lower preshots (under 300 and renal failure) and have flat curves
or give higher insulin and have larger drops and pink preshots

OR am I amgiving too much insulin....he has always been a 3 to 3.23 unit prozinc
not sure waht to do
any input would be appreciated
Depending on tonights numbers I will either increase or decrease
 
Hey!

Don't you love this #$@#$%% dance?!

I have asked myself that question ---flatter curves vs. higher preshots and lower nadirs many times. Honestly, I think if you are dosing prozinc...the curve is to be expected. The flat curve, to me indicates you need to increase tonight. You and I both know that you could go either way and justify it....but, I think the dose is too little.

Have some Wine! TGIF!!!!
 
You are using the sliding scale, right Denise? I like the lower preshots but the cycle definitely looks flat. Wonder if Robin would consider moving up the scale by .1 so you would be giving 3.1 on those mid 200 preshots?

Hope the vomit was just a one time thing - a little present for Mom cause she stayed home with him? :mrgreen:
 
Hey Kim!
Still hating the fin dance!!
I was kinda thinking that I need to increase, but when I do his preshots go into the 300's
I thought it was better to keep under 300..
But I was also thinking that if his pmps was lower maybe it is too much insulin(yes could be wishfull thinking!)
TRUST ME!! I will be having some wine tonight
hubby is taking me out to dinner as I am leaving on Tuesday for Canada for work and
wont be back till late Thurday night so you all wont be hering from me next week
I will show the hubby how to get here just in case
thanks and talk to you later
 
Hi SUe,
Iwas thinking about that too...
yes I am still doing the sliding scale but he mainly has stayed in the mid 200's
so he is pretty much getting a steady 3 units
I am leaving early tuesday morning so I dont want to raise too much as hubby is taking
care of him and we dont need any hypo's while I am gone!!
 
Hey Denise,

Even in the beginning with the scale I knew we would have to adjust it at some point after we saw if it worked or not. I think I told you that I struggled with the scale for Shakes a little.

Since you're not leaving until Tuesday you could bump up the scale by .1u for each level and get a curve in this weekend to see how he likes it.

Then when you get back we can re-evaluate it again.

I'm out until later tonight but I will join you with that glass of wine when I get home. drinking09
 
Thanks Robyn,
I know I have to increase but I hate to see those darn pink preshots again...
oh well so I will increase tonight and thanks as always for your help
I know Shakes is not easy.
And yes we are definatley due for a wine party...beer and alcohol welcome!
so see you all later tonight!
:mrgreen: drinking24 drinking09
 
drinking09 drinking24
Two glasses of wine myself!
Aint that the truth though, we have all been so stressed,
defiantely need to unstress!!
Enjoy!!
 
Oh yeah!
I upped Shakes to about 3.125 and his +4.5 is at 152
so it looks like we will stick with that!
 
Good Luck Robin! You better get with it if you are going to catch up with us!!!!

drinking24
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top